Learning and Development Resources: Women & Gender

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies

GenderWatch is an index to publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1970-
Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies

Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Black Studies, International Studies

Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Over 2000 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Women's Studies International supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Queer Studies, Women's Studies

LGBTQ+ Source provides indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. LGBTQ+ Source Text covers LGBT-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. LGBT Life covers traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications plus data mined from additional periodicals. Other source-types are also represented, such as monographs and reference books, with dozens of full text monographs, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.

Disciplines covered by LGBTQ+ Source include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Documents are described using a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives and The Lesbian Herstory Archives. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Collections Included:
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
- International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
- Community and Identity in North America

Subjects: Queer Studies, Sociology/Anthropology

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.

- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It ensures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved.

- Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 illuminates the experiences of the LGBTQ community by examining the perspectives of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations. Records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured in this archive as well as publications for and by this community.

Materials include:
- grassroots publications
- newsletters
- publications for and by the LGBTQ community
- extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis
- newspapers from 35+ countries
- materials related to gay rights and health, including reports, policy statements and governmental documents.

Format: Archival materials, digitized newspapers and correspondence
Dates of Coverage: 1940 to present
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Women's Studies, History, Sociology/Anthropology

Defining Gender, 1450-1910 provides a gendered perspective to history, using primary materials sourced from British archives.

Documents within this collection include pamphlets, diaries, periodicals, letters, manuscript journals, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, literary manuscripts, and pieces of travel writing.

Many unique items are included as well, such as college records and exam papers, commonplace books, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy documents, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion, receipt books, and conduct and advice literature.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1450-1910
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Sexology, Gender Studies

This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage:
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)