Skip to main content
Banner Image

 

While the library doors are temporarily closed to the public, our vast online resources remain available. You can email reference@denison.edu or chat with a librarian from 9 am to 12:30 pm, and 1:00 pm to 4:30 pm Monday-Friday or search our FAQ’s after hours. You can also email our Circulation Desk at circdesk@denison.edu or Reference Desk at reference@denison.edu to reach us.

For a quick way into our resources, see our guide Accessing Library Resources: Off Campus / Remotely: Remote Learning.

Accessing Library Resources: Off Campus / Remotely

This guide is intended to be a quick, helpful place to answer basic questions about Library Resources -- and how you can access them off campus.

Getting Help - How to Contact Me

I'm still available and happy to assist students, faculty, and staff remotely. The best way to contact me is through email: elliotta@denison.edu.  I will generally be available 9a-4p M-F EDT and I will do my best to respond to emails within 24 hours. I am happy to make research appointments with those who need them. These can be conducted through chat, video conferencing, or phone. Email me to set up a time.

Many of the library's resources are already available electronically and remotely. See the "Remote Learning," "Off Campus Access," and "How Do I Find: Books, Journals, Media" tabs on the left of this guide for help in limiting searches specifically to electronic resources, or explore the boxes below. If you need resource that isn't available electronically, please reach out and we'll do our best to help you. 

Limited Time Expanded Access

Many publishers are offering free expanded access to materials in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and the resultant increase in remote learning. However, you can only find these resources by looking in the native database or platform. The metadata for this expanded access is not included in catalogs or discovery layers like CONSORT or Summon. For example, ProjectMUSE has expanded access from a number of publishers, but you must go to the ProjectMUSE database to search in order to find them. For a full list of these resources, see the "Free Resources for this Semester" tab on the left of this guide for a full list. Select links useful to humanities are below.

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Library resources are available to all Denison Faculty, Staff, and Students -- so when we are off campus, we need to indicate that we are members of the Denison community to access these resources.

We do so by logging into these resources though the Library website

  • First, search for your desired resource, using the Library website as a starting point.
    • Quick access to online content: Summon
    • Quick access to online content: CONSORT
  • When you've found what you're looking for, click on the link for access.
  • You will be asked to log in to online resources, using your MyDenison (email) credentials.
  • When requesting books, you will be asked to log in with your name and D# (including the D) or the 14-digit barcode on the back of your ID.
    • Please note: OhioLINK has suspended lending during the pandemic and our Library has closed to the public.
    • Please choose online ebooks rather than print books if possible, during this time.
  • Questions?  Contact us through emailphone, and chat or text.

Finding Ebooks in Summon and Databases

Search Summon for Ebooks by entering your search term(s) in the box & clicking search.

 

Open Web Ebooks

Summon - Fulltext E-Resources Only

Find all full text electronic resources available through Summon regardless of format. This will include: books, book chapters, journal articles, newspaper articles, journals, and many, many more formats.

NOTE: some databases do not play nicely with Summon (MLA International Bibliography is one example; primary resource databases also fall into this category). So you may still need to visit individual databases to get the best results. See "All Subject / Class Guides" to find databases for a particular subject area. 

Easy Links to Humanities Subject Guides

For guides in other subjects, click the "All Subject / Class Guides" tab on the left of this page.

Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer