It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at email@example.com or Reference Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. Keywords: Ohio, war, protest
Off Campus Access: This database is freely available to anyone.
Kent State Shootings Oral Histories is a collection of oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. The oral histories include many eyewitness accounts of the event and its aftermath, contributed by people who were students, faculty members, and City of Kent residents at the time, as well as an account by an Ohio National Guardsman. The oral histories preserve personal histories of and individual reactions to the shootings.
The oral histories are part of Kent State's May 4 Collection, created to assist students, faculty, staff, community members and other researchers in locating information sources related to the Kent State shootings and their aftermath.
Apple's free QuickTime player is required to listen to the audio files. Written transcripts are also available for many of the oral histories.
The Kent State oral histories are stored in the Historic & Archival Digital Media collections of the OhioLINK Digital Media Center.
Format: Digital Media, Archival Resources Database Producer: Special Collections and Archives at Kent State University Libraries & Media Services.
Collection of historic photographs documenting the local history of the Erie Islands and Lake Erie's western basin.
Off Campus access: Authenticate with Dension ID (back of your Denison Card)
Lake Erie's Yesterdays (digital photos) is a collection of historic photographs of northwestern Ohio, documenting the local history of the Erie Islands and Lake Erie's western basin. These black and white images were produced by Sandusky, Ohio, commercial photographer Ernst Niebergall between 1909 and 1915. From ice harvesting and railroads to early aviation and island leisure activities, the Niebergall photographs richly depict the everyday lives and activities of Lake Erie's southern shoreline residents. The photographs provide a record of communities in transition as old methods gave way to advances in industry and technology. The original photos are part of the Charles E. Frohman Collection at the Manuscripts Division of the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center.
These photos are part of the History & Archives Digital Media collections of the OhioLINK Digital Media Center.
Format: Digital Media, Archival Resources
Database Producer: Charles E. Frohman Collection in the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center.
Collection of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane, the lives of the Wright Family, and the Wrights' flying exhibitions in Europe and the United States.
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Wright Brothers Digital Photographs is a collection of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane, the lives of the Wright Family, and the Wrights' flying exhibitions in Europe and the United States. The collection provides thorough coverage of the Wrights' early inventive period documenting their early gliders and flight testing in both North Carolina and Ohio. Much of it should show that Orville and Wilbur Wright were technically excellent photographers who painstakingly documented their process of invention. The content posted to date also provides a valuable record of their home life, camp life, and the flora and fauna of the Outer Banks 100 years ago.
These photos are from The Wright Brothers Collection housed in Special Collections and Archives at the Wright State University Libraries, one of the most complete collections of Wright material in the world.
Format: Digital Media, Archival Resources Database Producer: Special Collections and Archives in the Wright State University Libraries.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: email@example.com
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer