Skip to main content

University Archives & Special Collections

Website for the Denison University Archives & Special Collections

Summer 2019 Access

This summer, the library will be undergoing significant renovations. Additionally, the Archives staff schedules are variable during the summer due to a number of considerations, such as sabbatical, vacation time, and other scheduled time away from the office. Because of these limitations, we cannot guarantee that we will be open or accessible on a regular basis, such as in summers past. For now, visitors can make individual appointments to access the University Archives & Special Collections by emailing archives@denison.edu. Regular operational hours will return at the beginning of the 2019-2020 academic year.

Visit Us

picture of student researching in archives

Come visit us at the Archives & Special Collections!  We've got a new space that is perfect for researchers to
study Denison's intricate history, for students to admire the Artists' Book Collection, for the community to view some exhibits, for faculty to bring their classes, and for alumni to reminisce about the past.

Location:
Level B, William Howard Doane Library
[more info]

Research Room Do's and Don'ts

The Research Room is where you can come and see the materials first hand. To keep our collections clean and secure, there are some rules for those wanting to visit the Research Room:

  • No food or drink is allowed in the Reading Room area.
  • You must have clean and dry hands- no lotions or fingernail polish. 
  • For some fragile materials, you may be asked to wear gloves.
  • Please only use pencil, never pen or any kind of ink.
  • Do not make any markings on materials.
  • Please only work on one open box at a time and keep all folders and materials in order.

Denison University Libraries, 400 West Loop, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer