Online collection of crime-related materials, including court proceedings, forensic documents, true crime literature, and newspaper accounts.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your myDenison login.
Subjects: History, Sociology / Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Political Science
This collection presents a broad history of crime in the long 19th century derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources.
It includes trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper accounts.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1790-1920 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theater
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Cinema, Sociology
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
You have access to:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1880 - 2015
Database Producer: ProQuest
Full text primary and secondary source archive, containing digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: History
Full text primary and secondary source database containing digitizations of popular culture collections, focusing on the U.S. and the U.K. between 1950 and 1975. These archival materials include coverage of student protests, civil rights, consumerism and the Vietnam War.
Denison owns: Section I-II
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1950-1975
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
The collection examines American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. This collection contains over 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1900-1999
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Focus is on English texts published during the "long" nineteenth century, from the beginnings of Mesmerism in 1779 through to the 1930s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, English, Theatre
Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures. Wonder of those early audiences, experiencing the magic of Victorian inventions and optical entertainments.
Module I
Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
This module explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of séances and psychic phenomena in Britain and America. The late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries saw an explosion of interest in the occult, and the foundation of a new religious movement, Spiritualism. We cover all aspects of these subjects, from spiritualist pamphlets to the show-business empires of leading magicians such as John Henry Anderson. The role of magic within variety performances is also well represented. The resource is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond.
Module 2
Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
This module focuses on the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, America and Europe in the 19th and early 20th century. From big tops to carnivals, fairgrounds and dime museums, it covers the history of popular shows and exhibitions from both audience and professional perspectives.
Module 3
Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
The Victorian and Edwardian periods were a golden age for variety, vaudeville and theatre. The era also played host to a vast range of other public entertainments and spectacles, from the educational to the decadent. The primary sources in this module not only celebrate well-known and popular forms of entertainment but also highlights lesser-known activities and leisure interests. Advertising posters, guidebooks, admission tickets and handbills represent the diverse forms of entertainment available to growing numbers of people from the late Georgian period and throughout the Victorian and Edwardian era. The documents cover a wide range of academic interests related to Victorian popular culture, and cater to all levels of researcher. Highlights from the collection include a set of early pantomime programmes; unique material from the May Moore Duprez archive; and visual material related to Belle Vue, Manchester’s popular Zoological Gardens.
Module 4
Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
This module of Victorian Popular Culture explores the pivotal era in entertainment history when previously static images came to life and moved for the first time. Through the wealth of printed and visual material as well as artefacts (see our Optical Entertainments exhibition and 360-degree object gallery) in this module, we are able to imagine the wide-eyed wonder of those early audiences, experiencing the magic of Victorian inventions and optical entertainments. Through the material selected for this resource, researchers are able to trace the history of cinema and the exciting journey it has taken from early visual entertainment such as shadows shows and optical illusions, travelling entertainments in the form of peepshows and panoramas, the first projected images created by the camera obscura and magic lantern right through to the burgeoning film industry and the film star celebrities it created.
Format: Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1779-1930
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Online archive of the leading women's interest magazines, from the late 19th century through 2005.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Women's Studies, Gender Studies, Social History, Art, Education, Politics, and Marketing/Media History.
The Women's Magazine Archive contains full archives of major women's interest, consumer magazines. This resource contains issues from the late 19th century through 2005.
Research fields served by this online archive include gender studies, social history, economics, marketing, media, fashion, politics, and pop culture.
Women's Magazine Archive, Part I includes complete archives of Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, and Parents magazine. These titles serve as records of the evolving assumptions surrounding gender roles and cultural norms. Parents magazine is relevant for research in education, psychology, health, and serves as a reflection of broad social and historical trends.
Women's Magazine Archive, Part II features several prominent, popular, and long-running publications such as Women's Day and Town & Country magazine. Part II also focuses on specific audiences with the inclusion of Cosmopolitan and Seventeen magazine, as well as Essence and Women's International Network News.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1883 - 2005 Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: ProQuest
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
