This database shows how World War II changed American society and the economy, how it impacted individuals and their families, and the legacy of the war.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: US History, World War II
Alongside the archival collections and artifacts, the oral history video interviews conducted by The National WWII Museum provide opportunities to learn about the personal experiences of veterans in their own words.
Format: Full Text, image, videos Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Largest African American oral video history archive in the world.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies
HistoryMakers is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world. HistoryMakers provides access to over 119,684 stories from oral history interviews with 2,694 historically significant African Americans.
Format: video Dates of Coverage: current Update Schedule: unknown Database Distributor: HistoryMakers
Kanopy is an online, streaming video service, which provides access to over 26,000 films each year. Kanopy includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
Kanopy is a streaming video service that works like Netflix for educational institutions. Every year, Kanopy offers access to over 26,000 films and documentaries for educational and classroom use. Films may be browsed by subject or searched by title.
Format: Streaming Media Update Schedule: Annually Database Distributor: Kanopy
Oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. Keywords: Ohio, war, protest
Off Campus Access: This database is freely available to anyone.
Kent State Shootings Oral Histories is a collection of oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. The oral histories include many eyewitness accounts of the event and its aftermath, contributed by people who were students, faculty members, and City of Kent residents at the time, as well as an account by an Ohio National Guardsman. The oral histories preserve personal histories of and individual reactions to the shootings.
The oral histories are part of Kent State's May 4 Collection, created to assist students, faculty, staff, community members and other researchers in locating information sources related to the Kent State shootings and their aftermath.
Apple's free QuickTime player is required to listen to the audio files. Written transcripts are also available for many of the oral histories.
The Kent State oral histories are stored in the Historic & Archival Digital Media collections of the OhioLINK Digital Media Center.
Format: Digital Media, Archival Resources Database Producer: Special Collections and Archives at Kent State University Libraries & Media Services.
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition currently consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Described as "a rich and engaging resource featuring annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes," this database of audiotapes includes specific coverage of the LBJ Administration, including tapes of discussions on the War on Poverty, 1964 (edited by Guian McKee); Civil Rights, 1964 (edited by Kent Germany); and Vietnam, 1964-65 (edited by Marc Selverstone and David Coleman).
The entire resource is fully searchable, accessible via a timeline view, and each transcript page includes the original audio. Parts of this resource are open access and available to all, while certain collections, particularly the LBJ Tapes are available to the Denison community through our subscription.
Format: Full text Dates of Coverage: 1962-1973 Update Schedule: Regularly Database Producer: University of Virginia Press.
Online collection of films from the communist world revealing war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Cinema, Political Science
Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique collection of documentary films, features and newsreels reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe and more.
Providing a counterpoint to Western perceptions of communist states and their actions, the films illuminate how socialist countries saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events of the twentieth century. The footage was originally sourced from communist states, then versioned into English language for private distribution in Britain and the West.
This is the largest film collection of its kind to survive in Western Europe. The films have been conserved, digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm reels, and are fully transcribed and searchable.
This resource is made up of three modules:
Module I: Wars & Revolutions
Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines
Module III: Culture & Society
Format: Full Text, Streaming Media
Dates of Coverage: Early 20th century to the 1980s
Update Schedule:
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events
Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.
Format: Digital Media Dates of Coverage: 1968- Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
