Contains letters from the men and women of the Board of Foreign Missions of the Presbyterian Church in the United States.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Political Science
American Indian Correspondence contains letters from the men and women of the Board of Foreign Missions of the Presbyterian Church in the United States.
Their letters, intended to be reports from the field, are far more than dry discussions of mission business. Ranging in length from single fragments to reports of over twenty pages, they describe the Indian peoples and cultures, tribal factionalism, relations with the U.S. government, and the many problems and achievements of the work.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1833-1893 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Full text primary and secondary sources that describe interactions between American Indians and Europeans.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: American history
A wide range of primary and secondary source material is included in American Indian Histories and Cultures, which presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans.
This collection describes the earliest contact between Native Americans and Europeans, and continues covering their interactions through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, concluding with the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 16th century (1500's) to the end of the 20th century (1900's)
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Online archive which includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of the American Indian Movement as an organization of social protest.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of the American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest. In addition, there is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off.
Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide unparalleled insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
Includes 14,195 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Library.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1968-1979
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Full text primary source material describing life in the American West.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: American History
The American West is a full text, online collection of original manuscripts, maps and ephemera.
This collection details life on the frontier, Native Americans, vigilantes, outlaws, and the growth of urban centers as well as the environmental impact of expansion.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Early eighteenth century (early 1700's) to mid twentieth century (mid 1900's)
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, sixteenth century to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Sociology & Anthropology
This database is formerly known as Bibliography of Native North Americans.
The Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers. Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1500's to Present
Database Producer: EBSCO
Documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States. Keywords: christianity, religion
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Religion, History
This collection documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches.
This collection includes materials on missionary activities among Native Americans and African Americans, both slaves and freedmen. In addition, it highlights activities in far-flung regions and countries, such as Africa, Fiji and Sandwich Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, Japan, and Hawaii. Contains 23,869 images from the Lost Cause Press.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1800-1899 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Online archive of Native Peoples from Canada and America, spanning the 17th - 20th centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Sociology/Anthropology
This resource sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century.
These collections include diverse manuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, as well as materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1600's - 1900's
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories, 17th Century - present. Keywords: Native Americans
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Sociology & Anthropology, People
North American Indian thought and culture contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Biographies include works on Quanah Parker, Dennis Banks, Susan La Flesche Picotte, Cochise, Jim Thorpe, Crowfoot, Peter Pitchlynn, Sacajawea, Geronimo, Hosteen Klah, Black Elk, Pocahontas, George Washington Grayson, Standing Buffalo, and many more.
Format: Archival Resources
Update Schedule: Updated semiannually
Dates of Coverage: 17th Century - Present
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents and others. keywords: newspapers, primary sources
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U. S. History, Political Science
This collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals.
In addition, attachments include vouchers, receipts, requisitions, abstracts and financial statements, certificates of deposit, depositions, contracts, newspapers, copies of speeches to Indians, proceedings of conferences with Indians in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in the Indian country, appointments, and instructions to commissioners, superintendents, agents, and other officials.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
