A service of the US Government Publishing Office (GPO) that provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government. (Note: GOVINFO is replacing FDsys.)
This site provides access to: 1,000 years of British Government records; guides to locating birth, death and marriage certificates; video guides and online exhibits.
The database covers 1973 through the present and represents the action with dots color coded to political party - Red for Republicans, Blue for Democrats and Yellow for Independents. The dots move through the congress from committee to committee, to the floor, etc. Mousing over any individual dot will bring up information of the bill. This information includes Bill number, Primary sponsor, party of sponsor, number of co-sponsors, and ideology score.
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
- Messages & Papers of the Presidents: 1789-1913
- The Public Papers of the Presidents: 1929-2007 & 2010
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: 1977-2009
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: 2009-2012
Key speeches, proclamations, etc. for George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, Andrew Jackson, Dwight Eisenhower, Bill Clinton, and George W. Bush.
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events
Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.
Format: Digital Media Dates of Coverage: 1968- Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.
The organization produces a variety of potentially useful publications, including The First Amendment Handbook, as well as its quarterly magazine, The News Media and the Law. (Note: While back issues can be browsed on the organization's Web site, the magazine can be searched through the Communication & Mass Media Complete database.)
The Energy resource library aggregates and indexes more than 4,000 publicly available reports, white papers, studies, journal articles, and other materials. Topics include: Biofuels, Climate Change, Coal, Electric Vehicles, Energy Efficiency, Energy Security, Environment, Hydropower, Legislation, Natural
Gas, Nuclear, Oil, Regulation, Solar, Technology, Wind and more.
A self-described "fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world." The center conducts extensive public opinion polling and analysis, and includes specific projects on Religion & Public Life, the Internet, and Hispanic Trends.
Provides a wealth of information on elected officials and candidates for Congress, statewide office, and the state legislature: biographical, voting record on key issues, issue positions (response to candidate questionnaire), interest group ratings, endorsements, and campaign finances.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
