It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at email@example.com or Reference Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Classical Studies Guide
This guide will help you navigate the maze of Classical Studies Resources here at the Denison Library and highlight quality resources on the Web.
Online version of the Loeb Classical Library, which features ancient Greek and Roman writings.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The Loeb Classical Library is a fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations.
This database includes epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, the great medical writers and mathematicians, and those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
This online interface was designed with tablets in mind and features browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share functions.
Format: Full Text Update Schedule: Semi-Annual Database Distributor: Harvard University Press
Enigma helps scholars to decipher Latin words which are difficult to read in medieval manuscripts. It is sometimes impossible to decipher all the letters in a word, for various reasons (difficult palaeography, unclear writing, damage to the document, etc.) If you type the letters you can read and add wildcards, Enigma will list the possible Latin forms, drawing from its database of more than 400 000 forms.
Nota bene: Enigma does NOT solve abbreviations.
Electronic version of J.P. Migne's Patrologiae Graecae. PG contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
DCC publishes scholarly commentaries on classical texts intended to provide an effective reading and learning experience for classicists at all levels of experience. DCC commentaries are peer-reviewed, citable scholarly resources, licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
The Homer Multitext seeks to present the textual transmission of the Homeric Iliad and Odyssey in a historical framework. Such a framework is needed to account for the full reality of a complex medium of oral performance that underwent many changes over a long period of time. These changes, as reflected in the many texts of Homer, need to be understood in their many different historical contexts. The Homer Multitext provides ways to view these contexts both synchronically and diachronically.
The Perseus Catalog was conceived in 2005 as a way to integrate two complementary kinds of resources, bibliographies of authors and editions produced by and for classicists and metadata about Greek and Latin authors in more general library systems. The goal was to create a catalog that would provide coverage of Greek, Latin, and ultimately other literatures in a way that was suitable to a digital age. This first release of the Perseus Catalog represents years of work but also represents a first step in a much larger process. It will take years to identify and catalog multiple versions of Greek and Latin works already in digital form and such an effort must involve many different parties. The Perseus Catalog is designed to evolve over time and to draw upon contributions from many sources.
The Tesserae project aims to provide a flexible and robust web interface for exploring intertextual parallels. In a basic search, selected works of Latin authors can be compared. Phrases from the texts which match in at least two of six relatively unfrequent words are grouped together for comparison, with links to their original context.
License and Attribution
Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of 9/29/2016). This LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Denison University Libraries. If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: email@example.com
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer