It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliography of the history and culture of America from prehistory to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
America: History & Life (AHL) is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Subject keywords: History. Interdisciplinary Studies. Popular Culture. Multicultural Studies. American Studies. Women's Studies/Gender Studies. Anthropology. Literature/Folklore. Sociology. Genealogy. History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1964 - Present
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Producer: EBSCO
Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, History, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Queer Studies, Women's Studies
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America, which is covered in America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts indexes key historical journals from virtually every major country, plus a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Subject keywords: History. Multicultural Studies. Sociology. Psychology. Women's Studies/Gender Studies. Religion. Anthropology. Political Science. History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: Articles published 1955- Update Schedule: Three times per year. Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Contains archival materials in many areas including African-American studies, womens studies, history, political science, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Women's Studies, Black Studies
ProQuest History Vault is an archival resource in progress. When complete, this database will contain 25+ modules of archival content covering many areas, including African-American studies, womens studies, history, political science, and more. This resource includes letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.
Denison currently has access to the following modules: - Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Organizational Records, & Personal Papers - NAACP: Major Campaigns, Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, & National Staff Files - Slavery and the Law (1775-1867) - Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy (1960-1975) - World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees (1920-1983) Format: Full Text Database Producer: ProQuest
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.
Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.
Open access database of 300+ peer-reviewed journals, covering science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Off Campus Access: This resource is open access and does not require authentication.
Subject Areas: Biology, Chemistry
BioMed Central, also known as BMC, provides open access to biomedical research publications.
These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Varies by journal
Update Schedule: Continual
Database Distributor: Springer
MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1950 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: National Library of Medicine
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Keywords: behavior, psychology
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Education, Medicine
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2000 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1887 to present.
Format: Index to Journal Articles, Book Chapters, Books, and Dissertations
Dates of Coverage: 1887 to present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: American Psychological Association / EBSCOHost
Journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Medicine, Physical Education
CINAHL Plus with full text provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included. CINAHL provides access to over 700 full text journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1937 - Present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Cinahl Information Systems / Distributed by EBSCO
Comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Health
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The Health Poll database is the most comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and healthcare utilization.
Format: full text
Dates of Coverage: unknown
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Cornell University
Access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines with a nursing and allied health focus. Keywords: medicine
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Medicine
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Health Source provides access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 600 peer-reviewed journals.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Update Schedule: Weekly. Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations and full text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.
Format: Index and full text to Dissertations Dates of Coverage: 1861- Update Schedule: Daily. Database Producer: ProQuest.
Index that cites articles from English-language periodicals including scholarly journals and specialized magazines, 1907-1984.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Humanities, Social Sciences
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilsons International Index is also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1907 - 1984 Database Producer: EBSCO / H.W. Wilson.
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, Fine Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas, direct from their computer.
Format: Full Text Journals Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.
Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.
Multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences. Open padlock icon indicates full text access.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Science, General
This multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources published by John Wiley covers life, health and physical sciences. This collection indicates full text access by an open padlock icon.
Wiley Online Library includes scientific, technical, medical and professional journals as well as books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. In addition, all Blackwell Synergy electronic journals and backfiles have been merged into the Wiley InterScience collection.
Format: Ebooks and E-journals Database Producer: Wiley
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. You can search Core Collection, BIOSIS CItation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCR-Korean Journal Database, Medline, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO CItation Index, Zoological Record here.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Clarivate
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
