Online archive from the FBI Library, chronicling anti-communist fervor and the first "great" spy case of postwar America.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Amerasia Affair, China, and Postwar Anti-Communist Fervor sheds light not only on debate as to who "lost" China, Soviet espionage, McCarthyism, and the loyalty program, but also on the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington.
The "Amerasia Affair" was the first of the great spy cases of the postwar era; it prompted several congressional investigations, stirred-up partisan controversy and threatened to destroy the political reputations of several important government officials.
It was the first public drama featuring charges that respectable American citizens had spied for the Communists.
This collection is composed of archival material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Library.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1945-1973
Database Producer: Gale
Extremely rare pamphlets covering 1750-1929 in China, as well as a host of secondary resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library's Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.
The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied.
In addition, this archive features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors' choices from the collection.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1750-1929
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Full text articles covering Chinese literature, history, and philosophy.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: East Asian Studies, International Studies
China Academic Journals, Series F (also known as CAJ and CNKI) is an online collection of full text articles covering literature, history and philosophy.
These articles are pulled from hundreds of Chinese academic journals from 1994 to the present. Many journals in Chinese also include English abstracts.
This database also includes the China Century Journals Project (CCJP), which is an online collection of full text articles from 1915 to 1993.
Please note, Denison does not have subscriptions to all collections in this database. To see available issues, please check this spreadsheet.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: CAJ (1994 - present) and CCJP (1915-1993)
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Producer: CNKI (China Knowledge Resource Integrated) and East View Information Services
This historical newspaper provides online coverage from 1832 to 1953.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1832 to 1953
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: ProQuest
Covers a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People's Republic (1949), to the end of the Cultural Revolution (1976).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980:
1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
1949-1956: The Communist revolution
1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1919-1980
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Contains material associated with the economic, social and political history of commodities.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, economics
Global commodities contains material associated with the economic, social and political history of commodities. The resource provides access to a wide range of rare printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and objects associated with the history of 15 commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, wine and spirits. The material also covers other commodities including beef, cheese, coal, corn, fish, fruits, machinery, rice, silk and wool.
The commodities included in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years, helping transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
Format: Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1500-present
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States. Keywords: christianity, religion
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Religion, History
This collection documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches.
This collection includes materials on missionary activities among Native Americans and African Americans, both slaves and freedmen. In addition, it highlights activities in far-flung regions and countries, such as Africa, Fiji and Sandwich Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, Japan, and Hawaii. Contains 23,869 images from the Lost Cause Press.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1800-1899 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
A compilation of rare English journals published inside and outside China before 1911.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies, China
This collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China's political, economic, and cultural landscape.
This collection comprises three sub-collections: 1. A Compilation of Rare English Journals Published inside and outside China before 1911 2. The China Review: or Notes and Queries on the Far East (1872-1901) 3. Indo-Chinese Gleaner (1817-1822)
Format: Full Text Date range of documents: 119-20 century Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale
Provides researchers with the opportunity to explore a unique period in Chinas struggle toward a modern existence through the International Settlement in Shanghai.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
This collection provides researchers with the opportunity to explore a unique period in Chinas struggle toward a modern existence through the International Settlement in Shanghai. These files represent a large portion of the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in Shanghais former International Settlement.
The time period covered by these files extends from 1894 to 1945, and the most extensive coverage is provided by the Special Branch dossier files, which date from 1929-1945. Many files are organized around a particular topic and contain different kinds of source material.
This collection contains 92,160 images from the library of the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1894-1945 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
This digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, Chinas human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990.
It includes 19,137 images from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1989-1993 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
