LibGuides: Off Campus/Remote Library Access: How Do I Find: Books, Journals, Media

Curated by our E-Resources & Scholarly Communication Librarian, Yuimi Hlasten, this section will explain how to access online books, journals, and media off campus.

Finding Ebooks

Watch this video to learn how to find ebooks using Summon.

Watch this video to learn how to find ebooks using Consort.

Watch this video to learn how to find ebooks using OhioLink.

Searching for Ebooks (Summon)

Use the search box below to find ebooks in Summon.

Online Journals

If you're doing research, you may need to track down some journal articles.

Using Summon to Search for Journals

One way to track down journal articles on your research topic is using Summon.

Let's walk through an example together:

Starting from the Library website, type your search into the Summon search box. Click the red magnifying glass to begin your search.
On the left-hand side of the Summon screen, you'll see a variety of limiters, like the filters you see on Amazon.
Since you want to look for journal articles that are available online, click on "Full Text Online" and "Journal Article" to narrow your search.
Click on a title that's of interest!

Pro-Tips:

If you know the title of a journal article you're looking for, you can type the title into a Summon search to track it down!
If you find a great article in your search, check out the rest of the journal webpage--you might find more great articles a few clicks away!
1. You can also do this with Summon! Search for a journal title, and then select "Search within [journal title]?"
Article citations are also a great place to find more articles. Check those resources at the end!

Streaming Media: Online Films

The Library has several streaming media platforms available, and here is just a taste of our favorites. Check out our full list, here.

Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries of the 20th century. Denison University has a subscription to Volume 1.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Area: Dance

Dance in Video is a searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips

Format: Digital Media
Dates of Coverage: 20th Century
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new window
A digital streaming video collection of unique films including current, leading British theatre productions and behind-the-scenes documentaries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Theatre, Dance, Drama, Performing Arts.

Digital Theatre Plus is a streaming video platform of current British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes commentaries. This platform is one way to immerse researchers in performance while also helping to ready performing arts students for employment.

This database is comprised of 4 main parts:

(1) Plays & Productions: with 361 "filmed and audio" productions. These recordings include performances from Shakespeare's Globe theatre, the Broadway Digital Archive, the Royal Opera House, and the BBC.

(2) Practice & Practitioners: 397 interviews and documentaries with cast members, directors, and backstage crews are found in Digital Theatre Plus.

(3) Theory & Criticism: Digital Theatre Plus includes 284 written resources (6,975 pages) written by both academics and practitioners. These materials explore theatre history, theory, and technique.

(4) Teaching with DT: These resources have been commissioned, created and curated by Creative Content Producer Fiona Lindsay and Editorial Director (Higher Education) Talia Rodgers to support the teaching of English, Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies, and Performing Arts subjects from secondary to higher education. We provide resources which bridge the gap between school and university. Many of the resources below can be used across all levels from the UK to the US and beyond.

Format: Streaming Media, Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Varies by production, from the 1960's through present
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Distributor: Digital Theatre Plus
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an online, streaming video service, which provides access to over 26,000 films each year. Kanopy includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: All

Kanopy is a streaming video service that works like Netflix for educational institutions. Every year, Kanopy offers access to over 26,000 films and documentaries for educational and classroom use. Films may be browsed by subject or searched by title.

Format: Streaming Media
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: Kanopy
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Contemporary performance films, recorded and edited collaboratively with artists.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Theater, Cinema, Dance

OnTheBoards.tv is a database of contemporary performance films that are curated and edited collaboratively, with the artists involved. Founded by artists in 1978, this group works to encourage and educate audiences and artistic innovators.

Format: Streaming Media, Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1978 to Present
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: OnTheBoards.tv
Shakespeare's Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance This link opens in a new window
Documenting over 300 productions from 1997-2016, this digital collection provides resources for the study of Shakespeare, theatre, cultural history and early-modern literature.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: English, Theater

This collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre.

Format: Full Text, image, videos
Dates of Coverage: 1997-2006
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Sixties: primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974: video This link opens in a new window
The video component of the database Sixties: primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: US History; Sociology and Anthropology.

The database includes 60 videos covering the topics of culture and politics during the 1960s. This database is a video component of its parent entry, Sixties: primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974.

Format: Streaming video
Coverage: 1960-1969
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
Online collection of films from the communist world revealing war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Cinema, Political Science

Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique collection of documentary films, features and newsreels reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe and more.

Providing a counterpoint to Western perceptions of communist states and their actions, the films illuminate how socialist countries saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events of the twentieth century. The footage was originally sourced from communist states, then versioned into English language for private distribution in Britain and the West.

This is the largest film collection of its kind to survive in Western Europe. The films have been conserved, digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm reels, and are fully transcribed and searchable.

This resource is made up of three modules:
Module I: Wars & Revolutions
Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines
Module III: Culture & Society

Format: Full Text, Streaming Media
Dates of Coverage: Early 20th century to the 1980s
Update Schedule:
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events

Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.

Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.

Format: Digital Media
Dates of Coverage: 1968-
Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.
Theatre in Video: Volume I This link opens in a new window
Performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Theatre

Theatre in Video contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions
Format: Digital Media
Update Schedule: Updated periodically by a new release
Dates of Coverage: 20th Century
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Early Learning This link opens in a new window
Database for preschoolers and children in the early elementary grades.
Off Campus Access: Use your Denison login.

Subjects: Early childhood education, teaching and learning materials.

Developed with experts on early childhood education and guided by evidence-based practices of reading instruction, Early Learning offers rich resources designed for easy integration into the classroom curriculum, public library programming, or learning at home.

Format: video, text, games
Dates of Coverage: present
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Distributor: World Books

Streaming Music & Spoken Word: Online Resources

The Library also offers several music platforms as well as educational tools with streaming audio components. Check out our full list, here.

America in World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts This link opens in a new window
This database shows how World War II changed American society and the economy, how it impacted individuals and their families, and the legacy of the war.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: US History, World War II

Alongside the archival collections and artifacts, the oral history video interviews conducted by The National WWII Museum provide opportunities to learn about the personal experiences of veterans in their own words.

Format: Full Text, image, videos
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics This link opens in a new window
Find the sound of your favorite bird, mammal, amphibian or insect in the BLB, one of the largest animal sound archives in the world.
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.

Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics, Digital Animal Sounds contains digitized recordings of animal sounds from the Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics at The Ohio State University. Currently, recordings of songbirds (primarily warblers, tanagers, and sparrows) are available. Additional recordings are in process.

The Borror Laboratory houses one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world. Founded by the late Dr. Donald Borror, Professor of Entomology and Zoology at The Ohio State University, the collection contains more than 30,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals.

Format: Digital Media
Database Producer: Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics, OSU.
Kent State Shootings Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. Keywords: Ohio, war, protest
Off Campus Access: This database is freely available to anyone.

Kent State Shootings Oral Histories is a collection of oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. The oral histories include many eyewitness accounts of the event and its aftermath, contributed by people who were students, faculty members, and City of Kent residents at the time, as well as an account by an Ohio National Guardsman. The oral histories preserve personal histories of and individual reactions to the shootings.

The oral histories are part of Kent State's May 4 Collection, created to assist students, faculty, staff, community members and other researchers in locating information sources related to the Kent State shootings and their aftermath.

Apple's free QuickTime player is required to listen to the audio files. Written transcripts are also available for many of the oral histories.

The Kent State oral histories are stored in the Historic & Archival Digital Media collections of the OhioLINK Digital Media Center.

Format: Digital Media, Archival Resources
Database Producer: Special Collections and Archives at Kent State University Libraries & Media Services.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of online classical music, offering almost 3,000,000 tracks. 5 concurrent users at a time.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Music

Maximum user limit: 5 concurrent users at a time.

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of online classical music, offering over 85,000 tracks. Music is available for listening at a library listening station or from any computer on campus with internet access.

The Naxos Music Library offers the complete catalogue of Naxos recordings, including the Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues, plus Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The equivalent to more than 4400 CDs of music is available in high quality streaming sound, on-demand, with accompanying background and composer notes written by experts in the field. Other content is available from third-party labels licensed by Naxos, including the recent addition of world music label Celestial Harmonies.

Format: Digital Media
Database Producer: Naxos Digital Services, LTD.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of online jazz music, offering over 280,000 tracks with over 32,000 artists represented. 5 concurrent users at a time.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Music

Maximum user limit: 5 concurrent users at a time.

Naxos Music Library Jazz is a comprehensive collection of online jazz music, offering over 20,000 tracks. Music is available for listening at a library listening station or from any computer on campus with internet access.

Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers close to 22,600* tracks of jazz from over 2,300* albums. Over 500* jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office. Naxos Music Library Jazz and all of its contents are owned by Naxos Digital Services Ltd., part of the Hong Kong-based Naxos Group of Companies.
(*As of August 2007)

Format: Digital Media
Database Producer: Naxos Digital Services, LTD.
Presidential Recordings: Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History

The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition currently consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.

Described as "a rich and engaging resource featuring annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes," this database of audiotapes includes specific coverage of the LBJ Administration, including tapes of discussions on the War on Poverty, 1964 (edited by Guian McKee); Civil Rights, 1964 (edited by Kent Germany); and Vietnam, 1964-65 (edited by Marc Selverstone and David Coleman).

The entire resource is fully searchable, accessible via a timeline view, and each transcript page includes the original audio. Parts of this resource are open access and available to all, while certain collections, particularly the LBJ Tapes are available to the Denison community through our subscription.

Format: Full text
Dates of Coverage: 1962-1973
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: University of Virginia Press.