Full text access to e-books, pamphlets, broadsides and ephemera.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
As the first draft of popular history, American imprints have preserved detailed perspectives of the culture, issues, and events shaping the nation for hundreds of years.
Where does the content come from?
The content in this database has been created through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, the Library Company of Philadelphia, and the New-York Historical Society.
What time period does it cover?
From 1535 to 1922, from the exploration of the West Indies to the codification of Jim Crow laws.
What’s in it?
America’s Historical Imprints includes over 150,000 books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other printed material illuminating centuries of American history, literature, and culture. The core of the archive is Early American Imprints, Series I and II – derived from the collections of Charles Evans and Roger Bristol and of Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. The essential complement is Afro-Americana Imprints, which includes African History and Culture, 1540-1921, Black Authors, 1556-1922, and Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920. Also available are American Broadsides and Ephemera, American Pamphlets Series 1, 182-1922, Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera, The American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922, and The American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922.
Format: Archival Resources Database Producer: Readex Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Full text access to over 1,000 newspapers published between 1690 and 1998.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
This online archive includes:
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-12
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Format: Full Text, Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1690-1998
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Index and full text of historical American periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, English, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology
Index and full text of historical American periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society. The completed collection will cover a wide range of topics including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, politics, as well as other aspects of American society from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century.
Series 1, 1691-1820, is first of the five series created from periodical holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society.
Series 2,1821-1837, represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
The themes presented in Series 3, 1838-1852, reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, womens fashion, family life, and religion.
While the Civil War is a focal point of Series 4, 1853-1865, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americansboth leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections.
Series 5, 1866-1877, reflects a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories.
Format: Index and full text to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1691-1820 (Series 1)
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Online archive of 30,000+ searchable images of printed items that were never intended to last (broadsides and ephemera).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History
American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of 30,000+ broadsides and pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
The remarkably diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters, to official government proclamations, tax bills, and town meeting reports.
Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.
Format: Full Text and Images Dates of Coverage: 1760-1900 Database Distributor: Readex
Full text access to books, maps, artwork and other primary source material.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: American History
Full text database containing books, maps, artwork and other primary source material.
This online collection is divided into two modules:
- Module I: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
- Module II: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1493-1945
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Full text primary and secondary sources that describe interactions between American Indians and Europeans.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: American history
A wide range of primary and secondary source material is included in American Indian Histories and Cultures, which presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans.
This collection describes the earliest contact between Native Americans and Europeans, and continues covering their interactions through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, concluding with the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 16th century (1500's) to the end of the 20th century (1900's)
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, sixteenth century to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Sociology & Anthropology
This database is formerly known as Bibliography of Native North Americans.
The Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers. Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1500's to Present
Database Producer: EBSCO
Provides access to local and regional newspapers to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history.
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1746-1950
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
This online archive covers the history of the Caribbean for nearly 400 years, from 1535-1920.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Sociology/Anthropology
Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920 looks at the diverse history of the Caribbean islands through books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides, and ephemera.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1535-1920 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Distributor: Readex
Online archive of 140 newspapers from 22 islands in the Caribbean, covering the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 is an online archive that covers colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, and New World slavery.
This collection is a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society in this area.
Format: Full Text Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1718-1876
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
This database consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Colonial America consists of three distinct collections, moving from early settlement in the colonies to the political protests leading to revolution, and continues through the American Revolution.
Module I: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries Covering the period from 1606 to 1822, Colonial America consists of the original correspondence between the Board of Trade and Secretaries of State and the English, later British, colonies in North America and the Caribbean. It is a vital resource for scholars of the early-modern Atlantic world. Topics covered include the expansion of English settlements, relationships with Native Americans, trade, war, piracy, religious matters, slavery, tobacco, sugar and other commodities.
Module II: Towards Revolution Focusing on the 1760s and 1770s, this module documents the social and political protest that led to the Declaration of Independence, and is also particularly rich in material relating to military affairs and Native Americans. Made up of letters, charters and commissions, instructions to officials, military documents, newspapers, printed pamphlets, public notices, maps and many other material types, this resource sheds light on all aspects of American life in the colonial period.
Module III: The American Revolution Complete CO5 Files from The National Archives, UK Introducing Module III of V which charts the upheavals of the 1770s and 1780s, including the throwing of British rule in the Thirteen Colonies. Contents within this module includes volumes of intercepted letters between colonists, the military correspondence of the British commanders in the field and material produced by the Ordnance Office and the office of the Secretary at War, along with copies of the Dunlap edition of the Declaration of Independence printed on the night of the 4th-5th July 1776.
Module IV: Legislation and Politics in the Colonies Traces the Colonies' political and legal evolution from 1636-1782. Includes details about Britain's war with Spain and expeditions in Canada against the French. Includes court journals, correspondences and revisions of acts.
Module V: Growth, Trade and Development (2019) The preponderant part of this module consists of correspondence with the Board of Trade. There are also details of land grants, financial accounts and documents focusing on American Indian relations, as well as George Vancouver’s despatches to London from his 1791 expedition to the Pacific Northwest. The module contains a number of shipping returns, accompanied by a video interview with Hannah Knox Tucker (PhD candidate, University of Virginia), who discusses these documents and their value for researchers in detail.
Format: Full Text Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Contains approximately 1400 authors and letters, diaries, and memoirs.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Sociology & Anthropology
Early Encounters in North America (EENA) contains approximately 1400 authors and 100,000 pages of material. It includes letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1600-Present
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Digital facsimile images of virtually every work printed in Great Britian and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, History
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700, from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Format: Archival Resources, Full Text Books Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700. Database Producer: ProQuest
Digital images of every page of 180,000 titles published during the 18th Century, including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, History
Eighteenth Century Collection Online consists of digital images of every page of 180,000 titles published during the 18th Century, including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. With full-text searching of over 30 million pages, the product allows researchers access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Format: Full Text Books Dates of Coverage: 1701-1800. Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
More than 32,000 entries to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
European views of the Americas, 1493-1750 is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Women's history materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages, 1543-1945.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, History
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
The Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
The broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.
The Gerritsen Collection consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.
Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1543-1945
Database Producer: ProQuest
Online archive of Native Peoples from Canada and America, spanning the 17th - 20th centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Sociology/Anthropology
This resource sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century.
These collections include diverse manuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, as well as materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1600's - 1900's
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories, 17th Century - present. Keywords: Native Americans
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Sociology & Anthropology, People
North American Indian thought and culture contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Biographies include works on Quanah Parker, Dennis Banks, Susan La Flesche Picotte, Cochise, Jim Thorpe, Crowfoot, Peter Pitchlynn, Sacajawea, Geronimo, Hosteen Klah, Black Elk, Pocahontas, George Washington Grayson, Standing Buffalo, and many more.
Format: Archival Resources
Update Schedule: Updated semiannually
Dates of Coverage: 17th Century - Present
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, U.S. History, Women's Studies, People
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.
The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Format: Archival Resources
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, History
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Format: Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: 1500-1926 Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Comprehensive collection of early English newspapers titles from London, British Isles, and colonies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers, including 1 million full text images from newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations. Titles are included from London, British Isles, and colonies.
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals Dates of Coverage: 1604-1804 Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, United Kingdom.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, English
This collection features London newspapers and pamphlets covering the period 1672-1737, gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. All 296 volumes of bound material, from the Nichols Newspaper Collection at the Bodleian Library in Oxford, have been digitized.
Full text online archive that explores the Virginia Company, documenting the founding and economic development of Virginia.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: History, Economics
The Virginia Company Archives covers the founding and economic development of Virginia. This database documents developments in Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London (1606-1624), the interests of the Ferrar family, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of Virginia, and both tensions and relations among colonists and Native Americans.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1600-1775
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, History
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period." In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Includes 263,207 images from the collections of Cornell University, University of Pennsylvania, and others.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1500-1930 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history, 1600-2000.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, U.S. History
This database is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the site seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
Women and Social Movements contains the following resources:
* Over 70 document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these document projects provide more than 2400 documents, more than 900 images, and over 800 links to other websites. They demonstrate that historical analysis is an interpretive process based on documents. Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We expect to add twelve new document projects annually. Women and Social Movements is also now accepting submissions of document projects for consideration for online publication. See below for more information.
* More than 30,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. Plans are to add 5,000 additional pages of documents annually.
* A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
* A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
* Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1600-2000
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
