It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org or Reference Desk at email@example.com.
Classical Studies Guide
This guide will help you navigate the maze of Classical Studies Resources here at the Denison Library and highlight quality resources on the Web.
Collection of digitized squeezes (accurate paper impressions) of Greek and Latin inscriptions from Greece, Italy, and Macedonia.
Off Campus Access: This database is freely available to anyone.
Subject Areas: Classics, History
Greek and Latin Inscriptions (digital squeezes) is a collection of digitized squeezes (accurate paper impressions) of Greek and Latin inscriptions from Greece, Italy, and Macedonia. The squeezes were contributed by the Center for Epigraphical and Palaeographical Studies at The Ohio State University, whose purpose is to foster the study of inscriptions and manuscripts and promote research opportunities for those interested in these primary sources of information for the ancient and mediaeval world. These squeezes are part of the Social Sciences Digital Media collections of the OhioLINK Digital Media Center.
Format: Digital Media
Database Producer: Center for Epigraphical and Palaeographical Studies at The Ohio State University.
Primary and secondary sources covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Off campus access: free resource, open for everyone.
The Perseus Digital Library provides online collections covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
- Greek and Roman Materials
- Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser
- Arabic Materials
- Germanic Materials
- 19th-Century American
- Renaissance Materials
- Richmond Times Dispatch
- Humanist and Renaissance Italian Poetry in Latin
Format: Full Text and Images
Database Producer: Tufts University
Arachne is the central Object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne. Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes. This combines an ongoing process of digitizing traditional documentation (stored on media which are both threatened by decay and largely unexplored) with the production of new digital object and graphic data. Create a free user account to access the database
A digitized collection of out of print fascicules from the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (CVA) series. The goal of the CVA project is to publish ceramic vessels surviving from Classical Antiquity. Each vase has a catalog entry, bibliography, and plates.
Fabulous source of images of archaeological sites. Look for images with a Creative Commons License. See Flickr's Creative Commons licensing information for a detailed explanation of what you can and can't do with Creative Commons licensed photos.
IMAGO was conceived in 2010 to commemorate the Roman Society's centenary. It is intended to be used by students, teachers, lecturers and everyone interested in the archaeology, history and material culture of ancient Rome. Photos are donated and available to use and share for educational and research purposes only, and downloadable images can be quickly saved or copied into presentation software such as PowerPoint.
The Manar al-Athar website, based at the University of Oxford, aims to provide high resolution, searchable images for teaching, research, and publication. These images of archaeological sites, with buildings and art, will cover the areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule, such as Syro-Palestine/the Levant, Arabia, Egypt, North Africa and Spain. The chronological range is from Alexander the Great (i.e., from about 300 BC) through, the Islamic period to the present. It is the first website of its kind providing such material labeled jointly in both Arabic and English. We will also be publishing related material, both online and on paper, in English and Arabic.
The OAID was established in June 2015 by Tim Clayden (Wolfson College, Oxford) with support from the Lorne Thyssen Research Fund for Ancient World Topics. Its initial aim was to preserve and make available to as wide an audience and user group as possible images of archaeological sites recorded on slide film. The concern being that as the slide films age and decay the quality of the images deteriorates. In many cases these images are a unique record of the sites at a particular time and once the slide is lost, so too is the image and the information it contains. More recent events in Iraq and Syria have urged a more pressing need to record and preserve the record of some archaeological sites. For that reason the project has expanded to include images in whatever format they are available.
Use of the images in research and academic publications is encouraged. The use of the images is governed by the UK law on Copyright and in particular the principle of Fair Dealing (sections 29 and 30 of the UK Copyright, Designs and patents Act 1988). In summary this allows use of images in research and private study, for criticism or review, teaching materials, personal use or for reporting on current events (see https://www.gov.uk/exceptions-to-copyright for more detailed guidance). All other use of the images should only be done after consultation with OAID and in some cases a charge may be made for use of the image.
In using an image from the OAID database acknowledgement should be made in the format – OAID (unique number), name of photographer, date of photograph.
Contains digitised images from the Institute's Photographic Collection and Library. The material for which the Warburg Institute holds the copyrights is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial 3.0 Unported License.
Site is dedicated to exploring the Forma Urbis Romae, or Severan Marble Plan of Rome.
A Picture is Worth 1,000 Words
Attic Black-Figure Amphora by Exekias.
Scene detailing Achilles and Ajax playing draughts.
ca. 540 - 530 B.C.E.
License and Attribution
Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of 9/29/2016). This LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Denison University Libraries. If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: firstname.lastname@example.org
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer