LibGuides: REL 215 Hinduism: REL: 215 Hinduism

Start Here

Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Knut A. Jacobsen (Editor-In-Chief); Helene Basu (Associate Editor); Angelika Malinar (Associate Editor); Vasudha Narayanan (Associate Editor)
Call Number: DEN Reference BL1105 .B75 2009 v.1-5
ISBN: 9789004176416
Publication Date: 2009-09-24

In the Stacks

Engaging South Asian religions : boundaries, appropriations, and resistances by edited by Matthew N. Schmalz and Peter Gottschalk
ISBN: 1438433239
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism by Jeffrey Long
ISBN: 9780810867642
Publication Date: 2011
Women and Religious Traditions by Leona M. Anderson (Editor); Pamela Dickey Young (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195432015
Publication Date: 2010-07-11

Relevant Subject Headings

Journals

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Atlases

General information is a good place to start your research because it can help you to narrow a too broad topic or broaden a too narrow one. Reading an encyclopedia article can give you insight into an area within the broader topic that will be suitable for your research and give you enough knowledge about that topic to begin researching it intelligently. Articles in these pieces are usually written by experts in the field and will include bibliographic references which will lead you to other books and journal articles on the same topic. Keep in mind, however, that this is not where most of the research for your paper should come from!

Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism. Volume One by Helene Basu (Editor); Angelika Malinar (Editor); Vasudha Narayanan (Editor); Knut A. Jacobsen (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: BL1105 .B75 2009
ISBN: 9789004176416
Publication Date: 2009-09-24
The five-volume Brill s Encyclopedia of Hinduism is a thematically organized encyclopedia, presenting the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions. Its essays are original work written by the world s foremost scholars on Hinduism. The encyclopedia aims at a balanced and even-handed view of Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of a religion that is both an ancient historical tradition and a flourishing tradition today. Following a pluralistic approach, the encyclopedia embraces the greatest possible diversity, plurality, and heterogeneity. It thus emphasizes that Hinduism encompasses a variety of regional religious traditions, as well as a global world religion.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldives by Francis Robinson (Editor)
Call Number: DS334.9 .C36 1989
ISBN: 0521334519
Publication Date: 1989-07-06
This book offers for the first time a comprehensive study of South Asia in one volume, analyzing not only the riches of the past but also the problems & achievements of the present, placing them where appropriate in their global context. The South Asian region, which comprises the present day states of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, & the Maldives, has long been significant in world affairs. The international team of contributors presents the world of South Asia in an accessible & enjoyable form, which will appeal to both specialists & general readers. The Encyclopedia is richly illustrated with many photographs, maps, & tables closely interwoven with the text.
A Concise Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Klaus K. Klostermaier
Call Number: BL1105 .K56 1998
ISBN: 1851681752
Publication Date: 1998-11-05
From the classical to the contemporary, this is a comprehensive, systematic and accessible encyclopedia of the phenomenon known as 'Hinduism'. Drawing on his extensive knowledge of the religion and its texts, Klostermaier presents the theoretical and practical aspects of Hinduism that render this most ancient of religions a living faith.
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend by Anna Dallapiccola
Call Number: BL1105 .D34 2002
ISBN: 0500510881
Publication Date: 2002-11-17
India is so vast that each of its regions is a land in its own right, with diverse languages, customs, and cultural traditions. Yet shared social systems, firmly grounded in religious beliefs, provide the cohesive force that unites over a billion people of different backgrounds. Hinduism is the main religion of India, and this new dictionary provides an unrivaled insight to all aspects of Hindu life, past and present. Some thousand illustrated entries elucidate the history of Hinduism, its mythology, art, architecture, religion, laws, and folklore. The development of Hinduism is presented from its ancient manifestations in local cults and epic poems to modern-day festivals and customs worldwide. The complex relationship between the multitude of gods, goddesses, and semi-divine beings is brought to light in the articles on religion and mythology, while its rich imagery is revealed in the entries on architecture, sculpture, painting, dance, and theater, including works of art illustrated here for the first time.
Encyclopedia of Asian History by Ainslie T. Embree (Editor)
Call Number: DS31 .E53 1987
ISBN: 0684186195
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This encyclopedia provides a record of the history, geography, politics, culture and peoples of Asia. The 3000 signed articles include 1200 biographies.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by Karen Christensen (Editor); David Levinson (Editor)
Call Number: DS4 .L48 2002
ISBN: 0684806177
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
800 contributors from around the world -- including 25 Asian countries -- provide 6, 000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. The Encyclopedias comparative, cross-cultural approach allows students and researchers to identify the similarities and differences among Asian nations and religions. The work focuses on Asia in the modern world -- including Central Asia, the Middle East and the Far East -- and contemporary issues are given full and authoritative treatment. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia and also the flow of people, goods and ideas within Asia and globally
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: BL31 .E46 2005
ISBN: 0028657330
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons.
Encyclopedic dictionary of Yoga
Call Number: B132.Y6 F46 1990
ISBN: 155778244X
Historical Atlas of South Asia by Joseph E. Schwartzberg (Editor)
Call Number: G2261.S1 H5 1978
ISBN: 0226742210
Publication Date: 1978-12-01
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism by Bruce M. Sullivan
Call Number: BL1105 .S85 1997
ISBN: 0810833271
Publication Date: 1997-07-23
Presents the Hindu religious tradition's major events, individuals, texts, sects, and concepts in the context of its historical development through various periods.
Mythologies by Wendy Doniger (Translator); Yves Bonnefoy (Editor)
Call Number: BL311 .D513 1991
ISBN: 0226064530
Publication Date: 1991-04-23
With 395 original articles written by leading scholars, it is a remarkable encounter with the mythologies of cultures past and present--the web of stories, traditions, rituals, practices, beliefs, divine figures, sacred objects, and great themes that define civilization. Drawing on a breathtaking array of sources, from the history of religions to anthropology, archaeology, literature, and linguistics, the contributors define a new approach to the understanding of myth in society. For this first English-language edition, the articles have been rearranged by region or culture.
The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions by John Bowker (Editor)
Call Number: BL31 .O84 1997
ISBN: 0192139657
Publication Date: 1997-05-08
The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions is an exceptionally wide-ranging A-Z reference guide to the history, beliefs, dogmas, practices, individuals, customs, and artefacts of the worlds religions past and present. As well as detailed information on individual religious traditions there are fascinating general entries on common topics such as prayer, ethics, asceticism, confession, cosmology, art and architecture, and music. With over 8,200 entries from eighty multi-faith international contributors this really is the definitive one-volume work on all the worlds religions.
Puranic Encyclopaedia by Vettam Mani
Call Number: BJ122 .M365
ISBN: 0842608222
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
South Asian Folklore by Peter Claus (Editor); Sarah Diamond (Editor); Margaret Mills (Editor)
Call Number: GR302 .S68 2003
ISBN: 0415939194
Publication Date: 2002-12-20
With 600 signed, alphabetically organized articles covering the entirety of folklore in South Asia, this new resource includes countries and regions, ethnic groups, religious concepts and practices, artistic genres, holidays and traditions, and many other concepts. A preface introduces the material, while a comprehensive index, cross-references, and black and white illustrations round out the work.
Women and Religion in India by Nancy A. Falk
Call Number: BL2015.W6 F35 1994
ISBN: 0932826369
Publication Date: 1994-01-01

