This collection provides insight into the events between First World War victory and Second World War defeat, crucial to understanding the political journey of Japan during this period.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Japanese History, World War I
Through extensive runs of Foreign Office Files from the National Archives, UK, this collection documents Anglo-Japanese diplomatic relations during an era of rapid Japanese progression and expansion.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1919-1952 Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
During the 1920s and early 1930s, Japan progressed toward a democratic system of government. However, parliamentary government was not rooted deeply enough to withstand the economic and political pressures of the 1930s, during which expansionism and militarization became increasingly influential in government and society.
This collection contains 114,304 images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1930-1949
Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Archive of the Japan Times newspaper, an english language newspaper reporting on Japanese news, culture, and society.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: International Studies, History, Political Science
The Japan Times has been published in 1897, when it was established as a newspaper giving the Japanese people an opportunity to discuss news and current events in English.
This online archive of the newspaper covers events from the Meiji era, through World War II, and to 2017.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1897-2017
Update Schedule: Archive
Database Distributor: East View
Personal and professional papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), one of the first Americans to live in Japan.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
The Edward Sylvester Morse Papers were given to the Peabody Museum in 1926 and consist of 99 boxes of personal and professional papers including diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts.
This collection has been digitized in its entirety. Morse's papers document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials and drawings.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1877-1925
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
