Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:
Illustrated with maps and photographs, The Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics covers the current and past political development of Puerto Rico and the 20 independent republics of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Although coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century. Each chapter includes a Country Chart listing relevant economic, political, and social data; a Country Entry section containing 20 to 40 brief entries on important terms, events, and individuals; a list of presidents; and a bibliography.
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose between 2,000-3,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
An essential reference for comprehensive and detailed coverage of Latin American history, this book is divided into three parts: Part I, a descriptive chronology of key event from pre-Columbian times to the present; Part II, a thematic survey of topics, tracing population expansion, legal/political development, economic change, social evolution, science and technology, and cultural development across time; Part III, a biographical section containing over 300 biographies of individuals introduced in earlier sections of the book. Meticulously indexed and cross-referenced, this accessible resource also includes more than thirty historical maps.
Presenting the most up-to-date coverage on our knowledge of this society, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica.Written for a wide audience, it is an invaluable reference for interested lay persons, students, teachers, and scholars in such fields as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region. Organized alphabetically, the articles range from500-word biographies to 7,000-word entries on geography and history to the legacy of the arts, writings, architecture, and religious rituals.An extensive network of cross-references, blind entries, and annotated bibliographies guide the reader to related entries within the Encyclopedia and provide the groundwork for further research.
This is the first major biographical dictionary devoted exclusively to celebrating Caribbeans and Caribbean Americans who have made significant contributions to their society and beyond. More than 160 profiles feature historical and contemporary figures from every Caribbean island, the United States, and even England and Canada, and from a diverse range of fields such as acting, sports, political activism, and more. Selection criteria included the notable demonstration of a Caribbean ethos or style, combined with a lasting and novel impact. Individual narrative entries discuss family background, education, challenges, and achievements. The breadth of coverage in Notable Caribbeans and Caribbean Americans will enlighten and inspire students and general readers alike.
U.S. culture has been profoundly impacted by contributions from Mexico and the rest of Central America, South America, and the Spanish Caribbean. These contributions and their adaptations in the United States are showcased in nearly 500 essay entries on noted people, festivities, items, terms, movements, sports, food, events, places, visual and performing arts, film, institutions, fashion, literature, organizations, the media, and much more. The wide range of entries with many areas of unique coverage will meet the high demand for multidisciplinary use. Students and other readers will appreciate the inclusiveness of cultural groups, the gender sensitivity, and the heavy contextual grounding of the topics. The Latino population is the fastest-growing segment of our society, and this encyclopedia is the first to focus on the breadth of their cultural expression.
In three volumes of expert, innovative scholarship, Literary Cultures of Latin America offers a multidisciplinary reference on one of the most distinctive literary cultures in the world. In topically arranged articles written by a team of international scholars, Literary Cultures of LatinAmerica explores the shifting problems that have arisen across national borders, geographic regions, time periods, linguistic systems, and cultural traditions in literary history.Bucking the tradition of focusing almost exclusively on the great canons of literature, this unique reference work casts its net wider, exploring pop culture, sermons, scientific essays, and more. While collaborators are careful to note that these volumes offer only a snapshot of the diverse bodyof Latin American literature, Literary Cultures of Latin America highlights unique cultural perspectives that have never before received academic attention.
This is a comprehensive reference book to more than 12,700 painters, sculptors, graphic artists and architects in Latin America (Mexico, Central America, South America) and the Caribbean region active during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Entries include the artists' years, countries and bibliographies. Also included are brief biographical information, stylistic notes, a record of each artist's exhibitions and a list of collections where his or her works can be seen. There are 89 photographs of selected works that supplement the entries. The introduction includes brief informative background essays on the individual countries and their artists.
Search for Latin America Related Reference Works at Denison
Literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, People
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online includes all volumes of Gale's reference set, Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. It features comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series concentrates on major literary figures with in-depth essays and related images such as manuscript pages and revised galley proofs, title pages, dust jackets and pictures from the authors' lives. The Documentary series allows for further study of major literary figures through critical and biographical source materials.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series is annual compendium which includes original material covering a given year's literary highlights, including obituaries and tributes. The Yearbook provides signed essays summarizing the year in poetry, fiction, biography, drama and children's books we well as scholarly articles, interviews, biographies and critical studies covering events, organizations, works, writers and the business of literature.
Cross-searchable with the Literature Criticism database. Also features a link to the Literary Index.
Format: Full Text Journal, Reference Works Database Producer: Gale Cengage
Compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Formerly known as Literary Criticism Online, or LCO.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English
Literature Criticism Online is a compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Cross-searchable with the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Also features a link to the Literary Index.
Format: Full Text Journals Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English
Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC Plus combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes:
* plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
* articles of literary criticism
* full text of literary journals
* author biographies
* book reviews
* author interviews
* and images of key literary figures
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics by 
Latin America profiled : essential facts on society, business, and politics in Latin America
A Reference Guide to Latin American History by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by 
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by 
Notable Caribbeans and Caribbean Americans by 
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture [2 Volumes] by 
Literary Cultures of Latin America by 
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era by 
Latin American Writers on Gay and Lesbian Themes by 
Latino and Latina Writers
