LibGuides: Primary Resources Guide: Slavery

Slavery Related Primary Resource Databases

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
Full text collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, U.S. History, Black Studies

Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice, 1490-2007 documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Format: Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1490-2007
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. Contains newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era and documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, U.S. History, Black Studies

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.

This collection is made up of three sections:
- part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition
- part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
- part III: The Institution of Slavery.
- part IV: Emancipation

Format: Archival Materials
Database Producer: Gale Cengage
History Vault: Slavery and the Law This link opens in a new window
Slavery and the Law offers candid petitions and key legal records on race and slavery from 1775-1867 across ten states and D.C.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses, 1775-1867. The petitions were collected by Loren Schweninger from hundreds of courthouses and historical societies in 10 states and the District of Columbia. The petitions document the realities of slavery at the most immediate local level and with amazing candor. Slavery and the Law also includes the important State Slavery Statutes collection, a record of the laws governing American slavery, 1789-1865.
Subject Coverage: American History, Slavery, Legal History, African American History, Southern History
Part of History Vault: Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1775-1867
Database Producer: ProQuest