Online archive of 30,000+ searchable images of printed items that were never intended to last (broadsides and ephemera).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History
American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of 30,000+ broadsides and pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
The remarkably diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters, to official government proclamations, tax bills, and town meeting reports.
Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.
Format: Full Text and Images Dates of Coverage: 1760-1900 Database Distributor: Readex
Rich, primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
American State Papers constitute rich primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. A retrospective republication of approximately 6280 numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials, the American State Paper volumes, issued from 1832-1861, were published in ten classes in a total of 38 folio volumes.
The classes into which the publications were assembled and printed and the number of volumes they occupy are: I: Foreign Relations in six volumes; II: Indian Affairs in two volumes; III: Finance in five volumes; IV: Commerce and Navigation in two volumes; V: Military Affairs in seven volumes; VI: Naval Affairs in four volumes; VII: Post Office Department in one volume; VIII: Public Lands in eight volumes; IX: Claims in one volume; and X: Miscellaneous in two volumes.
Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838.
Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1789-1838
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Search newspapers from 1880-1910 & find information about American newspapers published 1690-present.
Off Campus Access: This resource is open access, freely available to anyone, and does not require authentication.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Mass Media, Communication
Chronicling America allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
It includes papers from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia include Paris, Kentuckys The Bourbon news, Washington, D.C.s The Colored American, and DeLands own Florida Agriculturist.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Producer: The Library of Congress
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, 1800-1900.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Advanced searching capabilities will enable researchers to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1900
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Online archive giving a European perspective to Richard Nixon's entire presidential term.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History; Political Science
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974 covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term and allows the assessment of his term from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective.
Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation are covered.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1969-1974
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, U.S. History, Women's Studies, People
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.
The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Format: Archival Resources
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition currently consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Described as "a rich and engaging resource featuring annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes," this database of audiotapes includes specific coverage of the LBJ Administration, including tapes of discussions on the War on Poverty, 1964 (edited by Guian McKee); Civil Rights, 1964 (edited by Kent Germany); and Vietnam, 1964-65 (edited by Marc Selverstone and David Coleman).
The entire resource is fully searchable, accessible via a timeline view, and each transcript page includes the original audio. Parts of this resource are open access and available to all, while certain collections, particularly the LBJ Tapes are available to the Denison community through our subscription.
Format: Full text Dates of Coverage: 1962-1973 Update Schedule: Regularly Database Producer: University of Virginia Press.
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, History
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Format: Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: 1500-1926 Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Full text online archive that explores the Virginia Company, documenting the founding and economic development of Virginia.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: History, Economics
The Virginia Company Archives covers the founding and economic development of Virginia. This database documents developments in Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London (1606-1624), the interests of the Ferrar family, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of Virginia, and both tensions and relations among colonists and Native Americans.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1600-1775
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, History
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period." In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Includes 263,207 images from the collections of Cornell University, University of Pennsylvania, and others.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1500-1930 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history, 1600-2000.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, U.S. History
This database is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the site seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
Women and Social Movements contains the following resources:
* Over 70 document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these document projects provide more than 2400 documents, more than 900 images, and over 800 links to other websites. They demonstrate that historical analysis is an interpretive process based on documents. Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We expect to add twelve new document projects annually. Women and Social Movements is also now accepting submissions of document projects for consideration for online publication. See below for more information.
* More than 30,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. Plans are to add 5,000 additional pages of documents annually.
* A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
* A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
* Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1600-2000
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
Collection of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane, the lives of the Wright Family, and the Wrights' flying exhibitions in Europe and the United States.
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Wright Brothers Digital Photographs is a collection of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane, the lives of the Wright Family, and the Wrights' flying exhibitions in Europe and the United States. The collection provides thorough coverage of the Wrights' early inventive period documenting their early gliders and flight testing in both North Carolina and Ohio. Much of it should show that Orville and Wilbur Wright were technically excellent photographers who painstakingly documented their process of invention. The content posted to date also provides a valuable record of their home life, camp life, and the flora and fauna of the Outer Banks 100 years ago.
These photos are from The Wright Brothers Collection housed in Special Collections and Archives at the Wright State University Libraries, one of the most complete collections of Wright material in the world.
Format: Digital Media, Archival Resources Database Producer: Special Collections and Archives in the Wright State University Libraries.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
