LibGuides: Ancient Greek and Roman Studies Guide: Where Do I Start?

Why Should I Start With These Resources?

Good question -- here are a few reasons:

Get an overview of a new or complex topic
Find authoritative information
Find out the names of key players in a given area
Locate terms that you can use in your research
Help narrow (or expand) your topic
Locate a bibliography of sources to help you start your research.

Online Resources

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. Includes some images.
The Homer Encyclopedia
This Encyclopedia represents the first comprehensive reference to assemble definitive scholarship on the world and artistry of Homer, the historical and cultural background of the Iliad and the Odyssey, Homeric scholarship, and Homeric reception from antiquity to the present into one collection.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD)
The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.
Oxford Reference: Classical Studies
A selection of Classical Studies related reference sources from Oxford University Press.

Brill's Companions to Classical Studies Online
Online version of Brill's "Companions in Classical Studies" collection.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Classics

This database includes 6 volumes of Brill's Companions to Classical Studies.

Brill's Companions to Classical Studies is an expanding series of handbooks on a wide variety of subjects and persons from Classical Antiquity, and their reception in European culture. The companions provide a graduate-level synthesis of debate and the state of scholarship on the subjects. Designed for students and scholars, the books explain what sources there are, what methodologies and approaches are appropriate in dealing with them, what issues arise and how they have been treated, and what room there is for disagreement. All volumes are in English.

Library Access Includes:
Brill’s Companions to Classical Studies Online I–V

Selected titles from Brill’s Companions to Classical Studies Online VI, including:
Brill’s Companion to Bodyguards in the Ancient Mediterranean
Brill’s Companion to Classical Reception and Modern World Poetry
Brill’s Companion to Episodes of ‘Heroic’ Rape/Abduction in Classical Antiquity and Their Reception
Brill’s Companion to Greek Land Warfare Beyond the Phalanx
Brill’s Companion to the Reception of Ancient Rhetoric
Brill’s Companion to the Reception of Homer from the Hellenistic Age to Late Antiquity
Note: Titles not listed above from Collection VI are not included in our current subscription.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Distributor: Brill
TLG: Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Full text database of literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Users must create an account to access the Full Corpus and content.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Classics, History, Religion, Greek literature

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a full text database of literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Users may search on author, title, publication or text string. Site structure in English; searching and retrieval in several Greek fonts (available via download), Beta code and Latin transliteration.

Please Note: users must create an individual account to access the Full Corpus and all content.

Format: Full Text
Database Producer: University of California, Irvine, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Project

Print Resources

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World by Richard J. A. Talbert (Editor)
Call Number: DEN Ref Atlas Case #2 G1033 .B3 2000

ISBN: 069103169X

Publication Date: 2000-10-08

In 99 full-color maps, the atlas recreates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World: Map by Map Directory by Richard J. A. Talbert (Editor)
Call Number: DEN Ref Atlas Case #2 G1033 .B3 2000 Suppl v.1 & Suppl v.2

ISBN: 0691049459

Publication Date: 2000-10-08

Map by map directory to Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World
Call Number: DF16 .S23 2005

Publication Date: 2005
Handbook for Classical Research by David M. Schaps
Call Number: DE71 .S27 2011

ISBN: 9780415425223

Publication Date: 2010-09-28
A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome by L. Richardson
Call Number: DEN Reference DG68 .R5 1992

ISBN: 0801843006

Publication Date: 1992-10-01
The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion
Call Number: BL715 .O845 2003

Publication Date: 2003

License and Attribution

Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of 9/29/2016). This LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Denison University Libraries. If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.