Contains FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
This collection consists of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.
The collection includes numerous reports, newsletters, and position papers, as well as an FBI historical overview on the leading antiwar organizations during the Vietnam War era. Some of the more in-depth reports compiled by the FBI include detailed surveillance of national and steering committee meetings, where major decisions, debates, and elections took place.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1967-1975
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
This collection contains primarily Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnams political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnams military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos.
Contains 12,308 images from the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1967-1975 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. Keywords: Ohio, war, protest
Off Campus Access: This database is freely available to anyone.
Kent State Shootings Oral Histories is a collection of oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. The oral histories include many eyewitness accounts of the event and its aftermath, contributed by people who were students, faculty members, and City of Kent residents at the time, as well as an account by an Ohio National Guardsman. The oral histories preserve personal histories of and individual reactions to the shootings.
The oral histories are part of Kent State's May 4 Collection, created to assist students, faculty, staff, community members and other researchers in locating information sources related to the Kent State shootings and their aftermath.
Apple's free QuickTime player is required to listen to the audio files. Written transcripts are also available for many of the oral histories.
The Kent State oral histories are stored in the Historic & Archival Digital Media collections of the OhioLINK Digital Media Center.
Format: Digital Media, Archival Resources Database Producer: Special Collections and Archives at Kent State University Libraries & Media Services.
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition currently consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Described as "a rich and engaging resource featuring annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes," this database of audiotapes includes specific coverage of the LBJ Administration, including tapes of discussions on the War on Poverty, 1964 (edited by Guian McKee); Civil Rights, 1964 (edited by Kent Germany); and Vietnam, 1964-65 (edited by Marc Selverstone and David Coleman).
The entire resource is fully searchable, accessible via a timeline view, and each transcript page includes the original audio. Parts of this resource are open access and available to all, while certain collections, particularly the LBJ Tapes are available to the Denison community through our subscription.
Format: Full text Dates of Coverage: 1962-1973 Update Schedule: Regularly Database Producer: University of Virginia Press.
Online collection of films from the communist world revealing war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Cinema, Political Science
Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique collection of documentary films, features and newsreels reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe and more.
Providing a counterpoint to Western perceptions of communist states and their actions, the films illuminate how socialist countries saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events of the twentieth century. The footage was originally sourced from communist states, then versioned into English language for private distribution in Britain and the West.
This is the largest film collection of its kind to survive in Western Europe. The films have been conserved, digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm reels, and are fully transcribed and searchable.
This resource is made up of three modules:
Module I: Wars & Revolutions
Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines
Module III: Culture & Society
Format: Full Text, Streaming Media
Dates of Coverage: Early 20th century to the 1980s
Update Schedule:
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
This module covers U.S. involvement in Vietnam from the Kennedy to Ford administrations, highlighting key foreign policy issues and National Security Files
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
This module covers U.S. involvement in Vietnam from the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. The collections also highlight the most important foreign policy issues facing the U.S. between 1960 and 1975. Key collections include National Security Files from the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford administrations, and records of the Military Assistance and Advisory Command, Vietnam (MACV).
Subject Coverage: American History, Diplomatic History, International Relations, Vietnam War
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
