A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Spanish, U.S. History
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture.
"Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," from which the collection draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.
The collection accurately conveys the creative life of U.S. Hispanics, and sheds new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times.
Format: Full Text and Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: Colonial through 1960 Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish, History, Political Science, International Studies
Chicano Database is a comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference.
This resource indexes journal articles about Chicanos and also covers (1992 to the present) the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Chicano Database incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
Subject keywords: Art. Bilingual Education. Economics. Film. Folklore. Health. History. Labor. Language. Law. Literature. Mental Health. Music. Politics. Psychology. Public Policy. Religion. Sociology. Women's Studies.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1967 to present
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Producer: Ethnic Studies Library, University of California, Berkeley; distributed by EBSCO
An index of Latin America and the Caribbean publications.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Spanish, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, International Studies, Biology
Clase and Periodica is an index of articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, they offer access to citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1975-Present (Clase); 1978-Present (Peri_dica)
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Producer: Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM); distributed by OCLC Online Computer Library Center.
Journal articles in Spanish covering business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Spanish, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Fuente Academica provides scholarly journal articles in Spanish covering many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database covers scholarly Spanish language journals from respected publishers worldwide.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Update Schedule: Weekly Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Scholarly evaluations of books, articles, and conference proceedings in the field of Latin American studies.
Off Campus Access: This web site is freely available to anyone.
Subject Areas: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish, International Studies
Handbook of Latin American Studies provides scholarly evaluations of books, chapters, articles, and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. More than 1,350 social science journals and 550 humanities journals are indexed, as well as relevant books and conference proceedings. HLA covers social sciences and humanities in alternate years.
Subject keywords: Anthropology, including archaeology and genealogy. Art. Economics. Electronic resources. Geography. Government and politics. International relations. Literature. Music. Philosophy. Sociology.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Update Schedule: Biannual.
Database Producer: Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress; distributed by the Research Libraries Group.
Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border, and U.S. Hispanics (1970 - present).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. This database contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1970 to present
Update Schedule: Monthly.
Database Producer: UCLA Latin American Center
Indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, History, U.S. History, General
Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.
Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
- Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems.
- Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
- Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-Present
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Modern Language Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections; includes Caribbean newspaper digital collection.
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. Since 2011, LANIC has also been a part of the University of Texas Libraries as one of the initiatives that is under the LLILAS Benson Collaboration. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
