LibGuides: Diversity and Inclusion Resources: LGBTQ / Queer

Terminology & Acronyms

You may see various and differing terms and acronyms when looking at these, and other, resources. Sometimes it will be LGBT, others GLBT. Sometimes the acronym grows even longer to LGBTQ or LGBTAQ. It can even extend to LGBTQQIAA... All are attempts to create umbrella terms that are inclusive yet concise to refer to people of non-normative, or queer, gender and/or sexuality. Generally the letters in the acronym stand for:

L - Lesbian
G - Gay
B - Bisexual
T - Transgender
Q - Queer and/or Questioning
A - Asexual and/or Ally
I - Intersex

For an extensive glossary of terminology, see: http://itspronouncedmetrosexual.com/2013/01/a-comprehensive-list-of-lgbtq-term-definitions/#sthash.MjtUEdPp.dpbs

The ABC's of LGBT+ by Ash Hardell
Call Number: DEN Main HQ73 .M37 2016
ISBN: 9781633534094
Publication Date: 2016-11-08

The ABC's of LGBT+ Video Playlist
A collection of Ash Hardell's (née Ashley Mardell) YouTube videos on terminology.

Databases & Articles

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Online archive examining the LGBTQ community through the lens of political and social organizations.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Collections Included:
- International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II

Subjects: Queer Studies, Sociology/Anthropology

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.

- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It ensures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved.

- Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 illuminates the experiences of the LGBTQ community by examining the perspectives of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations. Records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured in this archive as well as publications for and by this community.

Materials include:
- grassroots publications
- newsletters
- publications for and by the LGBTQ community
- extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis
- newspapers from 35+ countries
- materials related to gay rights and health, including reports, policy statements and governmental documents.

Format: Archival materials, digitized newspapers and correspondence
Dates of Coverage: 1940 to present
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia, 1972- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies

Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, 1970- . keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies

GenderWatch is an index to publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1970-
Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Queer Studies, Women's Studies

LGBTQ+ Source provides indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. LGBTQ+ Source Text covers LGBT-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. LGBT Life covers traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications plus data mined from additional periodicals. Other source-types are also represented, such as monographs and reference books, with dozens of full text monographs, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.

Disciplines covered by LGBTQ+ Source include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Documents are described using a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives and The Lesbian Herstory Archives. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Sex and Sexuality This link opens in a new window
Sourced solely from the renowned Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections, Sex & Sexuality provides access to collections from prominent sex researchers and sexologists.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Sexology, Gender Studies

This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage:
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)

Books & eBooks

School's Out by Catherine Connell
Call Number: DEN Main LC192.6 .C68 2015
ISBN: 9780520278233
Publication Date: 2014-11-14
Sexuality in School by Jen Gilbert
ISBN: 9780816686377
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
LGBTQ Youth and Education by Cris Mayo
Call Number: DEN Main LC192.6 .M39 2014
ISBN: 9780807754887
Publication Date: 2013-11-29
Tilting the Tower by Linda Garber (Editor)
ISBN: 0415908418
Publication Date: 1994-04-06

Movies & Video

Kanopy LGBT Collection
Kanopy is an online, streaming video service, which provides access to over 26,000 films each year. Kanopy includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
LGBT Studies in Video - Alexander Street Press
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. LGBT Studies in Video provides students and researchers across disciplines a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. It also provides key resources of interest to students and researchers in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.

Websites

GLSEN
GLSEN (pronounced "glisten") was founded in 1990 by a small, but dedicated group of teachers in Massachusetts who came together to improve an education system that too frequently allows its lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) students to be bullied, discriminated against, or fall through the cracks.
It’s Pronounced Metrosexual
It’s Pronounced Metrosexual is a site where advocates of social justice can find helpful articles, fun graphics, and other resources designed to be shared in an effort to advance social equity.
LGBT Data
Compiled by a professor at Drexel University, this is an open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation and gender identity data and measures.
LGBT Rights from ACLU
The LGBT Project works for an America free of discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity.
The Safe Zone Project
The Safe Zone Project is a free online resource for creating powerful, effective LGBTQ awareness and ally training workshops
Stonewall Forever Digital Monument
A living monument to 50 years of pride
TSER - Trans Student Educational Resources
Trans Student Educational Resources is a youth-led organization dedicated to transforming the educational environment for trans and gender nonconforming students through advocacy and empowerment.

Local Resources

Black Queer & Intersectional Collective
BQIC is a grassroots community organization in Central Ohio that works towards the liberation of Black LGBTQIA+ people from all walks of life through direct action, community organizing, education on our issues, and creating spaces to uplift our voices.
Denison Office of Gender and Sexuality
We support student development by creating gender and sexuality initiatives that contribute to a healthy campus climate.
Denison Queer Studies Program
Denison's Queer Studies program page.
more...less...
The discipline of Queer Studies encompasses theories and thinkers from numerous fields: cultural studies, gay and lesbian studies, race studies, women's studies, media, postmodernism, post-colonialism, psychoanalysis and more.
Denison Safe Zone Training
Information on Safe Zone Training from the Office of Gender and Sexuality
Expanding Archive
The Expanding Archive: Denison LGBTQ Past / Present / Future is an online site for archives of climate and institutional documentation, historical interviews, student work, and faculty research related to Queer Studies. The act of storing information and creating an archive creates a sense of community for the Queer Studies faculty and students, as well as providing knowledge available for the larger community.
Stonewall Columbus
Columbus organization for LGBTQ

Diversity and Inclusion Resources: LGBTQ / Queer

The Gender Unicorn and Identity

Safe Zone Training Follow Ups