Full text primary source material describing life in the American West.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: American History
The American West is a full text, online collection of original manuscripts, maps and ephemera.
This collection details life on the frontier, Native Americans, vigilantes, outlaws, and the growth of urban centers as well as the environmental impact of expansion.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Early eighteenth century (early 1700's) to mid twentieth century (mid 1900's)
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Comprised of selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.
Western settlers created what we think of as the American West. Fortunately, many of these men and women recorded daily events and their thoughts with such picturesque zest that some accounts of westward journeys have elements of great literature within them.
Contains 71,133 images from the Lost Cause Press.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1800-1880 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
