LibGuides: Politics &amp; Public Affairs Guide: BLST 246 / PPA 319

Judicial

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a comprehensive law research database that contains more than 2,200 law journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Law

HeinOnline includes more than 2,200 law journals, entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents. To learn more about each collection, visit HeinOnline's Libguides .

Our current subscriptions in this database:
Description of Administrative Conference of the United States (ACUS)
Law Journal Library
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Executive Privilege
Federal Register Library
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
History of International Law
History of Supreme Court Nominations
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Description of Law Academy Project
Law Academy Project
Law Library of Congress Reports
Description of Legal Classics Legal Classics
LGBTQ+ Rights
Military and Government
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
Water Rights & Resources
Women and the Law (Peggy)
World Constitutions Illustrated

Want to personalize HeinOnline? Read more about MyHein. With MyHein, you can create your own account and bookmark articles, save your searches, and more.

Format: full text
Database Distributor: William S. Hein
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes state and federal court cases/decisions, as well as numerous law review journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers This link opens in a new window
This online collection includes newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, legal case records, and other primary source material relating to the ACLU.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: History, Sociology/Anthropology

The ACLU Papers concern free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics and complements the modules in the Making of Modern Law series.

This collection consists of two major collections, The Roger Baldwin Years and the Years of Expansion, with a myriad of sub-series.

- The Roger Baldwin Years, 1912-1950, contains sub-series with clippings and files on academic freedom; censorship; legislation; federal departments and federal legislation; state activities; conscientious objectors; injunctions; and labor and labor organization correspondence.

- Years of Expansion, 1950-1990, encompasses foundation project files on the Amnesty Project, 1964-1980; the Lawyers Constitutional Defense Committee, 1964-1976; and subject files on freedom of belief, expression, and association; due process of law; equality before the law; international civil liberties; and legal case files, 1933-1990.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1912-1990
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new window
Online archive containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court between 1832 and 1978.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: History

Making of the Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978, contains nearly 11 million pages of primary source material. This resource covers cases brought before the U.S. Supreme court and includes broad coverage of American history and the U.S. judicial system.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1832-1978
Database Distributor: Gale Cengage

The Oyez Project
Audio (and transcript) archive of oral arguments before the Supreme Court, from as far back as 1955.
United States Reports
This is the only currently accepted "official" version of the Supreme Court decisions. According to the Supreme Court "In case of discrepancies between a bound volume and the materials included here (on their web site)--or any other version of the same materials, whether print or electronic, official or unofficial--the printed bound volume controls."
Ferguson grand jury testimony and reports
Supreme Court Collection (Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute)
This site, maintained by Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute, offers Supreme Court decisions from the early court through the present; searchable by topic, author (i.e. justice who wrote the opinion), and party (to the case).

Note: Coverage prior to 1990 may not be complete for all times or topics
SCOTUSblog
Up-to-date coverage of the Supreme Court, from live blogging of oral arguments to announcements of Supreme Court actions. Useful for links to key documents (petitions, briefs, motions, etc.) in cases going back to 2007, and a glossary of legal terms.

Legislative

ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Includes text of bills and laws, legislative histories, congressional hearings, and committee reports.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events

Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.

ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present

Format: Archival Resources
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: ProQuest

Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information.
Consort (advanced search)
To search our library's government information collection, go to 'Location' and select 'DEN Government Docs.'
GovInfo.gov
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. It provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Legislative Insight (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A federal legislative history service containing compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Government, History, Political Science, International Studies

ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws. ProQuest Legislative Insight Major Laws is a subset of ProQuest Legislative Insight with content selected to support entry-level study of U.S. History, Political Science, and Government.

ProQuest legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.

Format: Full text Resources
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: ProQuest

Executive Action

American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
- Messages & Papers of the Presidents: 1789-1913
- The Public Papers of the Presidents: 1929-2007 & 2010
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: 1977-2009
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: 2009-2012
Compilation of Presidential Documents (U.S. Government Publishing Office)
Includes executive orders, speeches, press conferences, signing statements, and press releases; goes back to early 1990's and President Clinton.

Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation This link opens in a new window
This full text collection covers the policy and debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H. W. Bush, both as President and Vice President.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Political Science, U. S. History

Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation contains materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president.

Contents of this collection includes memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, news summaries, draft legislation, statements of administration policy, case histories, legislative histories and news-clippings covering a broad range of civil rights issues.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1989-1991
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Presidential Recordings: Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History

The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition currently consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.

Described as "a rich and engaging resource featuring annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes," this database of audiotapes includes specific coverage of the LBJ Administration, including tapes of discussions on the War on Poverty, 1964 (edited by Guian McKee); Civil Rights, 1964 (edited by Kent Germany); and Vietnam, 1964-65 (edited by Marc Selverstone and David Coleman).

The entire resource is fully searchable, accessible via a timeline view, and each transcript page includes the original audio. Parts of this resource are open access and available to all, while certain collections, particularly the LBJ Tapes are available to the Denison community through our subscription.

Format: Full text
Dates of Coverage: 1962-1973
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: University of Virginia Press.

Historical Information & Sundries

American Decades, 1900-1909 by Manly; Vincent Tompkins (Editor)
ISBN: 0810357224
American Decades is a cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history. The original 10-volume set covers 1900-1999; the additional Volume 11 covers 2000-2009.

African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Online archive focused on African American culture, social conditions, and identity. Containing pamphlets, newspapers, correspondence, oral histories and archival ephemera from Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns in North Carolina.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: African American History, US History

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina, this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community -- revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 19th - 20th Century, varies by collection
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
Selected primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
Off Campus Access: Open access. No authentication is needed.
Subject Areas: Black Studies

The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street’s Black Thought and Culture.

Format: full text
Dates of Coverage: 1790 - 2000s
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Distributor: Proquest
FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC This link opens in a new window
Contains FBI files documenting the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which Black Americans of all political persuasions were subjected.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1930-1944
Database Producer: Gale
Federal surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 This link opens in a new window
Contains US Justice Department and FBI reports on members of various protest groups who were deemed politically suspect.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science

Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Prominent among the targets of this sometimes coordinated, sometimes independent surveillance were aliens, members of various protest groups, Socialists, Communists, pacifists, militant labor unionists, ethnic or racial nationalists, and outspoken opponents of the policies of the incumbent presidents.

Black Americans of all political persuasions were subject to federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution. The FBI enlisted black "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of organizations. Hundreds of documents in this collection were originated by such operatives. The reports in this collection provide a wealth of detail on "Negro" radicals and their organizations that can be found nowhere else.

Includes 88,021 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.

Format: Full Text
Date range: 1920-1984
Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Titles of particular interest include the Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, Landmark Supreme Court Cases, and the Encyclopedia of Race and Racism.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
HistoryMakers This link opens in a new window
Largest African American oral video history archive in the world.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Black Studies

HistoryMakers is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world. HistoryMakers provides access to over 119,684 stories from oral history interviews with 2,694 historically significant African Americans.

Format: video
Dates of Coverage: current
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Distributor: HistoryMakers
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source materials, such as the papers of the NAACP, Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Bayard Rustin, and A. Philip Randolph.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Women's Studies, Black Studies

ProQuest History Vault is an archival resource in progress. When complete, this database will contain 25+ modules of archival content covering many areas, including African-American studies, womens studies, history, political science, and more. This resource includes letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.

Denison currently has access to the following modules:
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Organizational Records, & Personal Papers
- NAACP: Major Campaigns, Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, & National Staff Files
- Slavery and the Law (1775-1867)
- Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy (1960-1975)
- World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees (1920-1983)
Format: Full Text
Database Producer: ProQuest
IPoll databank @ the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion, 1935 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Political Science, Sociology & Anthropology

Search and retrieve US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
In order to create a personal login with this database, please follow the instructions found here.

Format: Statistical Resources, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

News Sources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text access to hundreds of U.S. newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media

Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's Studies, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.

New York Times' 'U.S. Supreme Court' page

Baltimore Afro-American (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides online coverage from 1893 to 1988.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Black Studies

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1893 to 1988
Database Producer: ProQuest
Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 This link opens in a new window
Covers 1905-1975 of this leading African-American newspaper.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Black Studies, Mass Media, Communication

The Chicago Defender ( 1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this leading African-American newspaper.

The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Issues of the Chicago Defender from 1999 to the present can also be found at the Ethnic NewsWatch database.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage:1909-1975
Update Schedule: Complete Archive
Database Producer: ProQuest
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Covers 1934-1991 of this African-American newspaper.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Black Studies, Communication, History, Political Science

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

It includes the following three title variants of the newspaper:
- 1934 to 1962: "Cleveland Call and Post"
- 1962 to 1982: "Call and Post"
- 1982 to 1991: "Call & Post"

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1934-1991
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: ProQuest
Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Covers 1911-2002 of this African-American newspaper.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Black Studies, Communication, Mass Media

ProQuest's Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) offers full page and article images with searchable full text for this African-American newspaper. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1911-2002
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Chronicles over a century (1827-1998) of the African American experience through 270+ U.S. newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History, Black studies

This invaluable collection provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. African American Newspapers, Series 1 (1827-1998) and Series 2 (1835-1956), feature titles from more than 35 statesincluding many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Published by or for African Americans, these newspapers cover life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment and much more.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"