Full text access to over 1,000 newspapers published between 1690 and 1998.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
This online archive includes:
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-12
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Format: Full Text, Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1690-1998
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Images from more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, General
American Periodicals, 1740-1940, contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text.
Denison patrons have access to the following collections within this resource:
- American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
- American Periodicals Series
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1740-1940
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Producer: Proquest
The Atlanta Constitution gives a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history -- post-Civil War reconstruction.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies, Mass Media, Communication
The Atlanta Constitution gives todays researchers a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction.
This is an ideal primary resource for studying the feelings and reactions of Southerners on the passage of the 14th Amendment, the purging of Rebels from the legislature, the givingthen denyingof the right to vote to former slaves, and the passing of economic policies that changed the South and the United States forever.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1868-1984
Database Producer: ProQuest
This historical newspaper provides online coverage from 1893 to 1988.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Black Studies
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1893 to 1988
Database Producer: ProQuest
Online archive of 140 newspapers from 22 islands in the Caribbean, covering the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 is an online archive that covers colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, and New World slavery.
This collection is a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society in this area.
Format: Full Text Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1718-1876
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Search newspapers from 1880-1910 & find information about American newspapers published 1690-present.
Off Campus Access: This resource is open access, freely available to anyone, and does not require authentication.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Mass Media, Communication
Chronicling America allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
It includes papers from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia include Paris, Kentuckys The Bourbon news, Washington, D.C.s The Colored American, and DeLands own Florida Agriculturist.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Producer: The Library of Congress
Collection of issues and papers ranging from 1861-1865, attempting to record the "real and true history of public opinion during the war."
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865.
These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1861-1865 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1831-1999
Database Producer: ProQuest
Collection of letters from and photos of E.W. Scripps, a journalist associated with the founding of the Scripps Howard chain of newspapers and the United Press International.
Off Campus Access: This database is freely available to anyone.
Subject: U.S. History
E. W. Scripps Papers, 1868-1926 is a growing collection of letters and photos from the Scripps Manuscript Collection at Ohio University. Edward Willis Scripps (1854-1926) was a businessman and journalist associated with the founding of the Scripps Howard chain of newspapers and the United Press International independent news gathering company.
Format: Archival Resources
Database Producer: Ohio University Library Archives and Special Collections.
Part of America's Historical Newspapers, this collection covers American newspapers from 1690-1922.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History
Early American Newspapers covers American newspapers through 13 distinct collections, listed below.
Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation: An Essential Record of 18th and Early 19th Century America. This collection includes 730 titles listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, the History and Bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820 and in additional subsequent bibliographies.
Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic: Early-to-Mid 19th Century newspapers. This collection includes 290 titles focusing on the period between 1820 and 1860.
Series 3, 1829-1922: From Farm to City: Mid-to-Late 19th Century Newspapers. This collection of 160 titles focuses on the period between 1861 and 1900, including the Civil War, Reconstruction, the Gilded Age, and the Progressive Era.
Series 4, 1757-1922: The Rise of Industry: Popular Press Coverage of the Nation's Economic Boom. This collection of 150 titles includes The Liberator, the New Orleans Daily Creole which was the first African-American newspapers in America, the Springfield Republican, the Gaceta de Texas which was the first newspaper in Texas, the New York Herald, and the Charleston Courier.
Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging Wold Power: Late 19th and Early 20th Century Newspapers. This collection of 150 titles includes the North Star, the famous anti-slavery newspaper founded by Frederick Douglass, the Steamer Pacific News which was a nationally popular publication covering the Gold Rush, Hokubei Jiji (The North American) which was the first Japanese-language newspaper in the Pacific Northwest, and the Nevada Territorial Enterprise where Mark Twain worked.
Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion: National Debates of the Mid-19th Century. This collection of 180 titles includes the Detroit Plain Dealer, which was Detroit's first successful black newspaper, The Colored American, which provided detailed coverage of the Amistad revolt, Argus of Western America, which was an early Kentucky paper and a strong supporter of Andrew Jackson, and the Arkansas Gazette which was one of the first newspapers published west of the Mississippi.
Series 7: 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment: The Rise of the 19th Century Independent Press. This collection of 170 titles includes the New Orleans Times-Picayune, which was established in 1837, and The Oregonian, which was founded in 1850. Also included here are the Courier de la Louisiane, a bilingual Creole title, Frederick Douglass Paper, the successor to the influential North Star, which was the title that marked the beginning of a separate black press, the California Farmer and Journal of Useful Sciences, a pioneer of early natural history writing, the Charleston Mercury, a strong supporter of slavery, the Savannah Republican, one of the few Southern newspapers that published throughout the Civil War, and the Southern Illustrated News.
Series 8, 1844-1922: A Nation in Transition: The Rise of the Metropolitan Daily. This collection includes the Baton Rouge Advocate, the Charleston's News and Courier, Washington, D.C.'s Daily Union, an unparalleled example of political influence in the press, and Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, the most popular illustrated publication of its era.
Series 9, 1832-1922: Protest and Prosperity: Newspapers in the Age of the City. This collection includes significant 19th century newspapers which chronicle the Jacksonian Era, the war with Mexico and Western expansion, the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Series 10, 1730-1900: Regional Pioneers: Founding Newspapers from Every American Region. This collection of 440 titles provides insight into the Colonial and Revolutionary War eras and offers new material on Westward expansion and the Early National era.
Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power: Newspapers Struggle for Regional Dominance. This collection of 130 titles extends the political and geographical breadth and depth of the ten previous series. Series 11 includes more successful newspapers that survived after less-popular titles died out. Also included are elusive runs of especially noteworthy newspapers.
Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press: Political, Business and Religious Newspapers of the 19th Century. This collection includes over 1,200 titles spanning 49 states and the District of Columbia. This series provides access to agricultural, campaign, denominational and mercantile newspapers as well as hundreds of short-lived newspapers.
Series 13, 1803-1916: The American West. This collection of 2,500 titles represents the largest online collection of 19th Century newspapers from the American West. Published in the 24 states west of the Mississippi, this series also includes a number of newspaper titles published east of the Mississippi for political and economic context.
Series 14, 1807-1880: The Expansion of Urban America, Daily life in the metropolis. This collection includes notable 19th-century newspapers from urban centers, and includes long runs of 48 major titles. These titles have been selected to reflect new forms of journalism that emerged during this time period.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1690-1922 Update Schedule: Irregular Database Distributor: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Portal to newspapers and periodicals circa 1685-1835. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, English
Eighteenth Century Journals is a portal to newspapers and periodicals, c1685-1835, offering integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III), Chetham's Library at Manchester and the Brotherton Library at the University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV), and the Birmingham Central Library, British Library and Liverpool John Moores University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals V). It brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe, the origins and rise of Romanticism, political debates, gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Denison owns: Section I-V.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1685-1835
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Features more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971, features more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states including many rare 19th-century titles.
This online collection provides coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
Format: Full Text Newspapers Dates of Coverage: 1799-1971 Database Producer: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Online archive of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Economics, History, Mass Media
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. It includes Special Supplements and the FT Magazine.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1888 to 2021
Database Producer: Gale
Online archive covering hundreds of newspapers published in the U.S. by Hispanics.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many titles published in the 19th century.
Format: Full Text Newspapers Dates of Coverage: 1808-1980 Database Producer: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines contains full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865. Many of the publications are rare and hard to find, and include source materials from museum, library, and private collections, including the American Antiquarian Society. The database can be searched by date or topic, or one can browse each individual publication. The database also contains a sample selection of Union and Confederate letters from the larger database, American Civil War: Letters & Diaries. Document types include advertisement, article series, biographical sketch/obituary, cartoon, editorial, fiction, government announcement, humor / satirical commentary, illustration, map, news story/item, panoramic view, poetry, portrait, publisher's notice, and travel narrative
Format: Full Text Journal Articles, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1860-1865
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Full text of some of the most significant and least-widely held womens periodicals produced from the late Eighteenth century through the early 1930s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, Social History, Women's Studies
Historical womens periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for womens rightswoman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for examplegrew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for womens periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1786-1933 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale
This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the Japanese-American internment camps during WWII.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies, U.S. History
One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.
Although histories exist about this chapter in American history, this digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text.
A collection of publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1845 - 2015
Database Distributor: Proquest
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Sociology
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Sourced from the collection of Tennessee State Library and Archives. Reproduced with permission.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1812-2002
Database Producer: ProQuest
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, 1800-1900.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Advanced searching capabilities will enable researchers to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1900
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Presents issues from a Northwestern perspective, including westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Mass Media, Communication
Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, the San Francisco Chronicle lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, Americas entry into World War I, and many other events that shaped both the City by the Bay and the United States.
During its first five decades, the San Francisco Chronicle presented issues from a young, Northwestern perspective, giving researchers a window through which to study westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
Mark Twain, Bret Harte, Jack London, and Rex Beach are among the writers who contributed to the San Francisco Chronicles pagessome without benefit of a bylineduring the early years. To trace San Franciscos history from a muddy frontier town full of pistol-packing pioneers and corrupt politicians, through its entry into the Roaring 20s, start here.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1865-1922
Database Producer: ProQuest
This collection consists of newspapers published during the war and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Journalism, History
The collection consists of newspapers published during the war and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all the key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Polish, Hebrew, Afrikaans, Swahili, and African dialects.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1939-1948 Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Online archive of American newspapers, published throughout the 20th century.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
This collection of American newspapers includes titles from all 50 states and chronicles American culture in the 1900's. Denison patrons may access Series 1 and Series 3 within this collection, as well as search across collections within America's Historical newspapers.
Format: Full Text Newspapers Dates of Coverage: Dates vary by newspaper Database Producer: Readex
This archival collection covers newspapers published by the KKK during its peak in the 1920's.
Subjects: History, Black Studies, Political Science
In the 1920's, the KKK re-emerged with a great deal of successful marketing strategies, employing a national newspaper, the Imperial Night-Hawk, as well as local newspapers throughout the U.S.
This online, archival collection contains over 546 issues and almost 5,000 pages from these newspapers and offers a glimpse into the workings of this organization.
The Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s collection brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during its period of greatest popularity.
This collection also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1920s Update Schedule: Continuously Updated Database Distributor: Reveal Digital
Archival access to this historic newspaper, with full coverage from 1889-12 years ago
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1889-12 years ago (moving wall)
Database Producer: ProQuest
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
