Skip to main content

University Archives & Special Collections

Website for the Denison University Archives & Special Collections

Records Management

The campus-wide Records Management Policy and Retention Schedule will indicate whether or not your records should be kept permanently by the University Archives.  Additionally, in some cases some records may hold historic value in the accurate retelling of Denison's story.  In either case, if your office or department wants to send material to the University Archives for permanent preservation, here's how to go about it:

  1. Fill out a Records Transfer Form to give the Archives staff an overview of what you're sending.  
  2. Include the completed Records Transfer Form inside of the box(es) and email or enclose any other form within the first box.
  3. Submit a work order to move your box(es) to the Archives Workroom (B05), or email the Archives to make other arrangements for transporting the material.
  4. When the movers arrive to take the box(es), send us an email to give a heads up that your records are on their way.

For some University records, final disposition may require confidential destruction.  If you have materials that need to be shredded, here's what to do:

  1. Fill out the Shredding Transfer Form.
  2. Attach the completed form to each box of shredding you have.
  3. Contact Colleen Goodhart so that she can arrange for the shredding to be picked up.

Access the campus-wide Records Management Policy and Retention Schedule by logging into MyDenison > Campus Resources > Campus Reports and Documents (under Administration) > Records Management.

Loading

Introducing: Archives Express kits!

image of archives express kit

Archives Express kits help you set aside items for the Archives as you're managing or creating them!  

Keep the kit in your office or shared departmental space and as you come across something that should be transferred to the Archives, pop it in the box (or on the included flash drive)!  When it's full, send it our way and we'll send you a new, empty kit.

Each kit includes:

  • 1 Archives-approved, acid-free document box
  • 15 acid-free folders
  • Post-it folder labels
  • USB flash drive
  • Instructions

If you'd like to have an Archives Express kit in your office or department, just send us an email and we'll drop one off!

For more details, see Archives Express Instructions.

Denison University Libraries, 400 West Loop, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer