It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at email@example.com or Reference Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Classical Studies Guide
This guide will help you navigate the maze of Classical Studies Resources here at the Denison Library and highlight quality resources on the Web.
Primary and secondary sources covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Off campus access: free resource, open for everyone.
The Perseus Digital Library provides online collections covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
- Greek and Roman Materials
- Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser
- Arabic Materials
- Germanic Materials
- 19th-Century American
- Renaissance Materials
- Richmond Times Dispatch
- Humanist and Renaissance Italian Poetry in Latin
Format: Full Text and Images
Database Producer: Tufts University
The aim of the AMAR project is to digitize 500 archaeological site reports describing archaeological excavations both in Iraq and in the immediately surrounding areas (Turkey, Syria, Iran and the Gulf). This will include both out-of-copyright as well as in-copyright and in-print materials. This online collection is intended to provide basic sources of information to our colleagues in Iraq, and also other archaeologists working in the Middle East.
The electronic files are only to be distributed from the AMAR Web site. Individuals, libraries, institutions, and others may download one complimentary copy for their own personal use.
Functioning as an independent research facility, the project involves edition, translation, commentary and historical contextualisation of Galen’s works. The edition series of the CMG and CML, which, as reference editions in the field of ancient medicine, have set a new standard for critical editions of ancient technical literature, continue to exist and will be issued in digital form to meet the needs of a broad readership not necessarily trained in philology.
The present database attempts to collect the basic information on all ancient literary texts, as opposed to documents. At present, it includes 14507 items, dating from the fourth century B.C. to A.D. 800 and incorporating authors from Homer (8th cent. B.C.) to Romanus Melodus and Gregorius the Great (6th cent. A.D.), including 3671 texts of which the author can no longer be identified (to find an empty field, type "=" (without the quotes) in the field authorname).
The research programme addresses the fundamentals of the Roman imperial economy and analyses all major economic activities (including agriculture, trade, commerce, and extraction), utilising quantifiable bodies of archaeological and documentary evidence and placing them in the broader structural context of regional variation, distribution, size and nature of markets, supply and demand. The large amounts of data that are studied during the project, which mostly already have been published in some form or another, are stored and organized in a large database, which is currently being made accessible online to the wider scholarly community through this website.
License and Attribution
Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of 9/29/2016). This LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Denison University Libraries. If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: email@example.com
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer