Complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Economics
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
For newer issues, see Economist Current Access
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1843 to 2020
Database Producer: Gale Publishing
Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theater
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Cinema, Sociology
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
You have access to:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1880 - 2015
Database Producer: ProQuest
A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. This resource chronicles over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering unique insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1867-present (US), 1930-2015 (UK) Database Producer: Proquest
Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, English
HarpWeek is the electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. HarpWeek includes all the pages of Harper's Weekly as scanned images, together with a series of indexes. Harper's Weekly was a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly. It also includes biographical information about period leaders.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1857-1871. Database Producer: HarpWeek, LLC.
Full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines contains full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865. Many of the publications are rare and hard to find, and include source materials from museum, library, and private collections, including the American Antiquarian Society. The database can be searched by date or topic, or one can browse each individual publication. The database also contains a sample selection of Union and Confederate letters from the larger database, American Civil War: Letters & Diaries. Document types include advertisement, article series, biographical sketch/obituary, cartoon, editorial, fiction, government announcement, humor / satirical commentary, illustration, map, news story/item, panoramic view, poetry, portrait, publisher's notice, and travel narrative
Format: Full Text Journal Articles, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1860-1865
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication in 1842 to its last in 2003.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1842-2003 Database Producer: Gale
Magazine focusing on the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America through its three most significant decades. Keywords: popular culture
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Popular culture, Film and Theatre
Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody was founded in 1924 by Joseph Patterson, publisher of the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, publisher of the Chicago Tribune. From its inception, they set out to make the magazine more topical, daring and exciting than any competitors. Information was presented in a style heavily influenced by the emerging motion picture industry and focused on the most sensational and popular issues. The magazine charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America through its three most significant decades.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1924-1950 Database Producer: Gale Cengage Publishing
Full text, archival access to the complete 62-year run of "The Listener," a BBC periodical published from 1929-1991.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programs in print.
It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.
Major contributors included E. M. Forster, George Orwell and Bertrand Russell. The Listener also provided an important platform for new writers and poets; W. H. Auden, Sylvia Plath and Philip Larkin being notable examples.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1929-1991 Database Producer: Gale/Cengage
Complete, digitized archive of the magazine from 1888-2020.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Keywords: images, photography
Featuring the complete archive of the magazine from 1888-2015, this Archive includes every page and every photograph, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1888-2015
Database Producer: Gale
An archival collection comprising the back files of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science
An archival collection comprising the back files of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1918 - 2015 Database Producer: Proquest
Complete archive of the Picture Post, a fascinating snapshot of British life, from 1938 to 1957.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour. Picture Posts innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population.
In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness. Picture Post provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1938 to 1957 Database Producer: Gale
Science is the premiere scientific journal in the United States, publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.
Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1997 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: American Association for the Advancement of Science
Comprehensive, searchable science and technology resource containing the full text and graphics of every Scientific American issue from 1845 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Scientific American is the oldest continuously published magazine in America. This database combines current issues of the magazine with a large backfile of this authoritative source of scientific and technical information. Scientific American Archive is a comprehensive, searchable science and technology resource containing the full text and graphics of every Scientific American issue from 1845 to the present.
Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1845-
Database Producer: Nature Publishing Group.
The complete, online archive of Smithsonian magazine as well as Smithsonian's Air & Space magazine, spanning 1970 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology
Smithsonian magazine and Smithsonian's Air & Space magazine are presented here in an online archive, covering content from America's premier research and cultural institution, the Smithsonian.
By bringing together the full history of both of these magazines, decades of in-depth and expert coverage of high-demand topics and unique insights into aviation, space, innovation, history, science, technology, the arts, and culture are accessible in an integrated database display.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1970 - Present Update Schedule: Monthly Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
This collection includes the complete run of The Times Literary Supplement.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Literary criticism, writing
Founded in 1902 as a supplement to The Times (London), for more than 100 years the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. From Anglo-centric beginnings in 1902, by the mid-20th century the TLS had developed into a truly international publication, with contributors from every region of the world.
Until 1974, writings and influential criticism of hundreds of the twentieth century's most important writers and thinkers were kept anonymous to foster open discussion. The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive now discloses the identity of these contributors.
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1902-2019
Database Producer: Gale Publishing
Complete full-text, online archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Women's Studies
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.
Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1892-present Database Producer: Proquest
Online archive of the leading women's interest magazines, from the late 19th century through 2005.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Women's Studies, Gender Studies, Social History, Art, Education, Politics, and Marketing/Media History.
The Women's Magazine Archive contains full archives of major women's interest, consumer magazines. This resource contains issues from the late 19th century through 2005.
Research fields served by this online archive include gender studies, social history, economics, marketing, media, fashion, politics, and pop culture.
Women's Magazine Archive, Part I includes complete archives of Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, and Parents magazine. These titles serve as records of the evolving assumptions surrounding gender roles and cultural norms. Parents magazine is relevant for research in education, psychology, health, and serves as a reflection of broad social and historical trends.
Women's Magazine Archive, Part II features several prominent, popular, and long-running publications such as Women's Day and Town & Country magazine. Part II also focuses on specific audiences with the inclusion of Cosmopolitan and Seventeen magazine, as well as Essence and Women's International Network News.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1883 - 2005 Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: ProQuest
A comprehensive archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to recent issues (6-month embargo on new issues). Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Retail business, Fashion history, Popular culture, Gender studies, Marketing and advertising
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals Dates of Coverage: 1910- 6 months embargo on the current issues Database Producer: Proquest
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
