The entire archive collection (including more than 550,000 video stories dating from 1895 to the present day) from the world's largest and oldest news agency is available on YouTube.
Selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
2. Click "Create Account" and complete the fields. Make sure to use your @denison.edu email.
3. Check your email for a confirmation message to verify your account.
4. Once you've set up your account, you can access the New York Times from anywhere, both on and off-campus.
RETURNING USERS
Once your account has been setup, you can login from any device from your computer, or your phone.
Students: Student subscriptions are valid until December 31st of your graduation year.
Faculty and staff: Your account will expire after 4 years of access and the Times will offer to add this expiration date to your calendar when you create your account. After the expiration date has passed, please see the RENEWALS instructions below.
RENEWALS For faculty and staff (every 4 years)
Go to the link and click Already have an account? Log in here. Fill out your @denison.edu email and password. You will receive an email from NYT and you will need to confirm it. Verify your email link and login again.
FAQ
What's included with your Denison NYT Subscription?
- The Athletic, Cooking, Wirecutter, Games
Format: Full Text, Video, Online Content
Dates of Coverage: 1851 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Distributor: New York Times Company
Full text access to hundreds of U.S. newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
Full text sources covering business, political, and economic news events.
Off Campus Access: See entry below.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Economics
Regional Business News Plus includes full text coverage from several hundred U.S. and International newspapers as well as regional business publications, providing more than 60 million full text articles. In addition, the database features more than 860,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Format: full text
Dates of Coverage:1900-
Update Schedule:
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and the Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times and the Chicago Tribune.
These titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective.
The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1985 - Present Update Schedule: Daily Database Distributor: ProQuest
Online access to the Pulitzer Prize winning Wall Street Journal newspaper. Please note, the online edition is free to members of the Denison community; click on the "more" link below for access instructions.
FIRST TIME USERS
Welcome to Denison's Wall Street Journal subscription! Here's how to get started:
1. Click on this link: https://wsj.com/Denison 2. Follow the prompts. 3. Use your Denison email address to sign in. 4. Enjoy full access until your graduation date.
RETURNING USERS
Already signed up? Log in at this link or use the WSJ app.
RENEWALS
For Denison faculty and staff, you may need to refresh your membership annually, 365 days from your activation or last refresh date. Simply log in, which refreshs access.
Questions? Contact us at eresources@denison.edu.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 4 years ago to present Database Producer: Wall Street Journal / Dow Jones Interlibrary Loan: Not Allowed
The Atlanta Constitution gives a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history -- post-Civil War reconstruction.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies, Mass Media, Communication
The Atlanta Constitution gives todays researchers a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction.
This is an ideal primary resource for studying the feelings and reactions of Southerners on the passage of the 14th Amendment, the purging of Rebels from the legislature, the givingthen denyingof the right to vote to former slaves, and the passing of economic policies that changed the South and the United States forever.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1868-1984
Database Producer: ProQuest
This historical newspaper provides online coverage from 1893 to 1988.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Black Studies
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1893 to 1988
Database Producer: ProQuest
Contains dramatic stories as well as accounts of everyday life in historical New England.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Mass Media, Communication
The Boston Globe (1872-1990) provides a window through which to study firsthand this fascinating time and place in American history.
- The devastating 1872 Boston fire.
- The suspenseful 1893 Lizzie Borden ax murder trial.
- The catastrophic 1919 police strike.
- Mid-20th-century decline and renewal.
In the late 1800s and early 1900s, Boston, already one of Americas largest cities, was struggling to absorb the immigrants that continued to pour onto its shores. It was a time of rapid industrialization, technological innovation, and urban development. It also was an era that saw a dramatic rise in the cost of living, the deterioration of labor relations, and an increase in poverty and crime. By the mid-20th century, Boston had entered a period of decline, which was followed by controversial urban renewal projects and an economic boom in the 1970s.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1872-1990
Update Schedule: Completed Archive.
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this leading African-American newspaper.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies, Mass Media, Communication
The Chicago Defender ( 1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this leading African-American newspaper.
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Issues of the Chicago Defender from 1999 to the present can also be found at the Ethnic NewsWatch database.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage:1909-1975
Update Schedule: Complete Archive
Database Producer: ProQuest
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1849 - 10 years ago
Database Distributor: Proquest
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage:1841 - 2009
Database Distributor: Proquest
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies, Communication, History, Political Science
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
It includes the following three title variants of the newspaper:
- 1934 to 1962: "Cleveland Call and Post"
- 1962 to 1982: "Call and Post"
- 1982 to 1991: "Call & Post"
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1934-1991
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: ProQuest
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1831-1999
Database Producer: ProQuest
This historical newspaper provides online coverage from 1905 to 1990.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1905 to 1990
Database Producer: ProQuest
The Mirror Historical Archive extends the ‘mass market’ content available in Gale Historical Newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Politics
The Mirror Historical Archive extends the ‘mass market’ content available in Gale Historical Newspapers. The Daily Mirror (working-class) and the Daily Mail (middle class) challenged the broadsheet dominance of newspapers such as The Times and The Telegraph, providing both an alternative view and journalistic style which went on to dominate the British newspaper market in the second half of the twentieth century.
Format: Full Text
Database Producer: Gale
Coverage: 1903-2000
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Sociology
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Sourced from the collection of Tennessee State Library and Archives. Reproduced with permission.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1812-2002
Database Producer: ProQuest
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage:1860 - 2001
Database Distributor: Proquest
Full page and article images with searchable full text for this African-American newspaper.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies, Communication, Mass Media
ProQuest's Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) offers full page and article images with searchable full text for this African-American newspaper. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1911-2002
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Presents issues from a Northwestern perspective, including westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Mass Media, Communication
Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, the San Francisco Chronicle lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, Americas entry into World War I, and many other events that shaped both the City by the Bay and the United States.
During its first five decades, the San Francisco Chronicle presented issues from a young, Northwestern perspective, giving researchers a window through which to study westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
Mark Twain, Bret Harte, Jack London, and Rex Beach are among the writers who contributed to the San Francisco Chronicles pagessome without benefit of a bylineduring the early years. To trace San Franciscos history from a muddy frontier town full of pistol-packing pioneers and corrupt politicians, through its entry into the Roaring 20s, start here.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1865-1922
Database Producer: ProQuest
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1874 - 2003
Database Distributor: Proquest
Archival access to this historic newspaper, with full coverage from 1889-12 years ago
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1889-12 years ago (moving wall)
Database Producer: ProQuest
Chronicles over a century (1827-1998) of the African American experience through 270+ U.S. newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Black studies
This invaluable collection provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. African American Newspapers, Series 1 (1827-1998) and Series 2 (1835-1956), feature titles from more than 35 statesincluding many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Published by or for African Americans, these newspapers cover life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment and much more.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998 Database Producer: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Full text access to over 1,000 newspapers published between 1690 and 1998.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
This online archive includes:
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-12
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Format: Full Text, Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1690-1998
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Images from more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, General
American Periodicals, 1740-1940, contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text.
Denison patrons have access to the following collections within this resource:
- American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
- American Periodicals Series
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1740-1940
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Producer: Proquest
Online archive of 140 newspapers from 22 islands in the Caribbean, covering the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 is an online archive that covers colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, and New World slavery.
This collection is a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society in this area.
Format: Full Text Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1718-1876
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Search newspapers from 1880-1910 & find information about American newspapers published 1690-present.
Off Campus Access: This resource is open access, freely available to anyone, and does not require authentication.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Mass Media, Communication
Chronicling America allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
It includes papers from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia include Paris, Kentuckys The Bourbon news, Washington, D.C.s The Colored American, and DeLands own Florida Agriculturist.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Producer: The Library of Congress
Collection of issues and papers ranging from 1861-1865, attempting to record the "real and true history of public opinion during the war."
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865.
These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1861-1865 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Features more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971, features more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states including many rare 19th-century titles.
This online collection provides coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
Format: Full Text Newspapers Dates of Coverage: 1799-1971 Database Producer: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Online archive covering hundreds of newspapers published in the U.S. by Hispanics.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many titles published in the 19th century.
Format: Full Text Newspapers Dates of Coverage: 1808-1980 Database Producer: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines contains full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865. Many of the publications are rare and hard to find, and include source materials from museum, library, and private collections, including the American Antiquarian Society. The database can be searched by date or topic, or one can browse each individual publication. The database also contains a sample selection of Union and Confederate letters from the larger database, American Civil War: Letters & Diaries. Document types include advertisement, article series, biographical sketch/obituary, cartoon, editorial, fiction, government announcement, humor / satirical commentary, illustration, map, news story/item, panoramic view, poetry, portrait, publisher's notice, and travel narrative
Format: Full Text Journal Articles, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1860-1865
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Full text access to alternative press collections of feminist groups, minority press, underground newspapers, etc., focusing on the 1960's - 1980's.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1960-1989
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: JSTOR
A collection of publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1845 - 2015
Database Distributor: Proquest
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, 1800-1900.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Advanced searching capabilities will enable researchers to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1900
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
