This database shows how World War II changed American society and the economy, how it impacted individuals and their families, and the legacy of the war.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: US History, World War II
Alongside the archival collections and artifacts, the oral history video interviews conducted by The National WWII Museum provide opportunities to learn about the personal experiences of veterans in their own words.
Format: Full Text, image, videos Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Covers a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward -- from witchcraft to World War II to 20th-century political history.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students.
Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward -- from witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1920's-1980's
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Full text of over 400 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twenty-first century. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, English
British Periodicals Collection I provides access to the searchable full text of more than 160 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century (the same periodicals as are covered in the UMI microfilm collection "Early British Periodicals").
This resource includes millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
British Periodicals Collection III extends the scope of the program by focusing on leading publications from the first half of the twentieth century. The titles are from the prestigious stable of illustrated periodicals known as the Great Eight in British periodical publishing history. They are considered to be among the foremost popular periodicals of the period and were highly influential in their mix of news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire, while launching the careers of many leading artists/illustrators of the age.
British Periodicals Collection IV extends the content in Collection III into the 20th century by covering several leading magazines of this period. This collection has particular strengths in the areas of politics, socialism, the Labour Movement, international affairs, the arts, sporting history, humour, illustration, travel and empire topics, and family and teen publications. Included in this collection are the following magazines: The Field (1853-2005), the Tribune (1937-2005), The Highway (1903-1959), War Weekly (1939-1941), Answers to Correspondents (1888-1955), the Humorist (1922-1940), Wide World Magazine (1898-1965), The Marvel (1893-1922), and Top Spot (1958-1960).
The four collections within British Periodicals may be searched alongside content within Periodicals Archive Online and American Periodicals, creating a large cross-searchable database of content from this era.
Format: Full Text Journals Dates of Coverage: 1680s-2000s (Collections I, II, III, & IV) Update Schedule: Completed Database Database Producer: ProQuest
Online archive of the Winston S. Churchill Papers from the Churchill Archives Centre, Cambridge College.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
The definitive resource for those wishing to study the Winston S. Churchill Papers, digitized and presented to the world online exclusively in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, Cambridge College, England.
Containing nearly 800,000 documents produced between the years of 1874 and 1965, the platform allows students and researchers to track the important events and figures of the Churchill era with a detailed taxonomy and pedagogical materials.
Format: Full Text, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1874-1965
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Distributor: Bloomsbury
This collection documents the creation of the Third Republic, a compromise between the pre-WWII Czechoslovak Republic and the Czech Communist Party.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files documents the creation of the Third Republic, which was established after World War II, and differed markedly from the First Republic of 1918.
The Third Republic was created as a result of a compromise between pre-war Czechoslovak Republic leaders and the Czech Communist Party (KSC). This collection contains 52,359 images from the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text, Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: 1945-1963 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
The most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Latin American Studies, Middle East Studies, Asia Studies, Diplomacy, Intelligence
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. This resource now includes over 50 collections.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1945 to present Update Schedule: Annual Database Producer: ProQuest
Online archive containing rare, detailed data on the German economic situation during the Third Reich, up to and throughout World War II. keywords: Nazis, Germany
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
Founded in 1843, The Economist's principles and methods remain relevant today. It is renowned for its consistent approach to internationalism and championing of minimal state in political and government affairs. In more than 8,000 issues since its first publication in 1843, The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. With objective authority, clarity, and wit, The Economist presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1843-2015 Database Producer: Gale
Full text primary and secondary source documents relating to the first World War.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The First World War database is a collection of primary and secondary source documents. It is divided into 4 collections: Propaganda & Recruitment, Personal Experiences, Visual Perspectives & Narratives and A Global Conflict. These collections include photographs, diaries, leaflets, posters, newspapers, artwork, and ephemera.
Denison owns 4 modules:
First World War: A Global Conflict
First World War: Personal Experiences
First World War: Propaganda and Recruitment
First World War: Visual Perspectives and Narratives
Format: Full Text and Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1860-2010
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
This collection provides insight into the events between First World War victory and Second World War defeat, crucial to understanding the political journey of Japan during this period.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Japanese History, World War I
Through extensive runs of Foreign Office Files from the National Archives, UK, this collection documents Anglo-Japanese diplomatic relations during an era of rapid Japanese progression and expansion.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1919-1952 Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
During the 1920s and early 1930s, Japan progressed toward a democratic system of government. However, parliamentary government was not rooted deeply enough to withstand the economic and political pressures of the 1930s, during which expansionism and militarization became increasingly influential in government and society.
