Online archive covering America in the late nineteenth century, including race and ethnicity, immigration, labor, women's rights, American Indians, political corruption, and monetary policy.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
The Gilded Age brings together primary documents and scholarly commentary into a searchable collection and online archive. These primary source materials are frequently rare and hard-to-find, and include songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1865 to 1902 Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Images from the U.S. National Archives related to the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
Contains 30,100 images from the U.S. National Archives related to the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR). The IGCR was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1938-1947 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Presents issues from a Northwestern perspective, including westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Mass Media, Communication
Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, the San Francisco Chronicle lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, Americas entry into World War I, and many other events that shaped both the City by the Bay and the United States.
During its first five decades, the San Francisco Chronicle presented issues from a young, Northwestern perspective, giving researchers a window through which to study westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
Mark Twain, Bret Harte, Jack London, and Rex Beach are among the writers who contributed to the San Francisco Chronicles pagessome without benefit of a bylineduring the early years. To trace San Franciscos history from a muddy frontier town full of pistol-packing pioneers and corrupt politicians, through its entry into the Roaring 20s, start here.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1865-1922
Database Producer: ProQuest
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
