Historical Archive of the Daily Mail newspaper, London, covering 1896 to 2016. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
The Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 presents a digital collection of every issue of the Daily Mail from cover to cover, including news; editorials; letters to the editor; movie and theatre reviews; birth, death and marriage notices; historical photographs; comic strips; classified advertising; and Special Issues. Also included is the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the cruise ships that sailed between New York and Southampton between 1923 and 1931.
All articles included in the Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 are displayed as digital page images and all allow full-text searching and hit term highlighting. These digitized pages, also known as facsimile images, let you view the pages as they originally appeared in print.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1896 to 2016
Database Producer: Gale
Online archive of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Economics, History, Mass Media
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. It includes Special Supplements and the FT Magazine.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1888 to 2021
Database Producer: Gale
Online newspaper archive covering news, politics, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day from 1791-2003. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Mass Media, Communication
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003), give full text, online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
From Napoleons defeat at Waterloo - to the Russian Revolution - to Nelson Mandelas release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1791-2003
Database Producer: ProQuest
Online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication in 1842 to its last in 2003.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1842-2003 Database Producer: Gale
Archive of the Japan Times newspaper, an english language newspaper reporting on Japanese news, culture, and society.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: International Studies, History, Political Science
The Japan Times has been published in 1897, when it was established as a newspaper giving the Japanese people an opportunity to discuss news and current events in English.
This online archive of the newspaper covers events from the Meiji era, through World War II, and to 2017.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1897-2017
Update Schedule: Archive
Database Distributor: East View
The Rand Daily Mail, published daily in Johannesburg, is a critically important title that pioneered popular journalism in South Africa. It is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1902-1985
Update Schedule: Complete Archive
Database Distributor: Readex
International, national, regional, and local news.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
This database includes a database formerly known as America's News, which is a subset of this database.
In today’s interconnected world, events and issues that impact local communities can also be nationally and globally relevant. Similarly, occurrences in other countries often have an impact close to home.
With access to more than 13,800 sources from over 200 countries and territories, researchers can easily discover multiple perspectives, track issues over time and identify the impact at the local, national, or global levels. The ability to explore multiple perspectives is also an essential element in the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.
Access World News Research Collection delivers valuable information for academic research and coursework across the curriculum including history, political science, economics, health sciences, religion, journalism, women’s studies, DEI and more.
Because the topics covered by news media are so diverse, this relevant primary source content supports researchers seeking information on current and historical issues, events, and people.
Includes current and archived news content (with backfiles beginning in the 1980s) from more than 13,800 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories across the following regions:
North America
United Kingdom, Ireland, and Europe
Australia and New Zealand
Asia and Middle East
Africa
Central America
South America
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage:
Update Schedule:
Database Distributor: Readex
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history.
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1746-1950
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Online archive of 140 newspapers from 22 islands in the Caribbean, covering the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 is an online archive that covers colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, and New World slavery.
This collection is a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society in this area.
Format: Full Text Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1718-1876
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1832 to 1953
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: ProQuest
Reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts, newspapers, and other publications, 1956-1996.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies
FBIS Daily Reports offers fully searchable reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications.
This database includes to following three collections:
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1941-1974
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1974-1996
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Annexes: 1974-1996
Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1941 to 1996
Database Producer: Readex
A collection of publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1845 - 2015
Database Distributor: Proquest
Includes hundreds of international newspapers and news wires; searchable by country or continent. Note: BBC Monitoring includes international news translated into English.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Full text newswires from all over the world covering business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events.
Off Campus Access: See entry below.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Economics
Regional Business News Plus includes full text coverage from several hundred U.S. and International newspapers as well as regional business publications, providing more than 60 million full text articles. In addition, the database features more than 860,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Format: full text
Dates of Coverage:1900-
Update Schedule:
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