This collection contains 114,304 images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1930-1949
Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the Japanese-American internment camps during WWII.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies, U.S. History
One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.
Although histories exist about this chapter in American history, this digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text.
Archive of the Japan Times newspaper, an english language newspaper reporting on Japanese news, culture, and society.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: International Studies, History, Political Science
The Japan Times has been published in 1897, when it was established as a newspaper giving the Japanese people an opportunity to discuss news and current events in English.
This online archive of the newspaper covers events from the Meiji era, through World War II, and to 2017.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1897-2017
Update Schedule: Archive
Database Distributor: East View
The content in Medical Services and Warfare has been selected in close collaboration with collection staff at participating libraries, archives and museums and specialist academic editorial board members in the fields of conflict and medical history. Attendance at focused conferences also played a large part in ensuring material is relevant and appropriate for students and scholars.
The resource is provided in two modules, 1850-1927 and 1928-1949. It tells the story of medical advances during warfare from the mid-nineteenth century to the outbreak of the influenza epidemic in 1918, the discovery of penicillin in 1928, and up to post-war reforms such as the foundation of the British National Health Service. The wealth of documents cover multiple conflicts as well as interwar developments from a range of perspectives.
Material has been sourced from across the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada and Europe to enable comparisons on key areas of systematic reform, improvements to sanitation and the treatment of disease, rehabilitation, nursing care, surgical techniques and wound treatment.
Date range: 1850-1927 and 1928-1949 Format: Archival Resources, including text, image, maps Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Contains documents of the temporary Emergency Court of Appeals who oversaw rationing and price controls from 1941-1961.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Economics, history
In the Emergency Price Control Act of 1942, Congress established a comprehensive system of administrative controls over prices, as a means of checking the inflation that accompanied America's entry into World War II. The Act created a temporary Emergency Court of Appeals, staffed by federal judges from the district courts and courts of appeals, with exclusive jurisdiction to determine the validity of price control regulations.
This collection provides a unique look into the creation and activities of the temporary Emergency Court of Appeals, staffed by federal judges from the district courts and courts of appeals, with exclusive jurisdiction to determine the validity of price control regulations. Regulated persons thus could not challenge the administrative regulations constitutionality or statutory authorization in the ordinary state or federal courts-either in injunctive proceedings or by way of defense to criminal prosecutions for their violation.
This collection consists of newspapers published during the war and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Journalism, History
The collection consists of newspapers published during the war and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all the key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Polish, Hebrew, Afrikaans, Swahili, and African dialects.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1939-1948 Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Materials on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. Keywords: World War II, WWII
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Religion
This collection consists of telegrams, dispatches, reports, and letters between the State Department, other U.S. government agencies, the Vatican, and the Italian government. There are materials on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. In addition, there are materials on Axis diplomats, war criminals, protocols and religious statements, and records of the peace efforts of the Vatican.
Includes 35,023 images from the library of the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1940-1950 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
This collection records what was known by the British about the French involved with the resistance movement and the Vichy government. Keywords: World War II, WWII
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies, European Studies, Humanities
Providing perspectives from both the Vichy government and the resistance movement, this unique collection constitutes the sum of the French press that actually reached Britain during the Occupation of 1940-1944.
It is the record of what was known by the British about the hearts and minds of the French people at the most dramatic period of their shared history.
Format: Full Text Date range of documents: 1939-1945 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale
This module documents WWII military planning, operations, and the U.S. home front, featuring Roosevelt’s Map Room Files, Joint Chiefs records, and the Manhattan Project
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The collections in this module document the innermost workings of the top level of military planning during World War II in President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Map Room Files, Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and George C. Marshall Papers. Military operations are chronicled in Records of the War Department Operations Division, and U.S. Navy Action and Operational Reports. Other records document the U.S. home front, refugees, the soldiers who participated in the D-Day invasion, Manhattan Project, and the Potsdam Conference.
Subject Coverage: American History, International Relations, World War II
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
