This database covers economic, military, political and social aspects of the Civil War, and includes coverage throughout the war and into the postwar period.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
American Civil War, 1860-1922 is sourced from the comprehensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
This online collection features over 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922, addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1860-1922 Database Producer: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Imprints"
The Atlanta Constitution gives a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history -- post-Civil War reconstruction.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies, Mass Media, Communication
The Atlanta Constitution gives todays researchers a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction.
This is an ideal primary resource for studying the feelings and reactions of Southerners on the passage of the 14th Amendment, the purging of Rebels from the legislature, the givingthen denyingof the right to vote to former slaves, and the passing of economic policies that changed the South and the United States forever.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1868-1984
Database Producer: ProQuest
Cultural, regional, ethical, and economic viewpoints from the American Civil War period (1840-1865).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
ProQuest's Civil War Era illuminates the cultural, regional, ethical, and economic viewpoints from the American Civil War period (1840-1865).
Available together digitally for the first time, eight regionally balanced cover-to-cover newspapers and nearly 2,000 pamphlets offer comprehensive coverage of a vast range of Civil War Era research topics.
Online archive containing first-person accounts, which was compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, and chronicles the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U. S. History
These first-person accounts, compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.
The reasons why individuals volunteered, leaving home and entering camp, initially going to the front, the clash of arms, the drudgery of camp life, the boredom of garrison duty, and the anguish of imprisonment are expounded in these accounts.
Soldiers attitudes are expressed with a fullness and attitudes toward army life, toward officers and fellow soldiers, toward the enemy, and toward the political questions of the war are recorded.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1861-1865 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Collection of issues and papers ranging from 1861-1865, attempting to record the "real and true history of public opinion during the war."
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865.
These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1861-1865 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, English
HarpWeek is the electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. HarpWeek includes all the pages of Harper's Weekly as scanned images, together with a series of indexes. Harper's Weekly was a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly. It also includes biographical information about period leaders.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1857-1871. Database Producer: HarpWeek, LLC.
Full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines contains full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865. Many of the publications are rare and hard to find, and include source materials from museum, library, and private collections, including the American Antiquarian Society. The database can be searched by date or topic, or one can browse each individual publication. The database also contains a sample selection of Union and Confederate letters from the larger database, American Civil War: Letters & Diaries. Document types include advertisement, article series, biographical sketch/obituary, cartoon, editorial, fiction, government announcement, humor / satirical commentary, illustration, map, news story/item, panoramic view, poetry, portrait, publisher's notice, and travel narrative
Format: Full Text Journal Articles, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1860-1865
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera present the dramatic imagery of nineteenth-century Americana from the social, military, and political perspectives.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera presents the dramatic imagery of nineteenth-century Americana as experienced from the social, military, and political perspectives.
At completion, the collection will present 75,000 images drawn from archives around the country, documenting the camp and battle experiences of Union and Confederate soldiers of all ranks, time spent in hospitals and in prisons, civilian life in cities and towns close to and far from the front lines of war, and the demeanor of the politicians whose decisions could bring the nation together or tear it apart.
Many of the images in the collection were captured by famous and lesser-known innovators working with the burgeoning medium of nineteenth-century photography.
Additionally, graphical content such as envelopes, song sheets, recruiting posters, imprints, and cartoons give users the ability to research how wartime America illustrated their times visually.
Format: Digital Media, Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1861-1865 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
