Skip to main content
Banner Image

 

While the library doors are temporarily closed to the public, our vast online resources remain available. You can email reference@denison.edu or chat with a librarian from 9 am to 12:30 pm, and 1:00 pm to 4:30 pm Monday-Friday or search our FAQ’s after hours. You can also email our Circulation Desk at circdesk@denison.edu or Reference Desk at reference@denison.edu to reach us.

For a quick way into our resources, see our guide Accessing Library Resources: Off Campus / Remotely: Remote Learning.

Accessing Library Resources: Off Campus / Remotely

This guide is intended to be a quick, helpful place to answer basic questions about Library Resources -- and how you can access them off campus.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, many publishers have done away with paywalls ...

In addition to the resources we have listed here, many publishers are making their collections openly accessible during the COVID-19 pandemic.

While these resources will only be accessible on a temporary basis, they are open to all, per the publisher.

  • Free publisher resources to aid in Remote Learning: Paywalls Removed
    • Affordable Learning Resources from OhioLINK: This curated list includes Open Educational Resources (OER's) as well as traditional databases, ebooks, e-textbooks, and open access content, all openly available.  A link to the Open Textbook Library, one of these resources, is included below.
    • EDP Sciences has opened all content from 2018-2020 in response to the pandemic.  Their content will remain open to all through August, 2020.
    • The Internet Archive has opened a collection of ebooks called the National Emergency Library, offering a 1.4 M+ collection of books to support teaching and learning during this time.  Details may be found on their blog and a direct link to this database is included, below.
    • Microbiology Society Journals have removed all paywalls until further notice.
    • SIAM, the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics, has created an Epidemiology Collection that is freely available to all through 2020.
    • This list of publisher resources intended to support remote learning, is updated by academic librarians and links to several other lists covering newly open material.  Along similar lines, this growing list of free resources is continuously updated by a group of academic librarians throughout the US.
  • On COVID-19:

Along these same lines, there are several discussions supporting the use of the Fair Use Doctrine in Emergency Remote Teaching & Research that may be helpful to use and share during this time.

The following databases are open to all:

Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer