Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia, 1972- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies
Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1972- Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Queer Studies, Women's Studies
LGBTQ+ Source provides indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. LGBTQ+ Source Text covers LGBT-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. LGBT Life covers traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications plus data mined from additional periodicals. Other source-types are also represented, such as monographs and reference books, with dozens of full text monographs, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.
Disciplines covered by LGBTQ+ Source include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Documents are described using a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Database Producer: ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives and The Lesbian Herstory Archives. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, 1970- . keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies
GenderWatch is an index to publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1970- Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Black Studies, International Studies
Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Over 2000 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Women's Studies International supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Most popular full text online database at Denison. Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
JSTOR is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Online archive examining the LGBTQ community through the lens of political and social organizations.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Collections Included:
- International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
Subjects: Queer Studies, Sociology/Anthropology
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It ensures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved.
- Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 illuminates the experiences of the LGBTQ community by examining the perspectives of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations. Records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured in this archive as well as publications for and by this community.
Materials include:
- grassroots publications
- newsletters
- publications for and by the LGBTQ community
- extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis
- newspapers from 35+ countries
- materials related to gay rights and health, including reports, policy statements and governmental documents.
Format: Archival materials, digitized newspapers and correspondence
Dates of Coverage: 1940 to present
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure, 1965- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studiess
Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 523 journals in the collection.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1965-
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.
Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.
HeinOnline is a comprehensive law research database that contains more than 2,200 law journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Law
HeinOnline includes more than 2,200 law journals, entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents. To learn more about each collection, visit HeinOnline's Libguides .
Our current subscriptions in this database:
Description of Administrative Conference of the United States (ACUS) Law Journal Library American Enterprise Institute (AEI) Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946 Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law Civil Rights and Social Justice Code of Federal Regulations COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present Criminal Justice & Criminology Executive Privilege Federal Register Library Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions Gun Regulation and Legislation in America History of International Law History of Supreme Court Nominations John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection Description of Law Academy Project Law Academy Project Law Library of Congress Reports Description of Legal Classics Legal Classics LGBTQ+ Rights Military and Government Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School) NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy Open Society Justice Initiative Pentagon Papers Religion and the Law Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law U.S. Code U.S. Congressional Documents U.S. Congressional Serial Set U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals U.S. Federal Legislative History Library U.S. Presidential Library U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library U.S. Statutes at Large U.S. Supreme Court Library U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library Water Rights & Resources Women and the Law (Peggy) World Constitutions Illustrated
Want to personalize HeinOnline? Read more about MyHein. With MyHein, you can create your own account and bookmark articles, save your searches, and more.
Format: full text Database Distributor: William S. Hein
FEMINAE indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1990- Database Producer: Society for Medieval Feminist Scholarship. Haverford College.
Documents the joint and individual work of life-partners Lyon and Martin, from the Homophile movement of the 1950s to the 1980s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies
Documents the joint and individual work lives of life-partners Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, from the Homophile movement of the 1950s to the 1980s. The collection is strongest in materials connected to Lyon and Martin's involvement with several major organizations, particularly material from the 1960s and 1970s. The collection contains significant documentation relating to the administration and activities of the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB). The collection includes: correspondence, manuscript drafts, organizational papers including minutes, constitutions, flyers; and financial documents
Includes 54,734 images Reproduced from the originals from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society, San Francisco, CA.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Queer Studies, Women's Studies
This collection documents many decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin's work for and leadership of, the LGBT movement and the women's rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally. Included are minutes, correspondence, and notes related to their work with the ACLU, the San Francisco Coalition for Human Rights, the Commission on Crime Control and Violence Protection, the Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, the San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women, and the San Francisco Human Rights Commission.
Lyon and Martin were also central to the struggle that pushed the National Organization for Women to an understanding of the centrality of the freedom to sexual expression.
Includes 54,734 images Reproduced from the originals from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society, San Francisco, CA.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1966-1984 Database Producer: Gale Publishing
Reproductions of the original material regarding AIDS from the History of Medicine Division, National Library of Medicine.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Medicine, Queer Studies
In response to the AIDS crisis contains reproductions of the originals from the History of Medicine Division, National Library of Medicine. Includes briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings document the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome from 1983-1994.
ser. 1. Presidential Commission on the Human Immunodeficiency Virus Epidemic, 1987-1988 -- ser. 2. NCAIDS briefing, hearing and meeting transcripts, 1989-1993 -- ser. 3. Commissioner's correspondence -- ser. 4. Commission reports, 1991-1993 -- ser. 5. Press coverage, 1989-1991 -- ser. 6. External institution and government agency reports, 1983-1992.
Date Range: 1983-1994 Content: 37,091 images Source Library: National Library of Medicine, Gale, a part of Cengage Learning.
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Full text access to alternative press collections of feminist groups, minority press, underground newspapers, etc., focusing on the 1960's - 1980's.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1960-1989
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: JSTOR
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
