This collection consists of thousands of pages arranged topically and chronologically on crucial Afghan subjects.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This collection consists of thousands of pages arranged topically and chronologically on crucial Afghan subjects.
In much of the twentieth century, Afghanistan remained neutral. It was not a participant in World War II, nor aligned with either power bloc in the Cold War. However, it was a beneficiary of the latter rivalry as both the Soviet Union and the U.S. vied for influence by building such infrastructure works as roads, airports, water and sewer systems, and hospitals.
The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century.
Includes 9,674 images from the Library of the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1945-1963
Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Online archive from the FBI Library, chronicling anti-communist fervor and the first "great" spy case of postwar America.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Amerasia Affair, China, and Postwar Anti-Communist Fervor sheds light not only on debate as to who "lost" China, Soviet espionage, McCarthyism, and the loyalty program, but also on the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington.
The "Amerasia Affair" was the first of the great spy cases of the postwar era; it prompted several congressional investigations, stirred-up partisan controversy and threatened to destroy the political reputations of several important government officials.
It was the first public drama featuring charges that respectable American citizens had spied for the Communists.
This collection is composed of archival material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Library.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1945-1973
Database Producer: Gale
Online archive which includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of the American Indian Movement as an organization of social protest.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of the American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest. In addition, there is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off.
Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide unparalleled insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
Includes 14,195 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Library.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1968-1979
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Rich, primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
American State Papers constitute rich primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. A retrospective republication of approximately 6280 numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials, the American State Paper volumes, issued from 1832-1861, were published in ten classes in a total of 38 folio volumes.
The classes into which the publications were assembled and printed and the number of volumes they occupy are: I: Foreign Relations in six volumes; II: Indian Affairs in two volumes; III: Finance in five volumes; IV: Commerce and Navigation in two volumes; V: Military Affairs in seven volumes; VI: Naval Affairs in four volumes; VII: Post Office Department in one volume; VIII: Public Lands in eight volumes; IX: Claims in one volume; and X: Miscellaneous in two volumes.
Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838.
Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1789-1838
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Includes organizational records, personal papers and Federal government records.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
This resource offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category includes NAACP Papers, federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the 20th Century Black Freedom Struggle. NAACP Papers consists of 6 modules. Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century consists of four modules.
Subject Coverage: American History, African American History, Black Freedom Struggle, Civil Rights Movement, Political History, NAACP
Online archive with 8,452 images from The FBI Library about The Black Liberation Army (BLA), an underground, black nationalist-Marxist militant organization that operated from 1970 to 1981.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, U.S. History
The database contains 8,452 images from The FBI Library about The Black Liberation Army (BLA).
The Black Liberation Army (BLA) was an underground, black nationalist-Marxist militant organization that operated from 1970 to 1981. Composed largely of former members of the Black Panther Party (BPP), the organizations program was one of "armed struggle" and its stated goal was to "take up arms for the liberation and self-determination of black people in the United States." The BLA carried out a series of bombings, robberies (what participants termed "expropriations"), and prison breaks.
Format: Full Text
Dates of coverage: 1970-1983
Database producer: Gale
Full text archive with information on virtually all aspects of life in China immediately before, during, and after the revolution.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
The U.S. State Departments Office of Chinese Affairs, charged with operational control of American policy toward China, amassed information on virtually all aspects of life there immediately before, during, and after the revolution.
Declassified by the State Department, the Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Chinese-American relations during the post-war period.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1945-1955
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale
This collection documents the creation of the Third Republic, a compromise between the pre-WWII Czechoslovak Republic and the Czech Communist Party.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files documents the creation of the Third Republic, which was established after World War II, and differed markedly from the First Republic of 1918.
The Third Republic was created as a result of a compromise between pre-war Czechoslovak Republic leaders and the Czech Communist Party (KSC). This collection contains 52,359 images from the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text, Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: 1945-1963 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Contains unique primary source materials on the political, economic and social development of Turkey.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science
This collection of State Department documents provides access to unique primary source materials on the political, economic and social development of Turkey during a period of democratization in the 1950s. Contains 54,489 images from the Library of the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1950-1959 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
The most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Latin American Studies, Middle East Studies, Asia Studies, Diplomacy, Intelligence
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. This resource now includes over 50 collections.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1945 to present Update Schedule: Annual Database Producer: ProQuest
Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of East Germany.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science
Originally microfilmed as Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of East Germany, this digital collection provides an in-depth look into the creation of the East German state, living conditions, and its people.
Documents included in this collection are predominantly instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic, and consular personnel regarding political, military, economic, social, industrial, and other internal conditions and events in East Germany. Contains 34,479 reproductions of the originals from the National Archives.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1950-1963 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Illuminates the enduring conflict in American history between the need of society to protect basic freedoms and the need to protect itself from threats to its security and existence.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This collection illuminates the enduring conflict in American history between the need of society to protect basic freedoms and the equally legitimate need to protect itself from genuine threats to its security and existence.
Organized alphabetically by organization, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, cultural, and economic issues. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society. This collection supports a wide variety of courses in U.S. history, cultural studies, radical politics, and social movements.
Includes 87,391 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1956-1971 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Contains US Justice Department and FBI reports on members of various protest groups who were deemed politically suspect.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Prominent among the targets of this sometimes coordinated, sometimes independent surveillance were aliens, members of various protest groups, Socialists, Communists, pacifists, militant labor unionists, ethnic or racial nationalists, and outspoken opponents of the policies of the incumbent presidents.
Black Americans of all political persuasions were subject to federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution. The FBI enlisted black "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of organizations. Hundreds of documents in this collection were originated by such operatives. The reports in this collection provide a wealth of detail on "Negro" radicals and their organizations that can be found nowhere else.
Includes 88,021 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1920-1984 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of broadcasts and publications, 1941-1996.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies
FBIS Daily Reports offers fully searchable reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications.
This database includes to following three collections:
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1941-1974
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1974-1996
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Annexes: 1974-1996
Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1941 to 1996
Database Producer: Readex
Reports issued by the U.S. government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world, 1975-1996.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, Current Events
An index to the FBIS daily reports issued by the U.S. government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1975-1996
Database Producer: NewsBank.
Provides unique perspectives for the study of Latin American and Caribbean international relations.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
The collection affords a country-by-country analyses utilizing the State Departments decimal system to organize the voluminous correspondence and reporting on a variety of diverse topics, events, and people. In addition, it provides detail on the evolution of Latin American foreign policies, significance of inter-American cooperation in time of war, and the rise of totalitarian regimes.
Includes 105,704 images from the library of the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1930-1944 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
U.S. government documents from 1976 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Connect to GPO Monthly Catalog via Proxy
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Law
The GPO Monthly Catalog is a catalog of U.S. government documents from 1976 to the present.
This database describes Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. It contains records on all subjects of interest to the U.S. government.
Format: Index to Government Publications Dates of Coverage: 1976 - Present Update Schedule: Monthly Database Producer: U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO)
Provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Economics, Law, Political Science
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History.
The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
Format: Reference Works Dates of Coverage: Varies by data set Update Schedule: Regularly Database Producer: Cambridge University Press
Text of House and Senate floor discussions, votes and other actions taken, as well as excerpts from executive department communications and member responses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Law, Political Science
House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817 chronicles matters considered on the floor, votes and other actions taken, as well as excerpts from executive department communications and member responses.
This collection documents important issues, events, organizations and people, including the Constitutional Convention, the Bill of Rights and Constitutional Amendments, Alexander Hamilton, and the Fugitive Slave Act.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resource
Dates of Coverage: 1789-1817
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Reproductions of the original material regarding AIDS from the History of Medicine Division, National Library of Medicine.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Medicine, Queer Studies
In response to the AIDS crisis contains reproductions of the originals from the History of Medicine Division, National Library of Medicine. Includes briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings document the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome from 1983-1994.
ser. 1. Presidential Commission on the Human Immunodeficiency Virus Epidemic, 1987-1988 -- ser. 2. NCAIDS briefing, hearing and meeting transcripts, 1989-1993 -- ser. 3. Commissioner's correspondence -- ser. 4. Commission reports, 1991-1993 -- ser. 5. Press coverage, 1989-1991 -- ser. 6. External institution and government agency reports, 1983-1992.
Date Range: 1983-1994 Content: 37,091 images Source Library: National Library of Medicine, Gale, a part of Cengage Learning.
Images from the U.S. National Archives related to the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
Contains 30,100 images from the U.S. National Archives related to the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR). The IGCR was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1938-1947 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
FBI documentation on African American James Merediths battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Black Studies
This collection contains extensive FBI documentation on African American James Merediths battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
Includes 8,792 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1961-1962 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
During the 1920s and early 1930s, Japan progressed toward a democratic system of government. However, parliamentary government was not rooted deeply enough to withstand the economic and political pressures of the 1930s, during which expansionism and militarization became increasingly influential in government and society.
