Full-text database of 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
American Film Scripts Online is an ongoing full-text project. The collection of feature films, when completed, will hold 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes. Many of the scripts have never been published.
The database is full-text searchable and includes detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers and awards given to individual films have been noted.
Format: Archival Resource
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theater
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Cinema, Sociology
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
You have access to:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1880 - 2015
Database Producer: ProQuest
Documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry from the MPAA.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Cinema, History, Censorship
Part of Archives Unbound, the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry. The Production Code was written in 1929 by Martin J. Quigley, an influential editor and publisher of motion picture trade periodicals, and Reverend Daniel A. Lord, a Jesuit advisor to Hollywood filmmakers. Officially accepted in 1930 by the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America (MPPDA), the precursor organization to the MPAA, the Production Code presented guidelines governing American movie production. In essence, however, the Code was the template for a theological takeover of American cinema.
From the Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Beverly Hills, California. The Motion Picture Association of America Production Code Administration collection, selected from the holdings of the Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Beverly Hills, California. 30,899 images.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1927-1968 Database Producer: Gale Publishing
Cinecraft Productions was founded in 1939 by Ray Culley (1904-1983) and Betty (Buehner) Culley (1914-2016) in Cleveland, Ohio. Cinecraft specializes in commercial productions for business, industry, trade organizations, and, in some cases, government agencies and social service organizations. This collection includes motion pictures, still images, scripts and related production documents from the company's founding into the early 1980s with the bulk covering the 1950s to the 1970s. The collection has not been digitized in its entirety but we are currently making frequent additions.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
