It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Diversity and Inclusion Resources: Race & Ethnicity
Resources for faculty, staff, students, and the community
EDUCAUSE: Diversity, Equity, and InclusionOur institutions are best served by a community that more closely reflects the demographic diversity of current and future generations of technology professionals. We bring a sense of urgency, commitment, and optimism to this essential undertaking.
The Hechinger Report: Race and EquityIn our ongoing coverage of education, The Hechinger Report explores how white students are given advantages every step of the way, how racism is woven into the system — from the way schools are funded to the material students are taught — and what’s being done to make change. The Hechinger Report covers inequality and innovation in education with in-depth journalism that uses research, data and stories from classrooms and campuses to show the public how education can be improved and why it matters.
Race: Are We So Different?Looking through the eyes of history, science and lived experience, the RACE Project explains differences among people and reveals the reality -- and unreality -- of race.
USC's Center for Urban Education: Equity ScorecardThe Equity Scorecard™ is both a process and a data tool. As a process, it combines a theoretical framework with practical strategies to initiate institutional change that will lead to equitable outcomes for students of color. What’s unique about it is the engagement of individuals from different departments and divisions in an evidence team which investigates campus data, practices and policies. Near the conclusion of the process, the team will complete a Scorecard which captures the results of its investigations.
Can a diverse group of college kids find common ground with their school’s faculty and janitorial staff to bring the school administration to its knees? Can they banish a nation’s crippling student debt, guarantee workers benefits and living wages, and implement free college for all?
In this galvanizing examination of the fight for free higher education, acclaimed documentarian Rehad Desai takes his own alma mater as a case study in a growing intersectional global movement.
At South Africa’s elite, ivy-covered Wits University, students chanting “Fees Must Fall” held a rally against steep tuition hikes. The cry became a viral social media hashtag. One protest fueled another. The administration called in more than a thousand armed police. Soon, a leading institution of nearly 40,000 students was shut down. Neighboring university students struggling with their own mounting debt joined the cause, which become a national movement… one marked by escalating conflict, violence and death.
Featuring heart-pounding front-lines footage from the midst of the movement’s essential protests, Everything Must Fall also includes one-on-one interviews with involved faculty members; administrators—including chancellor Adam Habib, himself a former Wits student activist; and the group’s charismatic founding student leaders—Mcebo Dlamini, Shaeera Khalla, Nompendulo Mkhatshaw and Vuyani Pambo—who faced severe consequences for their activism.
Even after their fight has led to three deaths, 800 arrests and counting, the students are determined to achieve transformational, intergenerational justice and a “decolonized”, free higher education - a message increasingly popular in countries worldwide.
White Like Me, based on the work of acclaimed anti-racist educator and author Tim Wise, explores race and racism in the US through the lens of whiteness and white privilege. In a stunning reassessment of the American ideal of meritocracy and claims that we've entered a post-racial society, Wise offers a fascinating look back at the race-based white entitlement programs that built the American middle class, and argues that our failure as a society to come to terms with this legacy of white privilege continues to perpetuate racial inequality and race-driven political resentments today.
Widely considered the top source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login; or Sign up with your Denison email (see Domain Access below)
Subject Areas: General, Education
Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
If you want to read this resource off campus, you can sign up for an account and log in as a personal user. Follow the steps below.
Go to Chronicle.com and click on the “Sign In” link at top, right-hand side of the page.
Select the “Sign Up” tab to create a free account using your Denison.edu email address. You also have the option to sign up for The Chronicle’s free email newsletters during the registration process.
Activate your account by confirming your email address in the “The Chronicle: Confirm your email address” email
Format: Full Text Articles
Update Schedule: Biweekly
Database Producer: Chronicle of Higher Education
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Education, Library Science
ERIC indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1966- Update Schedule: Monthly. Database Producer: Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC), a program of the U.S. Department of Education / EBSCOHost
Full text journal articles, indexing & informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies
Sociological Index (SocINDEX) provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.
SocINDEX covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: firstname.lastname@example.org
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer