Online archive examining the LGBTQ community through the lens of political and social organizations.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Collections Included:
- International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
Subjects: Queer Studies, Sociology/Anthropology
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It ensures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved.
- Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 illuminates the experiences of the LGBTQ community by examining the perspectives of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations. Records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured in this archive as well as publications for and by this community.
Materials include:
- grassroots publications
- newsletters
- publications for and by the LGBTQ community
- extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis
- newspapers from 35+ countries
- materials related to gay rights and health, including reports, policy statements and governmental documents.
Format: Archival materials, digitized newspapers and correspondence
Dates of Coverage: 1940 to present
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Online archive which accesses a vast body of original British source material, giving a gendered perspective to history, literature, sociology, and education studies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 provides a gendered perspective to history, using primary materials sourced from British archives.
Documents within this collection include pamphlets, diaries, periodicals, letters, manuscript journals, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, literary manuscripts, and pieces of travel writing.
Many unique items are included as well, such as college records and exam papers, commonplace books, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy documents, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion, receipt books, and conduct and advice literature.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1450-1910
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Full text access to alternative press collections of feminist groups, minority press, underground newspapers, etc., focusing on the 1960's - 1980's.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1960-1989
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: JSTOR
Reproductions of the original material regarding AIDS from the History of Medicine Division, National Library of Medicine.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Medicine, Queer Studies
In response to the AIDS crisis contains reproductions of the originals from the History of Medicine Division, National Library of Medicine. Includes briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings document the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome from 1983-1994.
ser. 1. Presidential Commission on the Human Immunodeficiency Virus Epidemic, 1987-1988 -- ser. 2. NCAIDS briefing, hearing and meeting transcripts, 1989-1993 -- ser. 3. Commissioner's correspondence -- ser. 4. Commission reports, 1991-1993 -- ser. 5. Press coverage, 1989-1991 -- ser. 6. External institution and government agency reports, 1983-1992.
Date Range: 1983-1994 Content: 37,091 images Source Library: National Library of Medicine, Gale, a part of Cengage Learning.
Documents the joint and individual work of life-partners Lyon and Martin, from the Homophile movement of the 1950s to the 1980s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies
Documents the joint and individual work lives of life-partners Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, from the Homophile movement of the 1950s to the 1980s. The collection is strongest in materials connected to Lyon and Martin's involvement with several major organizations, particularly material from the 1960s and 1970s. The collection contains significant documentation relating to the administration and activities of the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB). The collection includes: correspondence, manuscript drafts, organizational papers including minutes, constitutions, flyers; and financial documents
Includes 54,734 images Reproduced from the originals from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society, San Francisco, CA.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Queer Studies, Women's Studies
This collection documents many decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin's work for and leadership of, the LGBT movement and the women's rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally. Included are minutes, correspondence, and notes related to their work with the ACLU, the San Francisco Coalition for Human Rights, the Commission on Crime Control and Violence Protection, the Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, the San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women, and the San Francisco Human Rights Commission.
Lyon and Martin were also central to the struggle that pushed the National Organization for Women to an understanding of the centrality of the freedom to sexual expression.
Includes 54,734 images Reproduced from the originals from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society, San Francisco, CA.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1966-1984 Database Producer: Gale Publishing
Sourced solely from the renowned Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections, Sex & Sexuality provides access to collections from prominent sex researchers and sexologists.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Sexology, Gender Studies
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
The collection examines American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. This collection contains over 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1900-1999
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
