A digital streaming video collection of unique films including current, leading British theatre productions and behind-the-scenes documentaries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Theatre, Dance, Drama, Performing Arts.
Digital Theatre Plus is a streaming video platform of current British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes commentaries. This platform is one way to immerse researchers in performance while also helping to ready performing arts students for employment.
This database is comprised of 4 main parts:
(1) Plays & Productions: with 361 "filmed and audio" productions. These recordings include performances from Shakespeare's Globe theatre, the Broadway Digital Archive, the Royal Opera House, and the BBC.
(2) Practice & Practitioners: 397 interviews and documentaries with cast members, directors, and backstage crews are found in Digital Theatre Plus.
(3) Theory & Criticism: Digital Theatre Plus includes 284 written resources (6,975 pages) written by both academics and practitioners. These materials explore theatre history, theory, and technique.
(4) Teaching with DT: These resources have been commissioned, created and curated by Creative Content Producer Fiona Lindsay and Editorial Director (Higher Education) Talia Rodgers to support the teaching of English, Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies, and Performing Arts subjects from secondary to higher education. We provide resources which bridge the gap between school and university. Many of the resources below can be used across all levels from the UK to the US and beyond.
Format: Streaming Media, Full Text Dates of Coverage: Varies by production, from the 1960's through present Update Schedule: Quarterly Database Distributor: Digital Theatre Plus
Access to an extensive collection of authoritative materials supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, Theatre
The Shakespeare Collection provides access to an extensive collection of authoritative materials supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Resources include the most recent Arden Shakespeare editions of the complete works, as well as editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works, other works published during Shakespeare's time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference.
Format: Full Text Books Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Contains unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, DC. These prompt books describe key performances in Great Britain and the United States, between the 17th and 20th centuries. This resource also contains curated case studies built around 17 selected performances with supplementary materials.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: Theatre, History, Art History and Visual Culture
Performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Theatre
Theatre in Video contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions Format: Digital Media Update Schedule: Updated periodically by a new release Dates of Coverage: 20th Century Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Focus is on English texts published during the "long" nineteenth century, from the beginnings of Mesmerism in 1779 through to the 1930s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, English, Theatre
Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures. Wonder of those early audiences, experiencing the magic of Victorian inventions and optical entertainments.
Module I
Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
This module explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of séances and psychic phenomena in Britain and America. The late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries saw an explosion of interest in the occult, and the foundation of a new religious movement, Spiritualism. We cover all aspects of these subjects, from spiritualist pamphlets to the show-business empires of leading magicians such as John Henry Anderson. The role of magic within variety performances is also well represented. The resource is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond.
Module 2
Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
This module focuses on the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, America and Europe in the 19th and early 20th century. From big tops to carnivals, fairgrounds and dime museums, it covers the history of popular shows and exhibitions from both audience and professional perspectives.
Module 3
Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
The Victorian and Edwardian periods were a golden age for variety, vaudeville and theatre. The era also played host to a vast range of other public entertainments and spectacles, from the educational to the decadent. The primary sources in this module not only celebrate well-known and popular forms of entertainment but also highlights lesser-known activities and leisure interests. Advertising posters, guidebooks, admission tickets and handbills represent the diverse forms of entertainment available to growing numbers of people from the late Georgian period and throughout the Victorian and Edwardian era. The documents cover a wide range of academic interests related to Victorian popular culture, and cater to all levels of researcher. Highlights from the collection include a set of early pantomime programmes; unique material from the May Moore Duprez archive; and visual material related to Belle Vue, Manchester’s popular Zoological Gardens.
Module 4
Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
This module of Victorian Popular Culture explores the pivotal era in entertainment history when previously static images came to life and moved for the first time. Through the wealth of printed and visual material as well as artefacts (see our Optical Entertainments exhibition and 360-degree object gallery) in this module, we are able to imagine the wide-eyed wonder of those early audiences, experiencing the magic of Victorian inventions and optical entertainments. Through the material selected for this resource, researchers are able to trace the history of cinema and the exciting journey it has taken from early visual entertainment such as shadows shows and optical illusions, travelling entertainments in the form of peepshows and panoramas, the first projected images created by the camera obscura and magic lantern right through to the burgeoning film industry and the film star celebrities it created.
Format: Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1779-1930
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
