Full text of over 400 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twenty-first century. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, English
British Periodicals Collection I provides access to the searchable full text of more than 160 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century (the same periodicals as are covered in the UMI microfilm collection "Early British Periodicals").
This resource includes millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
British Periodicals Collection III extends the scope of the program by focusing on leading publications from the first half of the twentieth century. The titles are from the prestigious stable of illustrated periodicals known as the Great Eight in British periodical publishing history. They are considered to be among the foremost popular periodicals of the period and were highly influential in their mix of news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire, while launching the careers of many leading artists/illustrators of the age.
British Periodicals Collection IV extends the content in Collection III into the 20th century by covering several leading magazines of this period. This collection has particular strengths in the areas of politics, socialism, the Labour Movement, international affairs, the arts, sporting history, humour, illustration, travel and empire topics, and family and teen publications. Included in this collection are the following magazines: The Field (1853-2005), the Tribune (1937-2005), The Highway (1903-1959), War Weekly (1939-1941), Answers to Correspondents (1888-1955), the Humorist (1922-1940), Wide World Magazine (1898-1965), The Marvel (1893-1922), and Top Spot (1958-1960).
The four collections within British Periodicals may be searched alongside content within Periodicals Archive Online and American Periodicals, creating a large cross-searchable database of content from this era.
Format: Full Text Journals Dates of Coverage: 1680s-2000s (Collections I, II, III, & IV) Update Schedule: Completed Database Database Producer: ProQuest
This online archive represents the collections of Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs, which is the leading independent international affairs policy institute.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
Chatham House Online Archive provides a searchable, browseable research environment that enables users to explore approximately half a million pages and over 90 years of research, analysis and commentary.
Subject-indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs will allow users to quickly retrieve and analyze material relevant to their own research or study.
Users will also have access to the full-text of Chatham House's publications and audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1920-2008 Update Schedule: Complete Archive Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Online archive of the Winston S. Churchill Papers from the Churchill Archives Centre, Cambridge College.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
The definitive resource for those wishing to study the Winston S. Churchill Papers, digitized and presented to the world online exclusively in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, Cambridge College, England.
Containing nearly 800,000 documents produced between the years of 1874 and 1965, the platform allows students and researchers to track the important events and figures of the Churchill era with a detailed taxonomy and pedagogical materials.
Format: Full Text, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1874-1965
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Distributor: Bloomsbury
One of the most important collections of printed ephemera in the world and generally regarded as the most significant single collection of ephemera in the UK, 18th-early 20th century. Keywords: Britain, advertising, primary sources
Off Campus Access: Access from off-campus not available yet.
Subject Areas: History
The John Johnson Collection is widely recognized as one of the most important collections of printed ephemera in the world and generally regarded as the most significant single collection of ephemera in the UK.
It offers unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resources, and Digital Media
Dates of Coverage: 1700's to early 1900's
Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.
Full text, archival access to the complete 62-year run of "The Listener," a BBC periodical published from 1929-1991.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programs in print.
It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.
Major contributors included E. M. Forster, George Orwell and Bertrand Russell. The Listener also provided an important platform for new writers and poets; W. H. Auden, Sylvia Plath and Philip Larkin being notable examples.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1929-1991 Database Producer: Gale/Cengage
Online archive highlighting the "underworld" of Victorian London.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Sociology/Anthropology
This collection brings to life the teeming streets of Victorian London. From salacious "swell's guides" to broadsides and subversive posters, this resource offers insight into the underworld of the city. Children's chapbooks, street cries, slang dictionaries, and ballads are part of this street literature.
Format: Full Text, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 18th, 19th, & early 20th century
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Online archive giving a European perspective to Richard Nixon's entire presidential term.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History; Political Science
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974 covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term and allows the assessment of his term from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective.
Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation are covered.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1969-1974
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Complete archive of the Picture Post, a fascinating snapshot of British life, from 1938 to 1957.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour. Picture Posts innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population.
In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness. Picture Post provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1938 to 1957 Database Producer: Gale
Resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Focus is on English texts published during the "long" nineteenth century, from the beginnings of Mesmerism in 1779 through to the 1930s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, English, Theatre
Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures. Wonder of those early audiences, experiencing the magic of Victorian inventions and optical entertainments.
Module I
Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
This module explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of séances and psychic phenomena in Britain and America. The late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries saw an explosion of interest in the occult, and the foundation of a new religious movement, Spiritualism. We cover all aspects of these subjects, from spiritualist pamphlets to the show-business empires of leading magicians such as John Henry Anderson. The role of magic within variety performances is also well represented. The resource is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond.
Module 2
Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
This module focuses on the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, America and Europe in the 19th and early 20th century. From big tops to carnivals, fairgrounds and dime museums, it covers the history of popular shows and exhibitions from both audience and professional perspectives.
Module 3
Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
The Victorian and Edwardian periods were a golden age for variety, vaudeville and theatre. The era also played host to a vast range of other public entertainments and spectacles, from the educational to the decadent. The primary sources in this module not only celebrate well-known and popular forms of entertainment but also highlights lesser-known activities and leisure interests. Advertising posters, guidebooks, admission tickets and handbills represent the diverse forms of entertainment available to growing numbers of people from the late Georgian period and throughout the Victorian and Edwardian era. The documents cover a wide range of academic interests related to Victorian popular culture, and cater to all levels of researcher. Highlights from the collection include a set of early pantomime programmes; unique material from the May Moore Duprez archive; and visual material related to Belle Vue, Manchester’s popular Zoological Gardens.
Module 4
Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
This module of Victorian Popular Culture explores the pivotal era in entertainment history when previously static images came to life and moved for the first time. Through the wealth of printed and visual material as well as artefacts (see our Optical Entertainments exhibition and 360-degree object gallery) in this module, we are able to imagine the wide-eyed wonder of those early audiences, experiencing the magic of Victorian inventions and optical entertainments. Through the material selected for this resource, researchers are able to trace the history of cinema and the exciting journey it has taken from early visual entertainment such as shadows shows and optical illusions, travelling entertainments in the form of peepshows and panoramas, the first projected images created by the camera obscura and magic lantern right through to the burgeoning film industry and the film star celebrities it created.
Format: Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1779-1930
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, History
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period." In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Includes 263,207 images from the collections of Cornell University, University of Pennsylvania, and others.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1500-1930 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
British / United Kingdom Government Documents Related Primary Resource Databases
This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Scholarly Resources microfilm collection entitled British Foreign Office: Russia Correspondence, 1883-1886.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1883-1886 Database Producer: Gale
Primary source documents that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970, The Middle East Online: Series 1, is a fully searchable database of primary source documents from the British National Archives that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy, leading to the Partition of 1948.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1914-1974
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Confidential print: Middle East covers Middle Eastern history from 1812-1958; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria.
The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties.
All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Format: Full Text Journals; Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1812-1958
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Online archive containing records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
The Dublin Castle administration in Ireland was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule, from the twelfth century until 1922, based at Dublin Castle. Dublin Castle Records, 1798-1926 contains records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922, a crucial period which saw the rise of Parnell and the Land War in 1880 through to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1921.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1798-1926 Database Producer: Gale
Covers a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People's Republic (1949), to the end of the Cultural Revolution (1976).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980:
1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
1949-1956: The Communist revolution
1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1919-1980
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Database of original source material from the British Government files on the Middle East from the National Archives of the UK.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
Iraq 1914-1974, The Middle East Online: Series 2 is a fully searchable database of original source material from the British Government files on the Middle East from the National Archives of the UK. Offers a broad range of material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1914-1974 Database Producer: Gale
Online collection of English government documents from the 16th to 18th centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
State Papers Online is a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents accessed directly or via the fully searchable Calendar entries.
This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy.
Denison has access to the following collections:
- Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic (State Papers Online, 1509-1603)
- Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council (State Papers Online 1509-1603)
- Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic (State Papers Online, 1509-1714)
- Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council (State Papers Online, 1509-1714)
- The Stuart and Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle (State Papers Online
- Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council (State Papers Online, 18th Century)
- Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany (State Papers Online, 18th Century)
- Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Part II, Western Europe (State Papers Online, 18th Century)
Format: Full Text Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1509-1714
Update Schedule: Static Database
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Full text resource, including primary source material giving insight into the history of Britain and its colonies, covering the time period 1688 to 2004. The 20th Century Collection, covering 1901-2004, is new in 2016.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
The U.K. Parliamentary Papers, also called the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, covers the historical record of Britain, its former colonies and the wider world.
