Extensive, full text collection of manuscript materials with a focus on the Holy Land, India, and China. keywords: primary sources
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
This extensive collection of manuscripts is comprised of materials related to travel writing. The core of this collection dates from the 13th to the 16th centuries and focuses on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India, and China.
Format: Full Text Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1200-1500
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Comprised of selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.
Western settlers created what we think of as the American West. Fortunately, many of these men and women recorded daily events and their thoughts with such picturesque zest that some accounts of westward journeys have elements of great literature within them.
Contains 71,133 images from the Lost Cause Press.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1800-1880 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
This resource offers a window into 19th and 20th century travel writing, as it documents travel to British, French, Chinese, and American destinations through the writing of women.
Themes within this collection include empire, tourism, war, politics, cultural history, nature, the environment, and spiritual enlightenment.
Format: Full Text, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 19th & 20th centuries
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Unique online collection of primary and secondary sources which documents the study of travel. The "Grand Tour" was a rite-of-passage for many aristocrats and is brought to life in this collection of diaries, photographs, and artwork depicting this travel phenomenon.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Sociology/Anthropology, English, Art History
Taking the phenomenon of the Grand Tour as a starting point, this resource explores the relationship between Britain and Europe from c.1550 to 1850, exploring the Anglo-European response to continental travel for pleasure, business and diplomacy.
The Grand Tour includes the travel writings and works of some of Britains greatest artists, writers and thinkers, revealing how interaction with European culture shaped their creative and intellectual sensibilities.
It also includes many writings by forgotten or anonymous travelers, including many women, whose daily experiences offer a vivid insight into the experience and practicalities of travel across the centuries.
Format: Full Text & Images
Dates of Coverage: 1550-1850
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
