Includes the Cleveland Plain Dealer (1845-1991) and many other Ohio newspapers. (Note: Most of these papers are from the 1800's.)
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
This online archive includes:
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-12
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Format: Full Text, Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1690-1998
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Online access to the Columbus Dispatch, stretching from 1871 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Narrative Journalism
The Columbus Dispatch has been one of the largest publications in Ohio, covering news from the state capital. This resource provides access to all issues of this newspaper, from 1871 to the present.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1871 to Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Distributor: Newsbank / Readex
Index of news articles covering people, places, and events in Franklin County, Ohio.
Off Campus Access: This web site is freely available to anyone.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media
The Columbus News Index is an index of news articles covering people, places, and events in Franklin County and its surrounding counties. The index includes abstracts only of selected articles from 1960-1997. It also includes obituaries from 1932-1997.
Format: Index to Newspaper Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1960-1997.
Database Producer: Columbus Metropolitan Library
Includes Akron Beacon Journal (since 1997), Ashtabula Star Beacon (since 2007), Dayton Daily News (since 2000), Hamilton Journal-News (since 2002), Lima News (since 2002), Middletown Journal (2002-13), Toledo Blade (since 2002), Willoughby News-Herald (since 2001), and Youngstown Vindicator (since 2001).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
