Latin American and Caribbean Studies Guide

WorldCat.org is the web interface for the world's largest network of library content and services. Over 10,000 libraries have provided access to their records and catalogs through this resource.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Humanities

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of over 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities.

Fields currently covered include the following: African History, American History, Animal Studies, Archaeology, Art and Architectural History, Asian History, Australasian/Oceanian History, Biblical Studies, Bibliographic Studies, Byzantine History, Canadian History, Caribbean History, Central European History, Comparative/World, Eastern European/Russian History, Economic History, Environmental Studies, European History, Film and Media Studies, Folklore, Hip Hop Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American History, Law, LGBT/Queer Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Literary Criticism, Medicine, Methods/Theory, Middle Eastern History, Musicology, Native Peoples of the Americas, Performance Studies (theater, music, dance), Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science/Technology, Sociology and Women’s Studies.
New in 2018, this collection makes out-of-print titles available as part of NEH & Mellon funded "Humanities Open Book Program," providing scholars with rarely used out of print books.

Format: Full Text
Database Producer: American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS)

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations and full text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.

Format: Index and full text to Dissertations
Dates of Coverage: 1861-
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: ProQuest.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Ebrary, now known as Ebook Central, is a collection of e-books on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles with new titles added on an annual basis.

Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest.

To learn more about this database, view the ProQuest training videos and the Ebook Central LibGuide as well.

Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Proquest

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Offering 165,000+ e-books, this collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others.

Please note, this database searches a collection of 165,442 ebooks allowing unlimited, simultaneous use as well as a collection of 15,460 ebooks that allow single user access (only). Check the "Concurrent User Level" field in the database record to verify access.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: EBSCO

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

EBSCO eBook Collection is an ebook library covering many academic subjects.

This collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain ebooks. Users can preview an ebook online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable.

The EBSCO eBook Collection provides online access to one user at a time. Please use another eBook Collection, such as the EBSCO eBook Academic Collection, when assigning materials for class use.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: EBSCO

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Humanities, Social Sciences

e-Duke Books provides access to over 2,800 e-books in humanities and social sciences.

Format: eBooks
Dates of Coverage: 1964 to present
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: Duke University Press

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All

De Gruyter Online has access to:

- Berghahn Books (up to current)
- Columbia University Press (up to current)
- Cornell University Press (2018 only)
- Fordham/New York University (NYU) combined [NEW 2025] (up to current)
- Harvard University Press (up to current)
- Lynne Rienner Press (up to current)
- Princeton University Press (up to 2023)
- Rutgers University Press  (up to 2022)
- Stanford University Press (up to current)
- State University of New York (SUNY) [NEW 2025] (up to current)
- University of California (up to current)
- University of Chicago (up to current)
- University of Hawaii Press (up to current)
- University of Pennsylvania Press (up to current)
- University of Texas Press (up to current)
- Yale University Press (up to current)

Additionally, they provide open access eBooks from various academic publishers.

Format: Full text ebooks
Dates of Coverage: 1650-current
Update Schedule: irregular
Database Producer: De Gruyter

Off Campus Access: Open Access, available for everyone for free.

Subjects: Humanities, Social Science

Knowledge Unlatched contains collections of open access, scholarly ebooks, ejournals and videos that are freely available to anyone. These collections focus on Humanities and Social Sciences titles.

The Knowledge Unlatched model depends on many libraries from around the world sharing the payment of a single Title Fee to a publisher, in return for a book being made available on a Creative Commons license via OAPEN, HathiTrust, and a KU Cloud Library built on BiblioBoard as a fully downloadable PDF.

Format: Full Text, videos
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: Knowledge Unlatched / LYRASIS

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your name and barcode (the back of your ID)

Subject Areas: Humanities, Science, Social Science

The Electronic Book Center contains thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The Electronic Center contains electronic books purchased by Ohio academic libraries from these publishers: ABC-CLIO, Gale, Oxford University Press, Sage, Springer, Wiley, Chadwyck-Healey, Oxford Scholarship Online, . Please note, some new ebooks are only added to the new platform.

Format: full text books
Database producer: varies

Off Campus Access: Use your Denison ID.

Subject Areas: Humanities, Social Sciences, Economics, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion.

Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press and partner presses.

Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.

These books are also available through the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.

Partner presses with selected content available on the Oxford Scholarship Online platform include: University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, MIT Press, NYU Press, Princeton University Press, and Yale University Press, up till 2023.

Format: Full Text Books
Coverage: 1990 - Present
Database Producer: Oxford University Press.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.

Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login. 

To access content available to Denison patrons: click the Login button in top right side of screen, select Denison for the pull-down, and login with your MyDenison credentials. For more about how you can take advantage of this database, please read this page.

Subjects: General

The HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository.

This database provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Constantly updated
Database Distributor: HathiTrust.org