LibGuides: Queer Studies Guide: Reference Works

General Online Reference Works

Credo Reference
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press

Queer Studies Specific Encyclopedias

GLBTQ Encyclopedia
The world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Abbie E. Goldberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483371306

Publication Date: 2016-06-02

This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.
Completely Queer by Steve Hogan
Call Number: Reference HQ75 .H63 1998

ISBN: 0805036296

Publication Date: 1998-02-01

"Completely Queer is a concise and balanced guide to the history, people, places, and ideas important to lesbian and gay communities worldwide. Linking a detailed chronology of homosexual life and achievement to nearly six hundred articles - ranging from "ACT UP" to "Lesbian Continuum," from "Military" to "Wilde" - it explores in depth more facets of today's gay and lesbian subcultures than any other one-volume reference work.
Enclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by Marc Stein
ISBN: 0684314274

Publication Date: 2004-02-01

A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures by George Haggerty (Editor); Bonnie Zimmerman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203487884

Publication Date: 2003-09-02
Encyclopedia of Lesbian Histories and Cultures by Bonnie Zimmerman (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HQ75.5 .L4395 2000

ISBN: 0815319207

Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture by David A. Gerstner (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HQ76.96 .R68 2006

ISBN: 9780415306515

Publication Date: 2006-04-12

The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer (GLBTQ) life and culture post-1945, with a strong international approach to the subject. The scope of the work is extremely comprehensive, with entries falling into the broad categories of Dance, Education, Film, Health, Homophobia, the Internet, Literature, Music, Performance, and Politics. Slang is also covered.