Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives & Special Collections

Website for the Denison University Archives & Special Collections

Spring 2021 - Modified Access

Denison University COVID Visitor Information

  • All community and non-campus guests must be fully vaccinated and boosted.
  • Effective March 7, 2022, masks are no longer required.
  • Visitors are welcome to come to the research room between 9-4, Monday - Friday, but appointments are encouraged to ensure that somebody is here to assist you.
  • Masks, hand sanitizer, and gloves are available for visitors, if they wish to use them. 
  • These requirements may change as Denison continues to monitor the overall COVID rates on campus, through Ohio, and nationally.

To schedule an appointment or to request virtual access to materials for off-campus research, please email archives staff at archives@denison.edu.

Welcome to Denison University Archives & Special Collections

outside classroom historic image
medieval manuscript
BSU reunion historic image
granville female college student historic image
medieval book
denisonian newspaper historic image

What is the Archives & Special Collections?

Denison University Archives & Special Collections is a resource center where you can find historic and rare items that you likely won't find anywhere else.  We assist all kinds of people who are looking to use our collections, such as: 

  • Students who are seeking unique primary sources to enhance their research papers
  • Alums wanting to relive their college memories (and resolve a bet on what *really* happened their sophomore year...)
  • External visitors looking to do scholarly research in the history of the institution
  • Genealogists and local historians who are seeking biographical information on an ancestor
  • Faculty who want to use our collections in the classroom and create unique research experiences for their students
  • Denison staff who need to reference old records in order to help the University's current and future operations

The University Archives specializes in documenting the history of Denison's students, alumni, faculty, staff, departments, and administration.  This includes photographs, University publications, letters, meeting records, old policies, student scrapbooks, and more.

The Special Collections focuses on collecting rare, limited edition, and/or out-of-print books, like medieval manuscripts, artists' books, rare Bibles, and historic encyclopedias.

Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer