LibGuides: Diversity and Inclusion Resources: STEM

About

STEM is an acronym that refers to the academic disciplines of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The term is typically used when addressing education policy and curriculum choices in schools to improve competitiveness in science and technology development.

Text from Wikipedia

Websites

Institute for STEM and Diversity Initiatives
The Institute for STEM and Diversity Initiatives (formerly STEM Central Station) of Boise State University aims to build a diverse community of students, faculty, and others involved and invested in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.
The scientific community: Diversity makes the difference
Part of UC Berkeley's Understanding Science 101, talking about the importance of diversity in the scientific community.
Diversity - College of Science, Purdue University
The portal of diversity programs of College of Science, Purdue University. It contains the links to a variety of diversity programs of the college, as well as links to different departments' diversity pages.
Diversity in STEM
A blog article from Scientific American talking about diversity in STEM. What it is and why it matters.

Books & eBooks

Removing Barriers by Jill M. Bystydzienski (Editor); Sharon R. Bird (Editor)
ISBN: 9780253218179
Publication Date: 2006-03-20
Multicultural Science Education by Mary M. Atwater (Editor); Malcolm Butler (Editor); Melody Russell (Editor)
ISBN: 9400776519
Publication Date: 2013-11-19
Advancing Diversity in the US Industrial Science and Engineering Workforce by Rita S. Guenther (Editor); Catherine J. Didion (Editor); National Academy of Engineering
ISBN: 9780309265058
Publication Date: 2014-08-14
Science Education for Diversity by Nasser Mansour (Editor); Rupert Wegerif (Editor)
ISBN: 9789400745629
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Diversity in Engineering by National Academy of Engineering Staff; Diversity in the Engineering Workforce Committee
ISBN: 0309084296
Publication Date: 2002-07-19

Databases & Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Most popular full text online database at Denison. Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

JSTOR is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, beginning in 1966.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Education, Library Science

ERIC indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1966-
Update Schedule: Monthly.
Database Producer: Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC), a program of the U.S. Department of Education / EBSCOHost
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences. Open padlock icon indicates full text access.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Science, General

This multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources published by John Wiley covers life, health and physical sciences. This collection indicates full text access by an open padlock icon.

Wiley Online Library includes scientific, technical, medical and professional journals as well as books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. In addition, all Blackwell Synergy electronic journals and backfiles have been merged into the Wiley InterScience collection.

Format: Ebooks and E-journals
Database Producer: Wiley