This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Scholarly Resources microfilm collection entitled British Foreign Office: Russia Correspondence, 1883-1886.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1883-1886 Database Producer: Gale
Primary source documents that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970, The Middle East Online: Series 1, is a fully searchable database of primary source documents from the British National Archives that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy, leading to the Partition of 1948.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1914-1974
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Confidential print: Middle East covers Middle Eastern history from 1812-1958; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria.
The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties.
All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Format: Full Text Journals; Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1812-1958
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Online archive containing records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
The Dublin Castle administration in Ireland was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule, from the twelfth century until 1922, based at Dublin Castle. Dublin Castle Records, 1798-1926 contains records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922, a crucial period which saw the rise of Parnell and the Land War in 1880 through to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1921.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1798-1926 Database Producer: Gale
Covers a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People's Republic (1949), to the end of the Cultural Revolution (1976).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980:
1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
1949-1956: The Communist revolution
1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1919-1980
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Database of original source material from the British Government files on the Middle East from the National Archives of the UK.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
Iraq 1914-1974, The Middle East Online: Series 2 is a fully searchable database of original source material from the British Government files on the Middle East from the National Archives of the UK. Offers a broad range of material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1914-1974 Database Producer: Gale
Online collection of English government documents from the 16th to 18th centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
State Papers Online is a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents accessed directly or via the fully searchable Calendar entries.
This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy.
Denison has access to the following collections:
- Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic (State Papers Online, 1509-1603)
- Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council (State Papers Online 1509-1603)
- Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic (State Papers Online, 1509-1714)
- Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council (State Papers Online, 1509-1714)
- The Stuart and Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle (State Papers Online
- Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council (State Papers Online, 18th Century)
- Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany (State Papers Online, 18th Century)
- Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Part II, Western Europe (State Papers Online, 18th Century)
Format: Full Text Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1509-1714
Update Schedule: Static Database
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Full text resource, including primary source material giving insight into the history of Britain and its colonies, covering the time period 1688 to 2004. The 20th Century Collection, covering 1901-2004, is new in 2016.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
The U.K. Parliamentary Papers, also called the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, covers the historical record of Britain, its former colonies and the wider world.
This collection includes detailed primary sources and contributes to an understanding of current legislation, policy making and the political environment.
The Denison community has access to the 18th, 19th and 20th Century Collections, which cover 1660 - 2004.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1688 - 2004 Database Producer: ProQuest
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