This collection contains 114,304 images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1930-1949
Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Provides insights into President Kennedys views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This collection provides insights into President Kennedys views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. There are more than just documents on the Bay of Pigs, Berlin, and Cuba.
There are documents that highlight American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and relations with Latin America, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, foreign aid and military assistance, and the international space race.
Includes 64,126 images from the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1958-1964 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Contains FBI files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies, Black Studies
Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.
Includes 11,513 images reproduced from the originals from the Federal Bureau of Investigation HQ Library.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1970-1985 Database Producer: Gale Publishing
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition currently consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Described as "a rich and engaging resource featuring annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes," this database of audiotapes includes specific coverage of the LBJ Administration, including tapes of discussions on the War on Poverty, 1964 (edited by Guian McKee); Civil Rights, 1964 (edited by Kent Germany); and Vietnam, 1964-65 (edited by Marc Selverstone and David Coleman).
The entire resource is fully searchable, accessible via a timeline view, and each transcript page includes the original audio. Parts of this resource are open access and available to all, while certain collections, particularly the LBJ Tapes are available to the Denison community through our subscription.
Format: Full text Dates of Coverage: 1962-1973 Update Schedule: Regularly Database Producer: University of Virginia Press.
Access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress, 1824 to present.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events
Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.
ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present
Materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the U. S. to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
This collection contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990.
It includes 49,569 images from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1990-1991 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
U.S. Senate proceedings and deliberations on Indian treaties, Spanish-American relations, the Monroe Doctrine, the Louisiana Purchase, Lewis and Clark's expedition, the Civil War and the Emancipation Proclamation and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Political Science
Senate Executive Journals, Series I, 1789- 1866 records executive proceedings in which early American senators deliberated on Indian treaties, Spanish-American relations, the Monroe Doctrine, the Louisiana Purchase, Lewis and Clark's expedition, the Civil War and the Emancipation Proclamation and more.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resource
Dates of Coverage: 1789-1866
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
This digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, Chinas human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990.
It includes 19,137 images from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1989-1993 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Documents related to the Iraqi Revolution of 1958. Keywords: foreign relations, MIddle East
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
The program of technical cooperation in Iraq, prior to the Revolution of 1958, was frequently cited as an example of the ideal Point Four program. The overthrow of the established government led naturally to questions concerning the "failure" of American technical assistance in that country. This collection contains 52,834 images from the library of the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1950-1958 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Full text of reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Keywords: law
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Law, Political Science
U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1980 and 1981-1994 contains full text of reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1817-1994
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices. Keywords: foreign relations
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Political Science
This collection contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices. These files consist of letters of correspondence, memoranda, coversheets, notes, distribution lists, newspaper articles, informational papers, published articles, and reports from the public, the Congress, Bush administration officials, and other various federal agencies primarily regarding American Middle East peace policy and the United States role in the many facets of the Middle East peace process.
Materials on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. Keywords: World War II, WWII
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Religion
This collection consists of telegrams, dispatches, reports, and letters between the State Department, other U.S. government agencies, the Vatican, and the Italian government. There are materials on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. In addition, there are materials on Axis diplomats, war criminals, protocols and religious statements, and records of the peace efforts of the Vatican.
Includes 35,023 images from the library of the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1940-1950 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents and others. keywords: newspapers, primary sources
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U. S. History, Political Science
This collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals.
In addition, attachments include vouchers, receipts, requisitions, abstracts and financial statements, certificates of deposit, depositions, contracts, newspapers, copies of speeches to Indians, proceedings of conferences with Indians in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in the Indian country, appointments, and instructions to commissioners, superintendents, agents, and other officials.
Full text documents from the FBI concerning the Freedom Riders' activities in the southern US during the early 1960's.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, U.S. History
Freedom Riders were civil rights activists that rode interstate buses into the segregated South to test the United States Supreme Court decision in Boynton v. Virginia. This decision had outlawed racial segregation in the restaurants and waiting rooms in terminals serving buses that crossed state lines. Riders were arrested for trespassing, unlawful assembly, and violating state and local Jim Crow laws, along with other alleged offenses.
The database contains 4,285 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library from 1961.
Format: Full Text and Images Dates of Coverage: 1961 Database Provider: Gale
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
- Messages & Papers of the Presidents: 1789-1913
- The Public Papers of the Presidents: 1929-2007 & 2010
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: 1977-2009
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: 2009-2012
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