Bibliographies

Once you have a well defined topic and a good basic sense of what your topic is "about" a bibliography will lead you to more books, and in some cases journal articles, on your topic. Most of the items below are shelved in Reference; some may be found in the circulating collection.

Oxford Hinduism Bibliography (online)

South Asian Civilizations by Maureen L. P. Patterson
Call Number: DS339 .P37 1981
ISBN: 0226649105
Publication Date: 1981-12-01
Patterson, the preeminent bibliographer in the area of South Asian studies, has here devised an indispensible reference tool. She has drawn together over 28,000 periodical and monographic references to humanistic, social-science, and nontechnical-science works. These include works that date from the earliest times to the present day and works in South Asian as well as Western languages. This information is organized in accord with indigenous South Asian concepts and categories within the threefold dimensions of time, space, and topic. These units and their interrelationships are first laid out in an outline of headings that constitutes, in the aggregate, a self-contained reference outline of Indic civilization. Each unit and its subdivisions are then presented as the headings for the bibliographic sections that form the main body of the book. This conceptual structure, in combination with the author and subject indexes, offers the reader several means of access to the entries themselves, making South Asian Civilizations a work that will be of great use to a wide audience.
Guide to Hindu Religion by David J. Dell
Call Number: BL1202 .D44
ISBN: 0816179034
Publication Date: 1981-06-01
South Asian Religions in the Americas
Call Number: BL1055 .F46 1995
ISBN: 0313278350
Publication Date: 1995-02-28
The first survey and assessment of nearly all published materials concerning South Asian religious traditions in the Americas, this bibliography brings the field together under a synoptic view and critically depicts South Asian religious traditions from the multi-optic perspective of 925 publications. The work sets the parameters of an emerging field of scholarly research, the study of transplanted religious traditions, and defines a sub-field of the research, the religions of South Asian immigrants in the western hemisphere. For years to come, this study will define the discipline, be the primary bibliographical resource, and provide the most comprehensive description of South Asian religious traditions in the Americas.
Women and Religion in India by Nancy A. Falk
Call Number: BL2015.W6 F35 1994
ISBN: 0932826369
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Guide to Indian Philosophy by Karl H. Potter
Call Number: B5131 .P68 1988
ISBN: 0816179042
Publication Date: 1988-07-01

Online Resources

Library of Congress Subject Headings

BL1100-1295 Hinduism

BL1100-1107.5 General

BL1108.2-1108.7 Religious education

BL1109.2-1109.7 Antiquities. Archaeology.

BL1111-1143.2 Sacred books. Sources

BL1112.2-1137.5 Vedic texts

BL1140.2-1140.4 Pur~as

BL1141.2-1142.6 Tantric texts

BL1145-1146 Hindu literature

BL1153.7-1168 By region or country

BL1212.32-1215 Doctrines. Theology

BL1216-1225 Hindu pantheon. Deities

BL1225.2-1243.58 Religious life

BL1243.72-1243.78 Monasteries. Temples, etc.

BL1271.2-1295 Modifications. Sects

BL1284.5-1289.592 Vaishnavism

Hinduism & Gender & Sexuality

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Queer Studies, Women's Studies

LGBTQ+ Source provides indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. LGBTQ+ Source Text covers LGBT-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. LGBT Life covers traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications plus data mined from additional periodicals. Other source-types are also represented, such as monographs and reference books, with dozens of full text monographs, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.

Disciplines covered by LGBTQ+ Source include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Documents are described using a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives and The Lesbian Herstory Archives. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia, 1972- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies

Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Black Studies, International Studies

Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Over 2000 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Women's Studies International supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.