Academic Video Online delivers more than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
Academic Video Online delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Format: Streaming Media Database Distributor: Proquest/Alexander Street
American Archive of Public Broadcasting preserves and makes accessible significant historical content created by public media.
Off Campus Access: Open Access. Freely available to anyone.
AAPB is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH, and it preserves and makes accessible significant historical content created by public media.
Format: video, audio Database Distributor: American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Largest African American oral video history archive in the world.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies
HistoryMakers is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world. HistoryMakers provides access to over 119,684 stories from oral history interviews with 2,694 historically significant African Americans.
Format: video Dates of Coverage: current Update Schedule: unknown Database Distributor: HistoryMakers
Kanopy is an online, streaming video service, which provides access to over 26,000 films each year. Kanopy includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
Kanopy is a streaming video service that works like Netflix for educational institutions. Every year, Kanopy offers access to over 26,000 films and documentaries for educational and classroom use. Films may be browsed by subject or searched by title.
Format: Streaming Media Update Schedule: Annually Database Distributor: Kanopy
Streaming videos from the video documentaries and series from PBS.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
This collection of more than 1,600 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection provides access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
Format: video
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events
Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.
Format: Digital Media Dates of Coverage: 1968- Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.
Streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries of the 20th century. Denison University has a subscription to Volume 1.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Area: Dance
Dance in Video is a searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips
Format: Digital Media Dates of Coverage: 20th Century Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
A digital streaming video collection of unique films including current, leading British theatre productions and behind-the-scenes documentaries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Theatre, Dance, Drama, Performing Arts.
Digital Theatre Plus is a streaming video platform of current British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes commentaries. This platform is one way to immerse researchers in performance while also helping to ready performing arts students for employment.
This database is comprised of 4 main parts:
(1) Plays & Productions: with 361 "filmed and audio" productions. These recordings include performances from Shakespeare's Globe theatre, the Broadway Digital Archive, the Royal Opera House, and the BBC.
(2) Practice & Practitioners: 397 interviews and documentaries with cast members, directors, and backstage crews are found in Digital Theatre Plus.
(3) Theory & Criticism: Digital Theatre Plus includes 284 written resources (6,975 pages) written by both academics and practitioners. These materials explore theatre history, theory, and technique.
(4) Teaching with DT: These resources have been commissioned, created and curated by Creative Content Producer Fiona Lindsay and Editorial Director (Higher Education) Talia Rodgers to support the teaching of English, Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies, and Performing Arts subjects from secondary to higher education. We provide resources which bridge the gap between school and university. Many of the resources below can be used across all levels from the UK to the US and beyond.
Format: Streaming Media, Full Text Dates of Coverage: Varies by production, from the 1960's through present Update Schedule: Quarterly Database Distributor: Digital Theatre Plus
Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
National Theatre Collection Volumes I & II brings the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Subject Areas: Theatre
Format: Full Text, Audio/Video Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Contemporary performance films, recorded and edited collaboratively with artists.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Theater, Cinema, Dance
OnTheBoards.tv is a database of contemporary performance films that are curated and edited collaboratively, with the artists involved. Founded by artists in 1978, this group works to encourage and educate audiences and artistic innovators.
Format: Streaming Media, Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1978 to Present Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: OnTheBoards.tv
Performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Theatre
Theatre in Video contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions Format: Digital Media Update Schedule: Updated periodically by a new release Dates of Coverage: 20th Century Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Documenting over 300 productions from 1997-2016, this digital collection provides resources for the study of Shakespeare, theatre, cultural history and early-modern literature.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: English, Theater
This collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre.
Format: Full Text, image, videos Dates of Coverage: 1997-2006 Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition currently consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Described as "a rich and engaging resource featuring annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes," this database of audiotapes includes specific coverage of the LBJ Administration, including tapes of discussions on the War on Poverty, 1964 (edited by Guian McKee); Civil Rights, 1964 (edited by Kent Germany); and Vietnam, 1964-65 (edited by Marc Selverstone and David Coleman).
The entire resource is fully searchable, accessible via a timeline view, and each transcript page includes the original audio. Parts of this resource are open access and available to all, while certain collections, particularly the LBJ Tapes are available to the Denison community through our subscription.
Format: Full text Dates of Coverage: 1962-1973 Update Schedule: Regularly Database Producer: University of Virginia Press.
Performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Theatre
Theatre in Video contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions Format: Digital Media Update Schedule: Updated periodically by a new release Dates of Coverage: 20th Century Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Library provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas:Counselling, psychology
Perhaps the greatest source of anxiety for students in the mental health field is the prospect of working with clients in face-to-face counseling encounters. Counseling and Therapy in Video: Library provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
This database mainly contains videos from Symptom Media Collection and some videos from Academic Video Online (AVON).
Format: video Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Ideal for counseling, psychology, social work, nursing and other behavioral healthcare courses, this database helps students better recognize mental health disorders
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas:Counselling, psychology
Ideal for counseling, psychology, social work, medical, nursing, psychiatry, and other behavioral health care courses, Volume V helps students better recognize mental health disorders and provide accurate diagnoses via 400+ streaming mental health videos aligned to DSM-5®/ICD-10 content.
Symptom Media's DSM-5®/ICD-10 guided films showcase mental health symptoms unfolding. Films are used and integrated in undergraduate, graduate and professional nursing, social work, psychology, counseling programs to introduce and improve understanding, recognition, and diagnosing of psychiatric disorders as well as improve student clinical competency.
Format: video Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Largest African American oral video history archive in the world.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies
HistoryMakers is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world. HistoryMakers provides access to over 119,684 stories from oral history interviews with 2,694 historically significant African Americans.
Format: video Dates of Coverage: current Update Schedule: unknown Database Distributor: HistoryMakers
Online collection of films from the communist world revealing war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Cinema, Political Science
Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique collection of documentary films, features and newsreels reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe and more.
Providing a counterpoint to Western perceptions of communist states and their actions, the films illuminate how socialist countries saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events of the twentieth century. The footage was originally sourced from communist states, then versioned into English language for private distribution in Britain and the West.
This is the largest film collection of its kind to survive in Western Europe. The films have been conserved, digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm reels, and are fully transcribed and searchable.
This resource is made up of three modules:
Module I: Wars & Revolutions
Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines
Module III: Culture & Society
Format: Full Text, Streaming Media
Dates of Coverage: Early 20th century to the 1980s
Update Schedule:
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events
Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.
Format: Digital Media Dates of Coverage: 1968- Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