This collection includes detailed primary sources and contributes to an understanding of current legislation, policy making and the political environment.
The Denison community has access to the 18th, 19th and 20th Century Collections, which cover 1660 - 2004.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1688 - 2004 Database Producer: ProQuest
British / United Kingdom Historical Newspaper Databases
Provides access to local and regional newspapers to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history.
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1746-1950
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Historical Archive of the Daily Mail newspaper, London, covering 1896 to 2016. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
The Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 presents a digital collection of every issue of the Daily Mail from cover to cover, including news; editorials; letters to the editor; movie and theatre reviews; birth, death and marriage notices; historical photographs; comic strips; classified advertising; and Special Issues. Also included is the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the cruise ships that sailed between New York and Southampton between 1923 and 1931.
All articles included in the Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 are displayed as digital page images and all allow full-text searching and hit term highlighting. These digitized pages, also known as facsimile images, let you view the pages as they originally appeared in print.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1896 to 2016
Database Producer: Gale
Portal to newspapers and periodicals circa 1685-1835. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, English
Eighteenth Century Journals is a portal to newspapers and periodicals, c1685-1835, offering integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III), Chetham's Library at Manchester and the Brotherton Library at the University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV), and the Birmingham Central Library, British Library and Liverpool John Moores University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals V). It brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe, the origins and rise of Romanticism, political debates, gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Denison owns: Section I-V.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1685-1835
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Online newspaper archive covering news, politics, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day from 1791-2003. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Mass Media, Communication
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003), give full text, online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
From Napoleons defeat at Waterloo - to the Russian Revolution - to Nelson Mandelas release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1791-2003
Database Producer: ProQuest
Online archive of The Independent, a UK newspaper published in London.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
This online archive covers The Independent, an outspoken leader in print news during the 1980's and 1990's.
From the publisher: Featuring journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, taking idiosyncratic views on the free market, social issues and culture.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1986-2016
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Full text of some of the most significant and least-widely held womens periodicals produced from the late Eighteenth century through the early 1930s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, Social History, Women's Studies
Historical womens periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for womens rightswoman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for examplegrew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for womens periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1786-1933 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale
A collection of publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1845 - 2015
Database Distributor: Proquest
Collection of six full-text British 19th century newspapers and journals, 1800-1900.
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology
Nineteenth-century serials edition is a collection of six full-text British 19th century newspapers and journals: Monthly repository (1806-1837), Unitarian chronicle (1832-1833), Northern star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English woman's journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publisher's circular (1880-1890). Digitization was a collaboration between Arts and Humanities Research Council, Birkbeck College, King's College London, Centre for Computing in the Humanities, the British Library, and Olive Software. The titles were chosen for their emphasis upon social issues, political reform, and women's rights issues.
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1900
Database Producer: King's College, London.
Digitized, primary source collections of the nineteenth century focused on Asia, England, and Europe. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
"Nineteenth Century Collections Online" is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. When completed, this collection will be comprised of numerous sub-collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types -- monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more -- in one cross-searchable interface.
Currently includes 12 collections: - Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange - British Politics and Society - British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture - Children's Literature and Childhood - Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest - European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection - Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature - Photography: The World through the Lens - Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform - Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 - Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II - Women: Transnational Networks
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1769-1925 Database Producer: Gale
Full text periodical pages on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor, spanning 1800-1900. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
The 19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive includes over 2 million full text pages on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor. Contents were selected by experts in the field; full periodical runs are included when possible.
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals Dates of Coverage: 1800-1900 Database Producer: Gale/Cengage
Comprehensive collection of early English newspapers titles from London, British Isles, and colonies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers, including 1 million full text images from newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations. Titles are included from London, British Isles, and colonies.
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals Dates of Coverage: 1604-1804 Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, United Kingdom.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, English
This collection features London newspapers and pamphlets covering the period 1672-1737, gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. All 296 volumes of bound material, from the Nichols Newspaper Collection at the Bodleian Library in Oxford, have been digitized.
Online archive of the Telegraph newspaper, from 1855 to 2016.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
This online archives provides coverage of the first 1d morning newspaper in London, the Telegraph. This resource includes over 1 million pages of online content as well as the Sunday edition of the paper.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1855 to 2016 Database Distributor: Gale Cengage
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
